D4 Section Ammos pt 1 (2005-2007)

Re: D4 Section Ammos

Old Warrior said:
Typical comment from an Eltham bloke. They are playing "real footy" and they still couldn't make the GF. I will be surprised if they get better in the coming seasons and move up the grades.... a club like Eltham is built on a culture of reserves flags and honest defeats of the seniors in the prelim/elimination finals. Had a good team when Doody, Gas, Horsburgh, etc were playing well and still couldn't get promoted so they're not going to now. Particularly when they have supporters/players??? thinking that they're not playing real footy.

Looks like things haven't changed down at turtle land. Not a bad prediction if I do say so myself considering I wrote it in January.

Ifeellikechickentonight said:
Just wondering if there is anyone out there from Powerhouse who could tell me who they have found hardest in the finals(seniors that is) so far, Eltham or Box Hill Nth? How do you rate these sides now?

Congratulations on your promotion and reaching the grand final!

In the last 2 matches that Power House played against Box Hill and Eltham, (1 final and 1 home and away each), Box Hill were the better team. Their improvement since mid year was huge and I suspect that if they were playing each other this week, Box Hill would probably win

vegemite said:
In the last 2 matches that Power House played against Box Hill and Eltham, (1 final and 1 home and away each), Box Hill were the better team. Their improvement since mid year was huge and I suspect that if they were playing each other this week, Box Hill would probably win

But they aren't playing this week so that statement doesn't matter. Powerhouse won when it mattered the most.

Who ever wins the flag on Saturday in the seniors, should go to the Beehive Hotel in Hawthorn and show Eltham the silver ware (they are having their end of season drink there). It would be good to show those cocky pricks what they missed out on!!!

It's funny because before bigfooty crushed, there was a post by someone saying that Eltham had on their website working out who to play on big Danno come GF, mate...did they count on beating PWH or what??? Guess things didn't work out quiet as planned then...that's why there is the saying take one week at a time...:thumbsu:

JP the Chinaman said:
It's funny because before bigfooty crushed, there was a post by someone saying that Eltham had on their website working out who to play on big Danno come GF, mate...did they count on beating PWH or what??? Guess things didn't work out quiet as planned then...that's why there is the saying take one week at a time...:thumbsu:

Very well said JP. I also think that there was something on the site saying
"don't count your chickens before they hatch"

Maybe Eltham are like roosters and can't lay anything

What'saname said:
spy1 said:
Big Footy crashed yesterday, losing 6 days worth of posts, gone forever.
Tough luck JP.
Should be a good one next week. Let's hope it is good weather.
Now the important question arising from yesterday:
How was the grub?

Spy1 you would be happy to know that the food was a hell of a lot better than what NOBS came up with. I just hope it will continue onto next week.

Cheers for the Whato. I will bring my fork and bib.

JP, the post about who would play on Dan in the GF was by a **** stirer. He seemed intent on stirring up Eltham's opposition by making out he was from there. It has been shown he certainly was not.
Not to say that the lads from Eltham didn't at times get ahead of themselves. That and a few key injuries put paid to there chances. Power House got a wake up call from BH in rd 18. I think they know any game from then on required a bigger physical effort.

I think it always adds something when each team in the granny has a gun/glamour full fwd. Could be a chance for a full back to be a hero.

Bring on the game and warm up the tucker.

Spy1, it was me that posted that message about who Eltham would play on Dan Lauletta in the GF and I obtained my information from a very reliable ELTHAM source.

Spy1, I know you are obsessed with keeping your identity a secret but a few words in your most recent post lead me to believe you may be a Hawk.......Would I be correct??

JP the Chinaman said:

JP - what happened in the maggo's?

I was sure you're boys were sure things... Glad nobody offered me even money!

As a football follower in gereral, I was at the game on Saturday. All in all it was a dissapointing show from Eltham, but I must say Powerhouse didn't offer me anything to suggest they would win the flag.
The dissapointing thing on the day was the morons from Powerhouse in the crowd who were giving it to Eltham in regards to the bloke who had his jaw broken in from what I hear was a rather cowardly fashion. What is it with these teams who couldn't cut it in a higher grade that ended up being relegated? They seem to yap a whole lot, but if it were me, I would just shut up and concentrate on getting my pride back. Hawthorn did it last season, and had the entire comp against them and they failed, looking all the more sad. They have, from what I've seen over the season pulled their heads in and should easily account for a bunch of blokes who spend all their energy telling other teams how great they are! Remember, you were relegated!
As for the Eltham website making mention about playing a certain bloke in the GF on Dan L, well it was stated before the website crashed that the player in mention is their boundry umpire for the ressies, and is all of 16 years old. Now I am no expert but that would suggest that is was a joke!
Tips for the weekend........ Hawthorn by 4 goals in the seniors, Eltham for back-2-back flags in the ressies. Goodluck to both senior teams next year back in D3
Just a sugestion, but don't take everything written on the web as gospel, there are always 1 or 2 DH's who like to stir the pot.

haha..fair enough lout, i was just stiring the pot there as well...

Inlineform, mate I can't explain it, it was dissappointing to say the least, we had a good team in, but couldn't get the job done, couldn't get 4 quarters in...that was required but we just couldn't get there...good luck to the PWH boys. So is footy mate...never ever is there a sure thing...

lout said:
As a football follower in gereral, I was at the game on Saturday. All in all it was a dissapointing show from Eltham, but I must say Powerhouse didn't offer me anything to suggest they would win the flag.
The dissapointing thing on the day was the morons from Powerhouse in the crowd who were giving it to Eltham in regards to the bloke who had his jaw broken in from what I hear was a rather cowardly fashion. What is it with these teams who couldn't cut it in a higher grade that ended up being relegated? They seem to yap a whole lot, but if it were me, I would just shut up and concentrate on getting my pride back. Hawthorn did it last season, and had the entire comp against them and they failed, looking all the more sad. They have, from what I've seen over the season pulled their heads in and should easily account for a bunch of blokes who spend all their energy telling other teams how great they are! Remember, you were relegated!
As for the Eltham website making mention about playing a certain bloke in the GF on Dan L, well it was stated before the website crashed that the player in mention is their boundry umpire for the ressies, and is all of 16 years old. Now I am no expert but that would suggest that is was a joke!
Tips for the weekend........ Hawthorn by 4 goals in the seniors, Eltham for back-2-back flags in the ressies. Goodluck to both senior teams next year back in D3
Just a sugestion, but don't take everything written on the web as gospel, there are always 1 or 2 DH's who like to stir the pot.

Well said!

I don't mind sledging from the sidelines, but when they are refering to an act of cowardness then it is not on. The Bloke from Powerhouse got suspended for 4 matches but was it enough to justify somebodies jaw getting broken????

I don't think so. I think Eltham will win in the Ressies but wouldn't it be beautiful if Powerhouse won the flag and for the sniper to miss out?? I think Hawthorn will account for Powerhouse by a comfortable margin and Eltham to win a tight tussle in the two's.

lout said:

Lout, The Power House players have been placing their energies into getting their pride back and they've done a fair bit to achieve that on the field with one more hurdle to conquer. From what I hear, the sledging on the sidelines from Power House supporters was in response to unwarranted and unprovoked sledging from Eltham who were down and out at the time - would you respond if you were the leading side and were copping it from a side about to go out in straight sets? - I think so. What's wrong with a bit of sledging anyway. It's great to see the passion.

JP the Chinaman said:
haha..fair enough lout, i was just stiring the pot there as well...

Inlineform, mate I can't explain it, it was dissappointing to say the least, we had a good team in, but couldn't get the job done, couldn't get 4 quarters in...that was required but we just couldn't get there...good luck to the PWH boys. So is footy mate...never ever is there a sure thing...

Hope it was a pot of your famous black bean sauce you talked about!
The food at oakleigh was good on saturday and not too expensive. Bring on this saturday, i'll be following my name's sake (King Cobra) and staying close to the canteen.
Looking at the results so far in the finals i think it will be an absolute ripper that will go down to the wire in the 1sts (i'm tipping pwhouse), and our boys in the reserves by a couple. Hopefully our ressies can learn from the 1's mistakes and be prepared for a real contest. Powerhouse 2's were physical on saturday and more of the same can be expected.

The only thing that lets oakleigh's ground down is the wind, and no free entry!

vegemite said:
Lout, The Power House players have been placing their energies into getting their pride back and they've done a fair bit to achieve that on the field with one more hurdle to conquer. From what I hear, the sledging on the sidelines from Power House supporters was in response to unwarranted and unprovoked sledging from Eltham who were down and out at the time - would you respond if you were the leading side and were copping it from a side about to go out in straight sets? - I think so. What's wrong with a bit of sledging anyway. It's great to see the passion.

On the topic of straight sets, I remember King Turtle complaining about the umpires in the first final against Hawthorn, saying that they were like the tinman from the wizard of OZ.

Well King Turtle I have one for you...... I think you blokes play football like something the lion doesn't have from the wizard of oz............ no heart

What do you say to that?

a little bit of leverage said:
On the topic of straight sets, I remember King Turtle complaining about the umpires in the first final against Hawthorn, saying that they were like the tinman from the wizard of OZ.

Well King Turtle I have one for you...... I think you blokes play like the lion from the wizard of oz..... with no heart.

What do you say to that?

I think you are like the lion! A true coward throwing insults from behind your pr0n machine (that's all a bloke like you could use it for).
Two posts ago you said "you don't mind sledging from the sidelines but an act of cowardness is not on". Well i say to that, you are a hipocrit.

Eltham just like any (well most) clubs is full of heart and blokes playing for the jumper. We may have been less physical that powerhouse on the weekend, but given less windy conditions or a dryer day the result may have been different. And the umpires were a disgrace.

Back to footy talk. The last page before this was interesting reading.

King Turtle,

The Turtle nickname for your club hits the nail on the head. From seeing you guys go up against the more physical sides you tend to pull your heads in at the first sign of danger, just like a real turtle does. The ninja turtles would be ashamed that you have ruined their tough reputation

King Turtle,

The Turtle nickname for your club hits the nail on the head. From seeing you guys go up against the more physical sides you tend to pull your heads in at the first sign of danger, just like a real turtle does. The ninja turtles would be ashamed that you have ruined their tough reputation

I think that you were dropped on your head!
As i said before we may not have been physical enough in the wet. We have a young side that runs, and on the small ground, in the wet, there was no room to move and the size and physicality of powerhouse shut us down. There has to be a winner. Unfortunately it wasn't us, but we will learn and bounce back.
And leave the "turtles in a half shell" out of this.

I'll back the Turtles to win the flag next year. They'll learn from this season and come back even better next year with alot to prove.

King Turtle it rained for 5 of the 120 minutes of game time........ You sound a lot like Grant Thomas - Always making excuses instead of copping it on the chin and trying to make out that you were so hard done by...... The only bloke who went for a hard ball was a 18 year old kid who came off with a split head. If you are expecting a kid to lead the way then good luck getting out of D4 in the next few years.......

Coach Hollywood said:
I'll back the Turtles to win the flag next year. They'll learn from this season and come back even better next year with alot to prove.

I think it's a bit early for us to be talking about next year's flag.
There are two strong sides in St Mary's and UHS-VU coming down and they will be wanting to go straight back up. Plus by the way box hill improved they will be a competitive unit.
Sure we'll be in the top 4, with some more finals experience but we can't be thinking about next year just yet.
Unless you were talking about the 2's flag again? We have great depth, but need to recruit a few key players to help our 1sts be a more consistent and competitive unit.

king_turtle said:
I think that you were dropped on your head!
As i said before we may not have been physical enough in the wet. We have a young side that runs, and on the small ground, in the wet, there was no room to move and the size and physicality of powerhouse shut us down. There has to be a winner. Unfortunately it wasn't us, but we will learn and bounce back.
And leave the "turtles in a half shell" out of this.

exuse after excuse after excuse...why dont u just admit it....Your soft and you do like it wet!!!....LOL....

King Turtle it rained for 5 of the 120 minutes of game time........ You sound a lot like Grant Thomas - Always making excuses instead of copping it on the chin and trying to make out that you were so hard done by...... The only bloke who went for a hard ball was a 18 year old kid who came off with a split head. If you are expecting a kid to lead the way then good luck getting out of D4 in the next few years.......

I reckon that they are reasons, rather than excuses.

King_Cobra, at least we made the finals. We'll become tougher but you guys will always have end of year crisis meetings.

We will be making it our objective to remove the "soft" label and show everyone next year. We still have our reserves in the G.F. and they will be tough. Everyone likes it a bit wet! haha

king_turtle said:
I reckon that they are reasons, rather than excuses.

King_Cobra, at least we made the finals. We'll become tougher but you guys will always have end of year crisis meetings.

We will be making it our objective to remove the "soft" label and show everyone next year. We still have our reserves in the G.F. and they will be tough. Everyone likes it a bit wet! haha

We like your mum a bit wet as well King Turtle.

Twirl21 said:
Spy1, it was me that posted that message about who Eltham would play on Dan Lauletta in the GF and I obtained my information from a very reliable ELTHAM source.

Spy1, I know you are obsessed with keeping your identity a secret but a few words in your most recent post lead me to believe you may be a Hawk.......Would I be correct??

My humblest apologies to you Twirly. I was under the false belief it was posted by that serial pest Arvosjunior. I don't know who your source was but it was public for anyone to see as a tongue in cheek post on Eltham's forum.
As to my loyalties, you would be right, if you were not wrong. I can promise on all that is sacred to me, I am not a 'Crazy Hawks' supporter. I'll even narrow it down for you a little. I will be completely impartial as I frequent the canteen regularly this Saturday at Scammel Reserve.