No Oppo Supporters General AFL Discussion #11 - Carlton Posters ONLY!

Hang on, the umpire was notified of this with Charlie Cameron, if at the time he had taken action and penalised the act which is against the rules, Stratton would hopefully think twice the next time, if penalised again and again, do you think Clarkson wouldn't have a word with him.

Both Cameron and Fantasia notified the umpire of the act, which is against the law of the game, get it out of the game before it grows. The umpires have the power to get rid of a lot of these stupid acts but due to media scrutiny they ignore it because they don't want to impose themselves on the game. The AFL are their own worse enemy with what they are doing to the umpires with their constant tinkering of the rules.

The umpire can notify the 4th umpire who can watch Stratton and can award a free kick, why have 4 x field umpires, 4 x boundary umpires, 2 x goal umpires if one of them can't fill the sugar bowls for you if that is what you want.

There's also 36 players on field, and most of this behaviour happens off the ball. Stratton knew, without a doubt, that it was something he didn't want the umpires to see him doing, and only has to wait til they're focused on the play, their backs are turned, they're blindsided by another player, or simply pinch Fantasia in a spot the umpires can't physically see from where they're standing.

Reckon he gets a week, possibly two. And a not-so-gentle heads up that he'll be watched closely moving forward and any claims of repeat behaviour will see him back in the hot seat.

just as well the umpires have nothing else to do but monitor this underhand, sneaky, disgusting behaviour - anything else we can get them to do? refill the sugar bowls in the corporate rooms?

Except for the umpire standing there and having a laugh and a joke about it....

Tonight’s tribunal will be interesting for the umpires me thinks, from the vision presented and the rhetoric out of Essendon they were told multiple times and did absolutely nothing

Essentially condoned it, I reckon that will play a big part in his defence

There's also 36 players on field, and most of this behaviour happens off the ball. Stratton knew, without a doubt, that it was something he didn't want the umpires to see him doing, and only has to wait til they're focused on the play, their backs are turned, they're blindsided by another player, or simply pinch Fantasia in a spot the umpires can't physically see from where they're standing.

Reckon he gets a week, possibly two. And a not-so-gentle heads up that he'll be watched closely moving forward and any claims of repeat behaviour will see him back in the hot seat.

The umpire was made aware of it and did nothing, inform the 4th umpire, all 3 umpires are not in play at the same time. Stratton would not have been doing it when the ball was in their area.
What if Fantasia said to the umpire, if you don't stop him, I will? How would that stand up at the tribunal, if Fantasia pinched Stratton with a Squirrel grip or pinched back?

The umpire was made aware of it and did nothing, inform the 4th umpire, all 3 umpires are not in play at the same time. Stratton would not have been doing it when the ball was in their area.
What if Fantasia said to the umpire, if you don't stop him, I will? How would that stand up at the tribunal, if Fantasia pinched Stratton with a Squirrel grip or pinched back?
Or, someone did it to Barry Hall, and the bloke knocked him into next week.

Plainly, there's a responsibility on the part of the umpires to keep unlawful niggle to a minimum, even if it isn't enforced. In the above situation - or a like one, where Fantasia's temper is a little shorter, his build a little bigger - both players would wind up getting done for the unfootball acts of the instigator. It bothers me that this is the case.

Umpires will - as is the AFL trend - come down hard on off the ball niggle over the next few weeks, probably to our detriment. Ed will get suspended for chicken shit while Cripps will get 1-2 more frees a game but the bloke sitting on him will have "done a good job, legally", regardless of whatever he did out there.

That's the thing though - the umpire can't pay a free because a player said another player did something. If Stratton is careful about making sure he only does it when the umpire isn't looking, what are they supposed to do. And I'm not sure asking the 4th umpire to follow the player around all day is the answer either.

Easy fix, now. Stratton gets suspended, and the league says that behaviour is not on, will attract suspensions, and reports of such behaviour will be reviewed by the MRO post-match. Fixed, won't happen again.

Yeah whilst I don’t agree with what Kennet said I think this is what he was referring to in that “inexperienced people” not necessarily “new arrivals” shouldn’t be “policing” the crowd or game. But he also probably said it that way to take the heat off the Stratton incident.

Security guard coming onto the ground to separate 2 players.

Nothing to do with JeffK.

WTF!

safe_image.php

No different from having your mum on the sideline with umbrella in hand. Just in case things get out of hand.
haha this reminds me of stories my nan and great nan used to tell me about old Port games in VFA.

My great nan would have her umbrella handy just incase. she was about 4 foot 9 too

No different from having your mum on the sideline with umbrella in hand. Just in case things get out of hand.
I coached former Bulldog Jose Romero at Jacana in the 80's, his mum was leathal with an umbrella on more than one occasion.

I was involved in a couple of umbrella wielding incidents in my junior footy. I laugh about it now but at the time I was embarrassed and looking for somewhere to hide.

Reminds me of a mate telling me about his first Senior game which happened against St Kilda City at their home ground (back when st Kilda was hookers and dealers). He played wing and finally won the ball and took off along the boundary. Next minute he was flat on his back with a Grandma standing over him with her umbrella abusing him full blue.
Glorious.

WTF!

safe_image.php
Hope he was fined $10k for illegally entering the arena during play

WTF!

safe_image.php
Should have thrown them out of the ground for anti social behaviour.;)

While Jeff may be right that some of the security guards don't have an understanding of what is acceptable at the footy (without wanting to judge any of the security personnel by their appearance) but that is 100% the responsibility of the stadium management and by default the AFL in training and managing them. Gil has shown an amazing lack of leadership this season.