Did you follow your old man?

Do you follow the same team as your old man?

• Yes

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

Father is a Carlton supporter, as is his father and mother.

Breaking the generational cycle of shame. Truely inspiring :thumbsu:

My Dad is a South Adelaide man but put me on to North when i was 7 or 8 cos VFL was the only footy we got on TV. He loosely followed North too but when the Crows came in he ditched us for them. love you Dad, you flog.

Dad moved here in '73 and went for Easts (by accident as well)

Went to stick up for a mate on the bus, thinking they were the fan of another club and it ended up being easts so he stuck with them - not a bad choice

Old man had an Eagles membership but was never in to them, then Freo came along

It helps when the team you go for start up when you start up junior footy - I was 6 and had just started playing footy in '95 which helped

Though, the amount of crap that got dished my way by part-time eagles fans was incredible and one of the reasons my sister stopped following freo and footy altogether

Most I can relate to to the father son thing is with Everton - Grandad is a huge Toffees fan, as is one of my uncles, though my dad went for Tranmere instead as they were just down the road and my Nan *was* a Man U fan but is now an Evertonian. My brother turned out Liverpool for some reason though - as did a fair few relatives in England

Greetings Viewers

No I didn't but it was close thing.

In the old QAFL, my club Coorparoo wore Carlton jerseys, but were not known as the blues, but by the last 3 letters of our suburb The Roo/s.

So in the mid 70s when I started in the Under 8s I jumped on board with North Meblourne whilst the rest of the family chose Carlton.

Despite being a Lions member, I still have a soft spot for the shinboners and it's still specail moment when the Roos beat the Blues.

Regards

Dicko

yep, South Freo, despite living most of my life in shark territory.
as for the VFL, he has never had a team, so going for Carlton, then changing to Freo was all me.
Junior has followed me

Good thread. Family on Mother's side was always going to bring me back to Freo. But before then my Dad (a Pom) worked with Syd Jackson (with all the talk of Maurice's legacy, Syd was also a trailblazer) and a couple of the Carlton guys, so I supported the Blues as a kid (pre-Elliot, Pratt, tanking and general ineptitude). Back in Perth I tolerated the Eagles until 1995, when the AFL became a truly great comp:).

I'm a (at least) a fourth generation magpie which takes us back almost to the start of the club. My son and daughter are also magpies.

We've only had one extended family member in a big family that hasn't followed the pies.

No, my parents were both Poms & didn't have any interest in Aussie Rules. I became a Pies supporter at the age of about 5 & have remained so ever since. My 1yr old son is already a Pies member with me and I plan to thoroughly indoctrinate him in the Collingwood way of life. Ditto for any other children that I may have.

Old man's a blue, I am a blue and my son is a blue. All paid up and proud members.

I went against the old man when choosing a premier league team as his side of the family are all west brom supporters and I chose tottenham.

No I did not follow my old man. Has caused a bit of controversy in my family as my paternal grandfather is a team of the century member for an AFL club and I went against the family:D.

Followed Mum, Dad's a norker (North). Have had family play for Geelong, Saints and Melbourne but strangely no one in the family really follows any of those teams.

* Dad & majority of his family follow Essendon
* Mum & majority of her family follow Essendon

Tough decision I tell ya. :D

dad and the family grew up in port adelaide. he adopted carlton as his VFL team I think something to do with the colors similar to Greece and followed them / Port until we joined the AFL. so yes I followed him also with Liverpool.

Did you follow your old man?