News Geelong's position in Essendon investigation and ACC report

I dont think any club will be squeaky clean-some players wil look at the money they get -the adulation -they get treated like super heroes. The clubs dont know what the players take in private -Brian Cook or any club CEO-wouldnt know if there were rogue players taking illegal substances in private -how would they

Can someone inform me about the 100 players involved quote -who actually said that
Absolutely. I had this discussion 3 weeks ago with my brother. People get sucked in by being around people of influence.

He said "bullshit"
I reopened that discussion today :)

You don't think I'm going to sit here and type it out do you VC,I could post you a link.
lol. I dont have time mate. Going OS tomorrow and I haven't packed.

But if you get done on match day you are dead.
The 3 strikes policy is an AFL thing. No one else does it. It cops unfair criticism.

If I was the players association I'd stop agreeing to it. The inuendo is damaging the image of players as a group.

Fair point but PED doesn't necessarily mean its used primarily for bulk. Can help a player fitness and running capacity without necessarily increasing the athetlics's weight.

Then again I'm not expert but that's my understanding of the multiple benefits of PED.

They're basically only talking about peptides and peptide hormones, which mainly go to bulking up.

Boy, is Bomber Thompson copping a caning on Footy Classified. Glad we let him go!!!

Glad Caro mentioned the weapon had a different and less influential role at the Cattery too. Might shut up a few doubters (ie. Hawks flogs on Bay 13).

Only got Foxtel -can you give a bit detail of the criticism hes copping
That he was a poor manager of people at Geelong. Made horrible decisions at Essendon, insisting he could replicate Cats' success at Bomberland by bulking up bodies, except everything had to be fastracked, that it was unclear who he reports to. Caroline Wilson said Hird will probably survive, but Bomber.....

Glad Caro mentioned the weapon had a different and less influential role at the Cattery too. Might shut up a few doubters (ie. Hawks flogs on Bay 13).
Yeah. Very reassuring, and Barrett didn't contradict her

That he was a poor manager of people at Geelong. Made horrible decisions at Essendon, insisting he could replicate Cats' success at Bomberland by bulking up bodies, except everything had to be fastracked, that it was unclear who he reports to. Caroline Wilson said Hird will probably survive, but Bomber.....

Thanks -i dont like the Fast Tracked bit -that would be a worry from an Essendon point of view

For the 2nd time I've seen reporting linking Geelong to this Dank guy. But it may be just lazy journalism putting 2 (Geelong) and 2 (Robinson) together and getting 5 (therefore Dank was). Hope the club comes out with some clarification on whether Dank was at the club or not.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-02-07/demetriou-throws-down-doping-gauntlet/4507332

"Dank was at the Bombers in 2012. He also worked with AFL clubs Geelong, Gold Coast and Brisbane."

lol. I dont have time mate. Going OS tomorrow and I haven't packed.

But if you get done on match day you are dead.
The 3 strikes policy is an AFL thing. No one else does it. It cops unfair criticism.

If I was the players association I'd stop agreeing to it. The inuendo is damaging the image of players as a group.
I was under the impression it was their Idea, anywho have a good trip I'm sure the club will still be here when you get back.

Thanks -i dont like the Fast Tracked bit -that would be a worry from an Essendon point of view

They also stated Robinson had a more influential role with Essendon than he ever had at Geelong.

The shocking part for me was Reimers. If what he said is true and the whole club was on board, they are finished. It was chilling. The club in the ACC report is most definitely Essendon. Bombers name will go down in history as the scapegoat. It was chilling.

They're basically only talking about peptides and peptide hormones, which mainly go to bulking up.
Fair enough , I'm off to go shopping then see you guys in 9 months

Honestly is it only the people with connection that can obtain theses deigs or are they really that easy to obtain?

Would have to be a shady doctor/pharmacists behind all of this?

For the 2nd time I've seen reporting linking Geelong to this Dank guy. But it may be just lazy journalism putting 2 (Geelong) and 2 (Robinson) together and getting 5 (therefore Dank was). Hope the club comes out with some clarification on whether Dank was at the club or not.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-02-07/demetriou-throws-down-doping-gauntlet/4507332

"Dank was at the Bombers in 2012. He also worked with AFL clubs Geelong, Gold Coast and Brisbane."
On Footy Classified, It was reported Dank consulted to several NRL clubs and then Brisbane Lions (2009), Gold Coast (2 or 3 months in 2012 until he was mysteriously released) and Essendon. No talk of Geelong!

Feel pretty confident we will be fine because Balme and Cook are so smart-light years ahead of most. Cannot honestly imagine on Balmey's watch that stuff could happen. Smart as a whippet, tough as, no nonsense, an excellent take on things. Am trusting in the good hands that have overseen us.

Doesn't stop the players taking anything away from the club

we all love talking footy every week and most of us feel we have some knowledge of the game etc etc but I cannot for the life of me comprehend why these fitness instructors along with the Essendon coaching staff would try to replicate a system that worked so well at another club with totally different athletes and a different culture as many of the Geelong players are country lads.

I mean for starters, the game has changed in 2-3 years so players who were bulkier and bigger in size are finding it tougher to run out games as it is now more about endurance and gut running than ever before.
Secondly, Geelong drafted players who were naturally big in size, Ling (6ft'3), Bartel (6ft'2), Hunt (6ft'1), Corey (6ft'4), Johnson (6ft'3), Egan (6ft'5), Rooke (6ft'3), Enright (6ft'2), Mackie (6ft'4), Lonergan (6ft'6), the father son selections in Ablett/s + Scarlett + Blake & Hawkins.
What I'm getting at is the training program set for the club seemed to have worked well for most given we had a naturally bigger bodied team and this seems to be a recurring recruitment pattern that Geelong have continued to adopt by selecting players already built for league footy and stand predominantly over 6ft'2 in height.

I'm just staggered that they would seemingly try and replicate something that worked at a completely different football club and believe it would create success in the not to distant future.

Doesn't stop the players taking anything away from the club
Yep agree that the odd individual could take something, and that seems to be not only possible but likely- but can't see anything club sanctioned like signing off on stuff and wholesale club misbehaviour. Of course though, it is possible that we are as culpuble as anyone.
Essendon, the poor things, seem to have been in a state of panic for a number of years now. They have not managed their fall from grace well and in the desire to get back up there, to get on field success they have made hasty and unfortunate decisions, all over the place really-from keeping Sheedy too long, the support for and handling of the Knights stuff was inept, the appointment of Robinson sounds like a botch too, appointing Robson? and possibly Bomber, to this stuff- things done in a hurry, not done well or not settled or properly managed. eg. On Footy Clas tonight they seem to be saying that Bomber was a good coach-not good at any of the other stuff-yet it is the other stuff he has been doing at Essendon. So a bit of a mess.
Geelong, conversely, has gradually and slowly built a settled, sensible, rational culture overseen by very capable people working in th areas they are good at. eg Robinson had a lesser role that was supervised. The review brought Balme to the club to organise lots of stuff that maybe Bomber can't do and that is when we began to truly gel. So when I keep thinking how on earth could this happen at Essendon-maybe that is how and also why it wouldn't happen at Geelong? Here's hoping.

And without meaning to sound arrogant, Geelong's list has been so laden with talent, there wouldn't have been a need to cheat. :thumbsu: Other clubs have not had that luxury perhaps.

Yep agree that the odd individual could take something, and that seems to be not only possible but likely- but can't see anything club sanctioned like signing off on stuff and wholesale club misbehaviour. Of course though, it is possible that we are as culpuble as anyone.

Essendon, the poor things, seem to have been in a state of panic for a number of years now. They have not managed their fall from grace well and in the desire to get back up there, to get on field success they have made hasty and unfortunate decisions, all over the place really-from keeping Sheedy too long, the support for and handling of the Knights stuff was inept, the appointment of Robinson sounds like a botch too, appointing Robson? and possibly Bomber, to this stuff- things done in a hurry, not done well or not settled or properly managed. eg. On Footy Clas tonight they seem to be saying that Bomber was a good coach-not good at any of the other stuff-yet it is the other stuff he has been doing at Essendon. So a bit of a mess.

Geelong, conversely, has gradually and slowly built a settled, sensible, rational culture overseen by very capable people working in th areas they are good at. eg Robinson had a lesser role that was supervised. The review brought Balme to the club to organise lots of stuff that maybe Bomber can't do and that is when we began to truly gel. So when I keep thinking how on earth could this happen at Essendon-maybe that is how and also why it wouldn't happen at Geelong? Here's hoping.

Top post romeo :thumbsu:

You explained it quite well and after reading, perhaps it is not too far from the truth.
We see these type of scenarios happen in small businesses skipping corners to get their feet off the ground only to be fined by worksafe or whatever.

Our link with Dank was mentioned on Lateline. Just another illustration of lazy inaccurate journalism.

Tony Jones interview with Kate Lundy was a shocker too, and I'm usually a fan of the way Jones goes about his craft.

Just reckon there's a lot of hysteria in the media at present. I quite liked the quote of Dr Bob Stewart, Associate Professor in the School of Sport and Exercise Science at Victoria University who said it was important to keep the report in perspective.

“Initially, I thought this is a bombshell but on reflection, I think it’s not as serious as it first appears. Some of these issues have already been identified before and the peptide issue has been around for a while,”

And to those who are doing their favourite exercise of jumping to conclusions in a negative way about our club. To date there is no solid information that could lead any of us to asserting anything adverse. Leave the hearsay and scuttlebutt to the Hawthorn supporters. They’re expert at it.

The afl will come down hard and there are serious issues. For too long they have been swept under the carpet.

Geelong was structured in a different manner to the bombers. Geelong identified that bomber was a shit football department head / administrator and put a structure around him. Essendon hired him to perform the very role cook found him to be deficient in. The essendon mafia (little timmy) put thompson in a position of power. The CEO thought Jeff was hard work, but this was a recipe for disaster. Thompson recruited the weapon with a clear mandate. The weapon brought in danks. A close friend, and he had links to a long tem friend of hirds ( dr ageless). The president, hird, thompson, weapon all need to go. This will be ugly. But maybe the salary cheating indicates the fabric of this club.

Danks was at the lions. There have been questions raised there as well about salary caps and body building.

The afl illicit drug policy is a joke. Every club has members. And if you speak to any 18 year old they will name names. How can they be so visible and the afl be so ignorant.

Roili went with a mate to buy drugs and nothing was done. Ie in a Statement to police he confirmed this.

Every club has such idiots. The cats do, plenty.

It was also stated a lug pledged to stay off the gear until of season to win a premiership.

And if you just want to believe in the facts look at the punishment Kerr got for forging a script, and taking tranquillisers. No punishment. Chad ods, nil punishment.

Let alone the secret suspensions for players who are on gear.

If you think this is not chaos, well keep hiding under a rock.

Essendon has an issue as the club orchestrated this mess.

Every other club will contend with a player or two being suspended.

By the way who did j.kelly have a cafe with?
Who does judd own a nightclub with?

Time to wake up

News Geelong's position in Essendon investigation and ACC report