WaynesWorld19
I must admit I'm totally confused about CEY as a player. Makes some horrendous mistakes than took 3 or so really courageous intercept marks at crucial times.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I must admit I'm totally confused about CEY as a player. Makes some horrendous mistakes than took 3 or so really courageous intercept marks at crucial times.
Have the coaches received any praise yet?
Tweaked our game plan to combat the opposition and had a tactic for Rance.
That’s been a criticism when they haven’t worried about the opposition, looks like they’ve learnt a lesson.
South Africa caught using performance enhancing drugs and a belt sander.Carlton loss, Melbourne loss, Port loss, 36ers win, and it’s a perfect weekend
Should the AFL have a card system like soccer or a Sin bin?A theory I've had for a while: If a player gets more than a 1 game suspension and the suspension was in association with causing an opposition player not to play, for instance mackay tonight, dougie last week, then one of the games should be next week, but the other game should be against the team infringed against, to compensate in a way for the suffering that particular team got as a result.
Otherwise a player can cost a team a game, but other teams reap the benefit.
Well, considering Thompson didn't even play league in his last season, and in his second to last season he was playing vastly better than a depth player like CEY, it sounds like you're just spouting off the same simplistic rubbish that you hear in the outer. It's the equivalent of "kick it long".Provide an example that proves it flawed.
Guys like CEY
Best games I've seen from Ellis-Yolmen.
Greenwood/CEY have been amazing!
Good - CEY
CEY starting to get influential there.
CEY - looked very good
CEY had no business playing a whole game with so much influence
Good:
CEY
CEY, Thor - valuable as all hell.
CEY and Hugh.
Greenwood and Ellis Yolmen were huge once Crouchy went off. Big bodied mids that can kick goals are invaluable.
CEY made some mistakes, but he bloody stood up for us when we needed him.
but from what we saw from CEY and Greenwood
great to see a better game fromage CEY. Hopefully he continues to steadily improve - could be like a bonus recruit coming off the recon.
Thought Greenwood and CEY really lifted and more than made up for the Matt Crouch injury. It is great to have some big bodies through the middle!
- Greenwood and CEY dug deep to match it with Richmond's midfield.
Just watched the replay after getting home.
CEY very solid
CEY and Greenwood make a very interesting pairing.
Greenwood, CEY - beasts.
His approach to footy is like his haircut. You might not always like the result, but **** me does it have a red hot crack and that’s all you can ask.
Was that a Brownlow Medal performance? No, not by a long shot.
Was he Best on Ground? No way.
Did he make some mistakes, where one of them cost us a Richmond Goal? Yes, definitely.
But for f*cks sake, he just kept cracking in again and again and again, especially around the stoppages, and showed some real toughness.
Fortheluvofgod, this lad has just got to be given a string of games. And likewise impressed with the God of Thunder himself - Thor. That bit of Footy Candy that resulted in a Goal? Priceless.
Good
Fog giving away the fifty - straight after all the Tigers started shitting themselves for high marks
Tex’s one handed mark
Tom Doedee - soon as the market opens I’m dropping money on Rising Star
Rusty. He’ll be alright.I must admit I'm totally confused about CEY as a player. Makes some horrendous mistakes than took 3 or so really courageous intercept marks at crucial times.
Fog seems to bring out the aggression in others. We need to pour petrol on it and watch it burn!Don’t like to compare players, but when Junior has the ball he’s got the Andrew Mac spark. Someone said Fog needs to curb his aggression GAGF
Good:
Jenkins. Best game of his career.
Laird. This guy is a freak. Lock for AA already.
Greenwood. Best game of his career.
Gibbs, Sloane. Good but not great games.
Tex. Relatively quiet but great in key moments.
Seedsman. Very good.
Doedee. Better than Lever....
Milera. Got better as the game went on.
Talia. Best game from him in a while.
Murphy and Fogarty. Played well without getting much ball.
Bad.
McGovern. Off the boil and may be the one to miss for Lynch.
Jacobs. Didnt like his first half and was giving Richmond first use. Improved late.
Betts. Not sure whats going on with eddie.
Hartigan. Terrible. Keath in.
Mackay. Finished with an injury but was pretty crapola up to that.
Ugly.
Injury list.
Caddy. Deserves 2 weeks, plays for a vic club so is just clumsy.
I hope so. Is he underdone? Injured? He appears to have lost some kicking confidence. He handed off a couple times from within kicking distance. The one that stuck out was in the last when he marked in the SE forward pocket. Ordinarily, he'd run around and do a helicopter kick as he has often, previously. Last night, he handballed back to Seedsman (I think) who kicked from beyond the 50m arc. Missed. I thought Eddie was a better chance from where he was. Not long after, Seedsman missed another from an even better angle, gggrrrr.He needs to sort out when he flies and when he stays down to crumb, but he wasn’t far off a pretty good game tonight. It will come together.
I think you are being unfair, I think if you watch again the 2nd half he spent more time in the ruck giving Sauce a chop out. because of limited rotations they were switching out forward and ruck rather than give Sauce any time on the bench. Huge effort by both players both Sauce 92% time on ground and JJ 96%.Jenkins awesome in the first half. However second half i actually think he was average. Ball started getting bombed in and his aerial stuff was still non existent
Certainly a Rising Star nomination comingI challenged marty to quit the forum if Doedee had a better season than Burton. I don't think he formally accepted the challenge but he sure has disappeared
Theres just an air of disaster around the club at the moment.
Lost a grand final. Lever and Cameron immediately pack their bags. Criticising the Crows becomes the media bandwagon and every Victorian journo and Bigfooty wannabe wants a piece. Disappointing preseason.
Several key players missing. The cupboard is bare and we're selecting underdone players. Douglas gets frustrated and gets himself suspended. We lose to Essendon and this training camp bullshit story comes out, keeping up with the theme of Adelaide being the media whipping boys.
This, THIS is the time to make a statement as a football club. Crunch Richmond into the ground.
I thought Betts was quite good last night, also was pleased to see the coaches sent him up near the ball to get into the game a little in bursts. That's something we need to do more of imo because he's so good at picking it up cleanly in traffic and then using it well. With our injuries to the midfield I dont see why we cant do a bit more of that in balance. I know everyone just expects Eddie to kick his 3-4 goals but oppositions also expect that and put a hell of a lot of work into him so getting him the game around the ball is an obvious thing to do with a player of his skill. The extra speed around the ball also very useful.I reckon Eddie got the memo about getting back to doing the team thing.
At the game I didn't notice all the little gives he gave out to keep the ball moving forward. Last week he wanted to take mark of the year at every contest. Last night hit seemed his main aim at every contest was to get the ball to a team mate.
A big improvement.
I think physically he is a bit down and not as zippy as normal. But a big improvement on last week.
Also great to see Milera growing into his body. When drafted you coukd see he had big shoulders and a frame to put weight on. He is now growing into that. I hope this season is a bit of a transition from fringe player to genuine best 22.
Greenwood and CEY really took the slack once Crouch went off. I still don't think all three can play in the one side. But CEY is a great depth player and important now with both Crouch injured.
One negative and this is in the telecast and I am surprised nothing bas been said is Bruce calling CEY a "boy". It was when he took that mark in front of goal. CEY ain't a young player and I saw that as a bit of casual racism. Was expecting to wake up this morning to a bit of media comment on it.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk