• Jake Soligo

• Riley Thilthorpe

• Taylor Walker

Results are only viewable after voting.

This hurts but...

it was Lachie Murphy's best game
Joining Welcome Home GIF

Good and or fantastic: Rankine Thilly Murray Sloane (was composed and clean all night impactful touches without having to be in the middle all game.) Pedlar. MM has far to much composure for a bloke in his 3rd game and first showdown and some serious toughness to get up from that hit too

Bad: is there negatives on tonight’s like tonight? Smith was Smith most of the game. The contest with Boak saved him from a 1 or 2 out of 10.

Ugly: The elephant in the room and we still got over the line.
Boak crapping himself in the Smith contest and then missing that set shot dead in front. *chefs kiss

Seriously, where did we pull that from?

Got well beaten in the midfield but won everywhere else.

That young forward line is something else.
Not sure that's true. We smashed them in contested ball by 22, won uncontested ball by 22, had 25 more marks, more contested marks, more marks inside 50... Sure, they had more clearances, but a lot of those were under immense pressure and we could usually turn it over quite easily or at least get another stoppage. Our clearances seemed to be more dangerous. We were also kicking a serious amount of goals in transition from D50 to F50.

The diabolical umpiring decisions against Sholl and Hinge are also counted as stoppage wins for them (and a contested possession), which should be erased from the records!

Boak crapping himself in the Smith contest and then missing that set shot dead in front. *chefs kiss

It is nearly at the point where for Boak the time to call it quits.

A courageous player who has given his all to the club but unfortunately there will be no flag for Boak.

I know that everyone goes on about Port having the best talent of the two but is that based on potential or actual performance. I mean can Orazio or Junior Willy win a game off their own boot? Go thru the sides and compare, I reckon you will form a different opinion.

I’ve been saying it for a while, and I’m not the only one, but TT should never again play SANFL football. He just needs time and nights like these are going to become the norm.
Has such a pure leap and marking action to always take the ball at its highest point, which makes it bloody hard for defenders when he's already 200cm+!

This performance was only a matter of time. We all saw the potential in the preseason games and the first two rounds - our best is very, very good. As a young squad, consistency is always going to be the issue. Two quarters in the first game. One quarter to come back from 45 points down in the second game, to now string it all together for four quarters was so pleasing to watch.

Dawson captained tremendously. Not sure his game was medal worthy (in fact he even said as much in the post match - he thought Thilthorpe should have got it), but he challenged the lads, and lead from the front.

Nicks also deserves to be commended. That was a well coached game. I’d also like to give a shout out to our much maligned recruiters - we’ve got some bloody exciting kids coming through!

Reckon Max Michelanny deserves a rising star nom. He is an absolute gem!

And finally, while all of Smith, Sloane and Milera truly struggled for the majority of that game, they lifted tremendously in that final quarter where we’d been headed and would normally drop our bundle, they were a very big part of us going on to win.

I bloody love this Club (through the good, bad and ugly) but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel (and it’s not the train!). Exciting times ahead.

Good:
Getting productivity out of younger players.
Nick Murray has taken the next step, its a pity Butts has taken one back
Everything about Thilthorpe, Rankine, Rachele and Pedlar up forward
ROB's around the ground marking, back to 2020 form, he was dropped last year.
Beating those disrespectful sign hanging grubs worrying about something that happened so long ago in their Port Magpies jumper is sweet. They can't get over it and it holds them back as an organization, which suits us nicely.

Bad:
Brodie Smith is going quietly into the night, not the same player after his 2017 knee reco.
Milera is nowhere and is swirling in the vortex of Smiths black hole
Lycett looking like Judd out of the centre square
We wont play like that every week but we are getting there, we will go back to this game when we are having to schlep to Launceston or Ballarat and play like donkeys.

Ugly:
Terrible umpiring for most of the night, both sides got dudded at times. We got duded more IMHO.

Whatever happened to the the protected zone?

For that matter, for any AFL Umpire out there, please explain WTF is the protected zone if this the way you define it (?)

You yell out "Stand!" and a player has to freeze in front of the mark, yet anyone can sneak up right behind to tackle the moment you blow the whistle? Seriously WTF is that BS?

Has such a pure leap and marking action to always take the ball at its highest point, which makes it bloody hard for defenders when he's already 200cm+!
Yes!
2 of his overhead marks in particular surprised me --- both times I thought he was too far under the ball (Himmelberg-style) but he just went <<GRAB>>, strong hands.
I was astounded by the Showdown medal votes. Before it was given to Dawson, I thought the contenders were Thrillthorpe, Rankine and Laird. This morning I was thinking that if it had been Tex with 5 goals, he'd have won it.

It was his best game since his debut (5 against Hawthorn I think?) and should give him uplifting self-belief.

That was our most complete performance in a long time. All played well. Bit worried about Butts given we have very little cover. Not convinced Keane is ready after watching the twos.

We have a very winnable next four games, esp. catching Collingwood at home without a ruckman - might be a sneaky chance there. Freo next week is a danger game given 1) history of let down after winning a Showdown and 2) we haven't handled favoritism very well in the last year or two.

Loved that Thilthorpe play when he came out and did the little give to Pedlar who goaled. Extra special given he initially went to give on the other side and still had the presence of mind and skill to give to the other side in a split second.

Rankine very special. Big game player. Gee that holding the ball against Sholl was appalling.

And of course to win against those prison bar jumpers - for those of us old enough to remember when they were feared - pretty sweet.

Time to review the worst of the stuff up/s IMO.
Throw in @ Ports forward pocket early in Q2.
What is Rachele doing?
What is his opponent JHF doing?
Notice Port have a spare on centre wing. Where is our spare? its Butts/ROB agst Dixon
1680385043938.png
Rachele still ball watching and has no idea that Port now have 2 players onside.
SPP now sucking Smith into the contest. Port/SPP 101.
1680385391232.png
Ground ball Milera.
1680385469595.png
Gives to Butts and Smith is now offside after tracking SPP - who's defending the stoppage?
1680385547653.png
Butts goes with the backwards handball. Rozee thinking how good is this?
1680385635412.png
Hinge is last man standing after Berry is neutralized.
Milera, Smith and Butts all offside.
1680385682382.png
Hinge goes to ground in a 2 on one hopeless situation.
1680385759422.png
And Rozee kicks the soda.

Backwards handballing and inattentive defensive action. When Dawson isn't behind the ball who is steering the ship?
Fix it Nix & Burns. You have 2 games in the next 12 days and the oppo are already working on how to exploit this gaping hole in your game play.
1680387399414.png

Votes:

Scott Camporeale (FIVEaa)

1. Rozee 2. Dawson 1. O’Brien
Simeon Thomas-Wilson (The Advertiser)

1. Dawson 2. O’Brien 1. Powell-Pepper
Josh Francou (ABC Grandstand)

1. Dawson 2. Rachelle 1. Thilthorpe
Rhett Biglands (Triple M)

1. O’Brien 2. Powell-Pepper 1. Dawson
David King (Fox Footy)

1. Rankine 2. Laird 1. Roz
Did Campo put in his votes at half time??

We offered North 3 first rounders to get the puck 1 they drafted JHF with

Dawson, Rachele and Rankine is who we got instead.

Three guys who played a big game tonight.

We dogded a bullet there.

Hopefully JHF's mum looked after him tonight. Tucked him into bed after avoiding a nasty ice bath.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
The lad is universally hated by the rest of the AFL players in the comp too by the looks..

watching that game last night and Ports 2 other games this year.. JHF is really being targeted for some dirty treatment at the bottom of the packs.. even saw Dawson last night push JHF’s face into the turf at one stage.. saw a couple of other crows players use their elbows to “massage” the back of his head and neck in completed tackles..

its not just the crows.. the other clubs are doing it too..

reacon the words got around amongst the AFL players.. target the little mummies boy flog.

It is nearly at the point where for Boak the time to call it quits.

A courageous player who has given his all to the club but unfortunately there will be no flag for Boak.

I know that everyone goes on about Port having the best talent of the two but is that based on potential or actual performance. I mean can Orazio or Junior Willy win a game off their own boot? Go thru the sides and compare, I reckon you will form a different opinion.
Rozeee 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Review Good/Bad and the Umpiring.