Review Geelong beat tiggers by 3 points

Both coaches were excellent with their post match pressers.
Mutual respect.
No sour grapes- usually don't rate Hardwick, but he was refreshingly honest, and CS was his usual high standard.
Dimma can't afford to go too hard, he has plenty of form as a player.

The value Geelong gets from the bargain bin does not get enough praise. The passage from the centre leading to the match-winning goal involved Atkins (Rookie pick), Stengle (delisted free agent), and Henry (Rookie pick). Stewart (GFL/VFL recruit) took the game-saving mark.

It's a shame Stewart will miss the Melbourne and Carlton games. But on the upside, he'll hit the finals well-rested.

Even from a Geelong supporters standpoint, I feel the same way. We won over an hour ago and I still don’t feel an ounce of happiness over what was arguably Chris Scott’s best win as coach excluding the 2011 grand final.

We didn’t lose I know but the thing is I can handle losing. What pissed me off tonight was the fact that we play these ‘home’ games away to a genuine home team when we’d have belted them at home. Football is no good for my mental health at this point because we are so badly disadvantaged. The only team in world sport. This sport means a lot to me and my interest has never waned yet I’m finding myself wondering whether to walk away entirely.

I don’t know how much longer I can do this because it’s bringing me down (factoring in with more important real life issues) to the point where I want to ring Lifeline.

For many many people, football is not just escapism, a hobby or interest. They become personally invested, and their side becomes representative of them, their persona. So the wins are euphoric and the losses saddening, because it is us who have won or lost, until the next week. You see this when tempers boil over at the ground, or furious trolls invade your board. The data on sport shows this- Personal slight comes to the fore, when in fact it's a game of players that don't know who you are, and worse, an all encompassing and very successful business, that you pay to participate in.

The AFL lines it's pockets through it's decisions on where the game is played, and the MCG has long been the most lucrative ground, since finals are played there, and other games we play there throughout the fixture that allows a bigger crowd. So at least it's preparation. The same can be said (and is, quite nastily) about our home ground advantage. Take a step back, and don't place all your emotional marbles about your team in the same bag as what else is troublesome in your life. For perspective- A good counsellor will help you seperate your issues, and give you guidance and goals to beat these negative feelings. Your GP can arrange 10 free sessions for you. Good luck, and please remember if you are down, there is nothing more certain than change, (except from a vending machine ;) ) - and that change can be really good.

Hear hear. I can’t believe the dimwits who think the cats have an advantage playing some (not all) of their home games at home. “Home” is the key word here and immediately negates their argument.
Home field advantage has always been a part of sports, to complain about it is ridiculous. It's like complaining that that player is too tall.

View attachment 1432724
The act on replay isn’t a good one.
It’s not intentional, it’s very careless.
It’s also not Severe.

Terrible look but that’s the correct headings posted above IMO

He’s not getting 2 weeks. It will go to the tribunal and he’ll get 4 weeks and Cats will accept it and we all move on. And of course it’s severe. He was unconscious before he hit the turf. Was constitutes severe if that doesn’t ?

Home field advantage has always been a part of sports, to complain about it is ridiculous. It's like complaining that that player is too tall.

We’ve played 4 games out of 14 at home and we sit 2nd. We lost 1 of them.
We made a GF in a covid year where we hardly played at home.
Home advantage on our part is very much exaggerated.

Feels like we got away with one there if I’m being honest, but a lot like the Freo game we lost by a kick - which we almost did today - didn’t capitalise on a massively dominant first quarter and it came back to bite us.

Stewart’s taking out Prestia meant they didn’t have the star power to go with us when we took the game on, and I’m sure that won’t be overlooked on Tuesday. I reckon he gets three. He should probably get four.

While the repercussions of his recklessness might have won us this one, it might cost us games against Carlton and Melbourne - pretty crucial ones.

What a game though. I’m still buzzing. Bloody hell, I love footy.

How many home games do interstate teams get at their home grounds?
How do you justify GWS playing a home final at their place, against any team, while you would complain about Geelong playing a final at Geelong?
We have never had 9 games at Geelong either- that would be a first this year.
Bringing up Melbourne based teams like Essendon playing games at the G is irrelevant- they would prefer the G to be their home ground anyway.
Geelong has a home ground, and there is no reason we should not be able to play EVERY home game at Geelong, not 6 or 7 or 8 or 9.

Ok … there are 2 x debates here. One is that Geelong should play 11 games at home and play home finals there. That’s fine, happy for anyone to have that debate.

But the second point of contention is that under the current fixturing, Cats fans narrative is that Geelong is at a disadvantage to other clubs. This is simply not true. Geelong have an advantage over 17 other teams across the 22 games they play under CURRENT fixturing.

So you want 11 home games and that’s no worries, it will increase your current advantage and I’d barrack for that as a Cats fan too. If that’s just your good luck then that’s fine, it’s for the AFL to decide.

But it’s just amusing that it seems Cats fans think they’re hard done by in H&A currently, which is just not factual.

Ok … there are 2 x debates here. One is that Geelong should play 11 games at home and play home finals there. That’s fine, happy for anyone to have that debate.

But the second point of contention is that under the current fixturing, Cats fans narrative is that Geelong is at a disadvantage to other clubs. This is simply not true. Geelong have an advantage over 17 other teams across the 22 games they play under CURRENT fixturing.

So you want 11 home games and that’s no worries, it will increase your current advantage and I’d barrack for that as a Cats fan too. If that’s just your good luck then that’s fine, it’s for the AFL to decide.

But it’s just amusing that it seems Cats fans think they’re hard done by in H&A currently, which is just not factual.

How is it over 17 other teams? Or have you forgotten it’s not still the VFL?

Port, Adelaide, West Coast and Freo all get 12 games at their home ground a year, and Sydney, GWS, Brisbane and Gold Coast all get 11. So by my count it’s only over 9 other teams.

He’s not getting 2 weeks. It will go to the tribunal and he’ll get 4 weeks and Cats will accept it and we all move on. And of course it’s severe. He was unconscious before he hit the turf. Was constitutes severe if that doesn’t ?

Think this is pretty much on the money- 3 is possible but im guessing 4 once they factor in severity.

You’re right, it is no coincidence. We are a damn consistent and good side more often than not. If an interstate side was good enough to be 7-3 on the road (which we are) then they will generally win 90 per cent of their games at home as well

The ground is completely different dimensions to any other ground and you play and train on it all year. Other teams play on it an average of probably once every 2 years. Of course it’s very difficult to win at. It wouldn’t matter how good, bad or indifferent the Cats team was … it is always going to be harder than anywhere else to win.

What’s the Hawks win/loss in Launceston, another ground no team except the Hawks regularly play at? From 2001-2007 Hawks won 39% of games outside Tassie and 71% in Tassie.

From 2010 to 2016 they won 26 of 27…. They were obviously a great team for most of that period, but not 96% win rate great ….

Total win/loss in Tassie is 76.6% from 2001 onwards. Their record at Waverley… where they played during their 1983-1991 domination ……. is 66%.

So grounds that are foreign in dimensions or have foreign conditions provide far greater difficulty to win at. Cats have that advantage and it’s to be treasured as it’s very valuable in helping finish top-4.

I’m not even sure what we are debating… Cats have a great home ground advantage (excellent, good luck to them), Cats supporters want more games there because of that advantage (of course, who wouldn’t), and Cats currently have a distinct H&A advantage over 17 other teams which they want increased (I would too, so makes sense to me to push for 11 home games and finals at the Cattery).

Just don’t let me hear the current H&A fixture provides a disadvantage…. because it doesn’t. The rest of the debates are open for discussion.

Hopefully only 3 weeks but I suspect it's going to be a month. He jumped and connected with the elbow and the repercussion was a concussion which will put Prestia out for the next 2 weeks.

Na we're a bit more mature and can handle our emotions better then you lot

It's the best melt by a group of supporters after a home and away game I've ever seen.

Go sleep it off and reflect in the morning how embarrassing you've all been at your end.

We regularly melt after H&A games against the Cats. You’ve got our measure in those pesky little games …

Wow. Got 9 likes as well. He was unconscious in mid-air. Good to see the Cats board is as feral as ours.

2 likes. 2
Wow, laugh and disagree make up the other 7.

The ground is completely different dimensions to any other ground and you play and train on it all year. Other teams play on it an average of probably once every 2 years. Of course it’s very difficult to win at. It wouldn’t matter how good, bad or indifferent the Cats team was … it is always going to be harder than anywhere else to win.

What’s the Hawks win/loss in Launceston, another ground no team except the Hawks regularly play at? From 2001-2007 Hawks won 39% of games outside Tassie and 71% in Tassie.

From 2010 to 2016 they won 26 of 27…. They were obviously a great team for most of that period, but not 96% win rate great ….

Total win/loss in Tassie is 76.6% from 2001 onwards. Their record at Waverley… where they played during their 1983-1991 domination ……. is 66%.

So grounds that are foreign in dimensions or have foreign conditions provide far greater difficulty to win at. Cats have that advantage and it’s to be treasured as it’s very valuable in helping finish top-4.

I’m not even sure what we are debating… Cats have a great home ground advantage (excellent, good luck to them), Cats supporters want more games there because of that advantage (of course, who wouldn’t), and Cats currently have a distinct H&A advantage over 17 other teams which they want increased (I would too, so makes sense to me to push for 11 home games and finals at the Cattery).

Just don’t let me hear the current H&A fixture provides a disadvantage…. because it doesn’t. The rest of the debates are open for discussion.

We are 7-3 elsewhere.
I don’t care what stupid disclaimer you want to attach. If we can win 7/10 games on other teams’ grounds, they should feel free to do likewise at ours and no stupid mental or linguistic calasthenics from your good self changed that.

It's actually 13 other teams, or have you conveniently forgotten that all of GWS, Sydney GC and Brisbane all have the exact same home ground advantage?

Never ceases to amuse me, this argument - and the subsequent withholding of info like the above that puts a giant hole in the argument.

Not one other side plays their home games at an oppos home ground, an hour down the road - that is fact. We come from a different city, which is what most oppos supporters also seem to conveniently forget. There'd be outrage if GC or GWS were forced to play their home games at the SCG or the GABBA, yet it's perfectly fine that we have to do it year in, year out, because...reasons.

You lost and we beat you on your own home ground. Move along now.

Wow. Got 9 likes as well. He was unconscious in mid-air. Good to see the Cats board is as feral as ours.

You have had your fun...now back to your own Board. Don't challenge me either....

Go now and don't post on our Board again until September (assuming you make finals of course) otherwise I'll have no choice but to sanction you. One more post on our Board from you now will earn a week off.

We both don't want that now...do we. It was a great game of football...lets leave it at that now.

It’s intentional, high, severe …. straight to the tribunal. You can’t actually get much worse than that act. Run past the ball and knock a defenceless player unconscious before he hits the ground. It was out of character for Stewart, but he’s getting more than 3 x weeks, as he should.

It technically could be 3 but I agree it won't be. It'll automatically be graded intentional as a high bump but I genuinely don't believe he intended to bump him high. Prestia was falling and he misjudged it.

But yeah, his defence case will be a non-starter as he can't argue that it's not intentional under the rules.

Review Geelong beat tiggers by 3 points