Preview Grand Final 2024 - Sydney Swans / South Melbourne Bloods vs Brisbane Bears/ Fitzroy Lions - The Big Dance

Apparently that's being sung, and I love 'Roar' it will get the crowd going. People bag Katy but she knows how to put a show on
Her current video features a bunch of women (Katy among them) dressed as tradies simulating the act of pissing in a urinal.

The single itself is absolutely diabolical. As is the album.

God help us if she does insist on trying to flog the new album.

PS: I caveat this by noting that if we are up by 8 goals, I won’t care.

Her current video features a bunch of women (Katy among them) dressed as tradies simulating the act of pissing in a urinal.

She is singing 1 of her new songs only. The rest are her hits from the past and two have been leaked as Teenage Dream and Roar

Hmmm do we try and go white line fever bullying tactics 2014 Hawthorn style to disrupt them with all their niggles? They don’t necessarily have any antagonisers in their team apart from maybe Berry and Rayner.

Not gonna lie there is not one Swan besides maybe Jake Lloyd who deserves the glory of being the one to hoist the cup up than Sir Dane.

So let's do this

Parker..?

Isn't she pre-game?

I've had horrid mental health for a while. I have my very first psychiatrist appointment in 3 hours add in a GF and I'm ready for a lay down already ha ha. I hate feeling nervous about a game of footy I have no control over
Well there’s your theme for today’s session!

But seriously, all the best for your mental health and don’t hesitate to give social media a rest if you feel the negatives (which are many) are outweighing the positives (which are also many).

with the swans i am normally pessimistic as some form of self-defence against disappointment, particularly coming into finals ... but this week has been different, and i feel almost zen-like
to me, there's been a sense of destiny about this team, going back to that gulden/mcdonald/campbell debut game ... they weren't ready in 2022 but i never lost faith in what i've said several times in various threads: that this is the most talented swans team i've seen, and i think they're capable of not just this premiership but more to come
i'm certain i won't feel this calm on saturday, but i really do believe we're going to win this grand final ... we've been the best team across the season, and we're about to prove that
any uneasy feeling is more a case of just wanting to get on with it ...
cmon!
Me too.

i think it's more just the experience that comes with getting older
i've been through all those awful emotional rollercoasters of grand final weeks, going back to 96, when we led by four goals (from memory) late in the first half and then it all went wrong
and i know what we've all endured in 14, 16 (faaaarrrk!) and 22
and i guess we could be in for another grand final horrorshow, but i'll deal with the misery of grand final defeat if and when it happens ... but it's pointless wallowing in that mire beforehand
i empathise with everyone who is going through the very understandable anxiety of being a swans fan in grand final week ...

IMG_2146.jpeg IMG_2143.jpeg

He's already won a flag

I thought you meant from the perspective of a captain.

I'd also argue Parker having just been the sub in 2012 won't 'feel' like a proper Premiership player in much the same way as Jordon.

Not sure if this makes me feel good or makes me feel even more nervous
It has a bit of Sydney 22 vibes for Brissy. Tough games to get to the GF and players with real concerns over fitness.

Massive out for them with big O but Hipwood and Neale would be huge concerns especially if they are worse than letting on.

No way would they leave these guys out. Feel like they are committed now even if they are nervous about it.

Its A Trap GIF by CBS

I thought you meant from the perspective of a captain.

I'd also argue Parker having just been the sub in 2012 won't 'feel' like a proper Premiership player in much the same way as Jordon.
Nah I just meant from the perspective of wanting to see someone holding up the cup who has been great for us for many many years with no medal to show for it.

i think it's more just the experience that comes with getting older
i've been through all those awful emotional rollercoasters of grand final weeks, going back to 96, when we led by four goals (from memory) late in the first half and then it all went wrong
and i know what we've all endured in 14, 16 (faaaarrrk!) and 22
and i guess we could be in for another grand final horrorshow, but i'll deal with the misery of grand final defeat if and when it happens ... but it's pointless wallowing in that mire beforehand
i empathise with everyone who is going through the very understandable anxiety of being a swans fan in grand final week ...
The biggest thing that has shat me to death the last 4 grand finals (including the one we won) is the intense desperate feeling at the bounce to not be the team that falls a few goals behind - only to suffer a deficit in every single one like ground hog day.

And of all them this is probably the one we're most likely to cop a bad start in due to this year's 1st qtr form. I don't think I can hack another 3-4 goal deficit at any point in the first half FFS it's giving me anxiety.

Hmmm do we try and go white line fever bullying tactics 2014 Hawthorn style to disrupt them with all their niggles? They don’t necessarily have any antagonisers in their team apart from maybe Berry and Rayner.
?????

Zorko, Cameron, Daniher, Lohmann, Wilmott, Dunkley, Ashcroft, Answerth etc

They've got lippy smart-arses everywhere.

It has a bit of Sydney 22 vibes for Brissy. Tough games to get to the GF and players with real concerns over fitness.

Massive out for them with big O but Hipwood and Neale would be huge concerns especially if they are worse than letting on.

No way would they leave these guys out. Feel like they are committed now even if they are nervous about it.
I also feel like their early arrival and attempt to settle into Melbourne is a bit of a canary in the coalmine. In 2022 we looked like we burnt way too much nervous energy and soaked in way too much of the hype that whole week - so I think sleeping in a hotel for 3 nights prior will have them almost 'too' prepared that they end up coming out flat.

In this year's state of origin Billy Slater said that Qld prepped so hard mentally and physically for game 2 that they were already ready like a week out from the game. They proceeded to get absolutely wiped off the park.

Conversely, and I mentioned this previously, swans turned up late to that game v Collingwood 10 years ago and had to take a tram to the MCG, we proceeded to play like men possessed. Isaac the norm Smith also said he prefers to do very little in the build up, rock up late as possible, and doesn't even go out for the pre game warm up on GF day because it burns up too much mental energy.

I would not be surprised if the Lions call to come down a day early actually ends up being the factor that blows up in their face.

Absolutely, go into them hard. I couldn't care less if we have players suspended for the first couple weeks if it means we win the flag