Review Geelong beat tiggers by 3 points

Massive to come back from 17 down, particularly with our ersatz midfield, and massive that the guys who stood up were young.

Yep and particularly with our midfield outs and coming off a perth flight and richmond having the longer break..to come back in Q4 shows we have fitness and heart.

Cursed Cat being given a holiday.. sets a precident as far as im concerned. Id like to see what he posted but I doubt it was worthy of given a red. From now on ... if they wish to treat ours like that then so be it ... then eat the bread you bake. Ban them all.

CC is right up there as one of the best balanced and insightful posters on our board, and I've no doubt whatever was said conformed to that same standard, but simply setting foot on the Richmond board was a fatal mistake.

Clearly no tolerance for Geelong supporters over there atm.......

I’m hoping Stewart out doesn’t cost us 2 wins against the dees and the blues.

Without Stewart, the duo of McKay and Curnow scare me.

It was always going to be sdk and kolo or henry taking the carlton talls not stewart. Where stewart out hurts us is on the rebound but at least we can shift duncan to half back to cover until he is back.

Kolo leaves me in a cold sweat and Duncan will want to play better than he did last night, but your point remains.

Unfortunately for us I see Stewart getting 4 weeks considering Dangerfield got 3 for an accidental head clash deemed as severe.

The MRO does love to make an example of us but we can’t be too upset at whatever happens as a difference of a week or 2 is a minor issue compared to how Prestia looked. I hope he is ok and there are no long term issues for him.

That win yesterday was badly needed as we are going to struggle without Stewart.

Did anyone else get major classic Cats v Hawks vibes yesterday?

When we were six goals up, I know they’d come back. When they were three goals up in the last, I knew we had one more push in us. It’s like it was destined to be a close finish. Really reminded me of so many similar games we had with the Hawks during our streak.
I genuinely thought about it when close kicked his goal
Same feeling

Sorry for the invasion but good win and great game today catters. One of the best games if the season so far. Stewart looked gutted, definitely don't think he meant to do what he did. Good luck for the rest of the season! I'm sure we will meet again in the finals!
This and a couple of other responses were classy and what I would hope for some of our opponents' supporters. Mate, you're welcome any time with that sort of attitude and response. Heck of a game and the Tiges are definitely up and about.

On the other hand, some of the others have been excessively salty and I would hope our supporters don't replicate that sort of stuff on our opponents' boards.

This sums up Kolo’s career and ability in a nutshell. Personally I can’t have it in September. He should be squeezed out when we have:

B: Bews SDK Tuohy
HB: Stewart Henry O’Connor/Zuthrie
The dilemma with him is that he's a fine shut down defender, Jack may be cooked but he's still dangerous and he has no impact.. So all good there... BUT Kola also seems to think he's an elite ball user off half back, he loves getting the ball and trying to bite off that short kick on the 45 at half back, and is an absolute liability doing so.. He stopped his man getting goals yesterday, he created a few for them as well unfortunately.

That main howler he cut in front of Smith to mark the ball and instantly I swore at him, because he is literally the last player on our team you want in that situation (Blitz isn't great either but at least after looking confused for 20 seconds he just belts it long down the line)
You just knew Kola would try a short kick and cook it and sure as shit it happened.

He's been good this year but **** he is rage inducing

I thought (and may be wrong) that Dusty did not look gracious in defeat at all. Blanked a few.

You’re far more observant than me. You talking immediately after the siren? I was at the game so wasn’t concerned with that. I think Dusty is just Dusty. He’s not a great communicator. I doubt it would be anything other than that.

Tom Stewart will now be the new Darren Milburn at least in Richmond nuffie eyes Darren went on to play 292 games and only missed one more week to suspension I'm tipping Tom Stewart to be in the same mold,will most likely miss 2 or 3 weeks.I loved the way he was able to get his head back in the game ignore the hostile crowd and be influential in us winning a Titanic struggle he's lost no respect in my eyes he's a warrior.

Cursed Cat being given a holiday.. sets a precident as far as im concerned. Id like to see what he posted but I doubt it was worthy of given a red. From now on ... if they wish to treat ours like that then so be it ... then eat the bread you bake. Ban them all.

Does that mean we are denied a Cursed Cat match review which is the highlight of any big footy match review thread?

He’s not getting 2 weeks. It will go to the tribunal and he’ll get 4 weeks and Cats will accept it and we all move on. And of course it’s severe. He was unconscious before he hit the turf. Was constitutes severe if that doesn’t ?

Severe constitutes his head being removed from his body.
I’m very keen to see who’s right between us, if he’s graded what you believe we do just move on.
If he’s graded what I believe your lot will claim more conspiracy theroys.

Hope you enjoyed your rants, just remember our players have just come off a heavy training load, that’s the best you could play 🤫

Kolo should be told never to short pass in field, and if in any doubt, kick it long down the wing. It is not as if he gets a lot of kicks anyway so it wouldn’t damage our rebound.

The frustrating thing about these turnovers is he was not advancing the ball or moving it to a better position. He took on all the risk for no opportunity.

It was a tribute to his same one in 2020 Grand Final, also in third quarter.

He is doing a decent job defensively but gee these mistakes are so costly.

The dilemma with him is that he's a fine shut down defender, Jack may be cooked but he's still dangerous and he has no impact.. So all good there... BUT Kola also seems to think he's an elite ball user off half back, he loves getting the ball and trying to bite off that short kick on the 45 at half back, and is an absolute liability doing so.. He stopped his man getting goals yesterday, he created a few for them as well unfortunately.

That main howler he cut in front of Smith to mark the ball and instantly I swore at him, because he is literally the last player on our team you want in that situation (Blitz isn't great either but at least after looking confused for 20 seconds he just belts it long down the line)
You just knew Kola would try a short kick and cook it and sure as s**t it happened.

He's been good this year but * he is rage inducing

That’s it in one. Riewoldt is actually his perfect match up. Not overly tall. Not quick. He’s perfect for him. I said pre match that was the player Kolo has taken in the past and kept quiet. And he did it again so kudos there to him.

But his decision making with ball in hand would be one of the worst in the AFL for a guy with his experience. I’m just not sure what you do with him? He costs multiple goals every big game through these horrendous clangers. And they can be momentum changing too. The MC though seem comfortable with him regardless.

I might venture into the last couple of pages in the gameday thread. I was occupied for most of the game, so only got to check the score just before half time, then got a text from my 80 year old mate going "WHAT A COMEBACK", before I could check anything out. "I never knew we'd been behind, but OK."

Ok … there are 2 x debates here. One is that Geelong should play 11 games at home and play home finals there. That’s fine, happy for anyone to have that debate.

But the second point of contention is that under the current fixturing, Cats fans narrative is that Geelong is at a disadvantage to other clubs. This is simply not true. Geelong have an advantage over 17 other teams across the 22 games they play under CURRENT fixturing.

So you want 11 home games and that’s no worries, it will increase your current advantage and I’d barrack for that as a Cats fan too. If that’s just your good luck then that’s fine, it’s for the AFL to decide.

But it’s just amusing that it seems Cats fans think they’re hard done by in H&A currently, which is just not factual.

As posted above, we have played 4 games at our home ground in 14 games. And lost 1 of the 4. That’s factual. How is this an advantage over the 17 other teams, I would like the facts on this.

Review Geelong beat tiggers by 3 points