Review Good, Bad, Ugly vs North Melbourne

Great game. Don't anyone be knocking Jpod or you'll cop a mouthful from me :) 5th in the AFL for contested marks and fast becoming one of my favorite crows.

Great. Team. Effort.

But how... how does he drop an uncontested mark that essentially costs us a goal. And jenkins did similar, dropped a gimmie. They both need that out of their games STAT.

That's ok, fair enough as he had enough credits in the bank from the past 4 or 5 seasons with Geelong fir us to allow him to ease his way into the season.

Oh wait, we are not Geelong. We are Adelaide and he is playing in front of a new supporter base. He started a fresh with zero credits in the bank as I don't give a stuff what's he's done at Geelong.

He was recruited as a contested marketing forward. That part of his game only started a month and a half into the season. He needed to bring that from day 1. Not round 6.
You're a bit off here alex. Number 5 in the league suggests a bit more than just 'since round 6'. His first 2 weeks were poor but the Sydney game, 20+ touches 9 marks and a goal was great. Since then like the rest of his mates he has been on the roller-coaster.

We look a significantly better side when he is playing well and nobody else in the squad is capable of doing it to that level.

You're a bit off here alex. Number 5 in the league suggests a bit more than just 'since round 6'. His first 2 weeks were poor but the Sydney game, 20+ touches 9 marks and a goal was great. Since then like the rest of his mates he has been on the roller-coaster.

We look a significantly better side when he is playing well and nobody else in the squad is capable of doing it to that level.

This has been my argument all along.

If we were close to a premiership, this would be fine. But we are not.

By any chance are you watching St kilda v Geelong? Tom lee has been subbed off, they are getting pumped by 80 odd points and like J-Pod - nick Rievwolt has like 12 months left. They need to develop tom lee or they are stuffed for forwards as well.

Basically, playing J-Pod won't actually amount to anything as we will have to either buy another 25 year old or start developing someone from scratch.

If we beat Essendon and port - j pod can stay in the team, if not our season is over. He should then be retired off. And yes, I'm serious as him in the team after that point isn't getting us any closer to a top 4 spot and then a premiership. We must then chuck smack forward and make a final decision on him.

What it does do; it comes back too poor management of the club as the list manager is trying to do 4 jobs and we don't have a young key forward to develop into this role.

I do get what you're saying and the whole 2 year deal thing is another conversation for another day. Right now he isnt halting the development of anyone because we simply don't have anyone else to fill his role. The forward structure I like, and even with Lynch returning in a month or so it shouldn't change.

So who could we develop, on our list now are

Smack- yeah nah, 2nd ruck or bust
Osborn- waaaaaay off
Graham- nope.
LJ- injured but even so he cant take a contested grab to save himself.
Lynch- different sort of player but could play if he gets some luck with injuries.

Next year, after drafting and trading, Pods is no longer a lock but for this year he stays such is our dearth of tall forwards. His on field coaching is also something very valuable

Totally agree on the commentary, I'm glad they were as dumbfounded as I was about some of the frees but if you watch our highlights reel on AFL.com.au it's like they aren't watching the game. That Martin -> Betts -> Jenkins goal in the pocket had no build up or excitement whatsoever. At the game is was awesome!
Was listening to triple M at the ground and Louie & Ditz were just as bad. Banged on all game at how bad the Roo's were playing. Chris "power only" Ditmar couldn't bring himself to praise the effort the boys put up. 1st lesson of commentating - give the audience what they want to hear not your own bias. It's an SA station, we want to hear how good the crows are playing not comments like "the Roo's are playing so bad the crows look good ...which they're not". tossers!

Ugly:
I was just looking at the stats and Smith only laid one tackle. Must delist.

Watching the replay of the 1st quarter. Umps are wildely inconsistent. Swallow gets a free kick because Thompson has his hand around his waist at a stoppage, but a Roo player can grab Jenkins and literally throw him with two hands off the ball when he doesn't have it and they let it go.

The 3 umpires were umpiring differently.

1st umpire was letting it go.
2nd umpire paying obvious frees.
3rd umpire gave Roos a free ride

Good
Sloaney and Danger stepped up to the leadership plate.
Sloane put some polish on his disposal
apart from a brief patch late in the second our disposal was pretty good.
(it's amazing how much easier it is to put a team under pressure when you don't give it to them every second disposal !)
congrats Reilly 200 up...
thought Eddie and Pods came to play...

Bad
means SFA if we don't follow up next week

Go Crows

Almost joyfully wet myself in the first quarter when I realised the Crows were putting some pace into their game with quicker decisions moving the ball on and forward. It was a welcome change and we looked good. We didn't sustain throughout the middle part of the game but managed to rework it in the last quarter. We must continue with this Sando!
As we have in past seasons, we didn't let a few crap umpuiring decisions, which gifted goals to NM, affect our game. Seems that for some strange reason the umps were out to penalise our defensive efforts. Biased umpiring and tv commentary. Taylor shows a Vic response to the success of AOval compared to the peeweak crowds in Melb.
Some players showed a lot more movement and energetic zip - eg Betts.
Talia - just so underrated.
Jenkins body work shows his basketball background where you are careful not to foul.
Smith - dependable, creative - superb.

[QUOTE="
-Umpiring. Was like the 2012 prelim final all over again. How many free kicks did they get in front of goals. The Brown holding the ball was a shocker.
[/QUOTE]

I'm one of the few who think that Brown's holding the ball decision was correct. He looked like he trying to knock the ball out with one arm but holding it in with the other. However, this decision was inconsistent with the standard of rest of the umpiring which is so annoying as it seems that North were receiving frees that we were not getting.

If we are serious about changing our culture and creating an environment that drives high performance and healthy competition, this is the type of change we need to make. I'm sick of the Australian cricket team philosophy of selection we seem to have.

Yeh lets do the Australian Cricket Policy and drop players after 1 or 2 bad performances and then watch their replacement get 10 chances and fail at every opportunity.

No way does Smack come in for Jenkins....seriously if we play Smack at all we're a joke of a footy club. Shouldve bene delisted.

I'm one of the few who think that Brown's holding the ball decision was correct. He looked like he trying to knock the ball out with one arm but holding it in with the other. However, this decision was inconsistent with the standard of rest of the umpiring which is so annoying as it seems that North were receiving frees that we were not getting.

Wrong. It wasn't holding the ball. Completely and utterly wrong.

Worst umpiring performance since we were r*ped against Hawthorn 2 prelims ago. The AFC should be writing a complaint letter...but they won't cause why rock the boat:rolleyes:

So true, if we were the club under investigation from ASADA, I doubt our club would take legal action to defend itself. It would politely accept everything ASADA is doing and let our player get royally screwed in the process. "But we managed to get our players discounts on their suspensions by co-operating, everyone at the club feels this is the best course of action and we are happy with the result. Well done to the Administrators on a job well done!"

This has been my argument all along.

If we were close to a premiership, this would be fine. But we are not.

By any chance are you watching St kilda v Geelong? Tom lee has been subbed off, they are getting pumped by 80 odd points and like J-Pod - nick Rievwolt has like 12 months left. They need to develop tom lee or they are stuffed for forwards as well.

Basically, playing J-Pod won't actually amount to anything as we will have to either buy another 25 year old or start developing someone from scratch.

If we beat Essendon and port - j pod can stay in the team, if not our season is over. He should then be retired off. And yes, I'm serious as him in the team after that point isn't getting us any closer to a top 4 spot and then a premiership. We must then chuck smack forward and make a final decision on him.

What it does do; it comes back too poor management of the club as the list manager is trying to do 4 jobs and we don't have a young key forward to develop into this role.

Mate you're nuts. Smack is done. He'll never make it and clearly you're one of the few who can't see that. Smack won't be at the club next season and he very almost wasn't this year but NO ONE wanted him so he stayed

Review Good, Bad, Ugly vs North Melbourne