current rnd Grand Final... St Kilda v Geelong

Interesting point s made here although I am thinking a little differently.

I believe the game will be won and lost through the battle in Geelongs fwd line.
If Johnson, Chapman and Rooke can make Goddard, Fisher and Blake play accountable and hold some fwd line pressure Geelong will win.
St. Kilda has been so great because of their ability to rebound quickly with quality ball into their fwd line, and as good as Scarlett and Taylor are, if the Saints have a heap of inside 50 chances I don't think they can stop the Saints kicking 18 goals which I think is more than Geelong will kick.

Either way, I think it's going to be a great game, bring it on!!!

Mez

They have rarely been tested this year

crap. have you watched any of our season?

we were tested by many more sides than geelong in 07 and 08

saints 09: average score 13.8/10.8
average opponent: 8.4/7.6

geelong 08: 17.2/16.4
10.0/9.3

Geelong 07: 16.9/13.9
10.5/8.2

Geelong were all conquering in 07/08 and in 09 are closer to our goals/behinds diff.

We have been behind and come back - were we not tested against the dogs last friday, the blues (pushed us all nite in round 12), north melbourne(round 11, trailed 29 pts in first qtr), geelong (round 14 blockbuster), sydney ( round one qtr time they led us 5.4 to 1.1, round 18 pushed us all the way) & brisbane (in rd 9 led midway through final term)?

We have been tested all year and have responded.

We have come back from being down and have responded.

We have led and held on for tense wins.

Geelong should have beaten the Dogs by 7-8 goals,the 14 point margin had nothing to do with the Dogs play.

This sort of thing is a bit of the white elephant in the room, not because passionate supporters like GFCMAN think it, but because I've heard similar things escaping the mouths of Geelong players recently.

After the game on Saturday, Ablett said the night had went well "except for the second quarter, when we let them back in".

On an appearance on On The Couch late in the season, Andrew Mackie was asked about Round 14, and said something similar to "We gave them a five goal start, didn't we?"

Now I know this may be attributed to a casual speaking style, but Geelong supporters would be smart if they hoped that this didn't accurately reflect the way the players were thinking.

I know modern players are focussed on what they can do, sometimes to the detriment of the only measurement that matters in the end (as the Doggies found out on Friday night), but sometimes you can be five goals down without playing poorly, and other times you can be five goals down after being forced to play poorly.

This sort of thing is a bit of the white elephant in the room, not because passionate supporters oike GFCMAN think it, but because I've heard similar things escaping the mouths of Geelong players recently.

After the game on Saturday, Ablett said the night had went well "except for the second quarter, when we let them back in".

On an appearance on On The Couch late in the season, Andrew Mackie was asked about Round 14, and said something similar to "We gave them a five goal start, didn't we?"

Now I know this may be attributed to a casual speaking style, but Geelong supporters would be smart if they hoped that this didn't accurately reflect the way the players were thinking.

I know modern players are focussed on what they can do, sometimes to the detriment of the only measurement that matters in the end (as the Doggies found out on Friday night), but sometimes you can be five goals down without playing poorly, and other times you can be five goals down after being forced to play poorly.

They were just pointing out a couple of quarters that we didn't play the way we want to and the opposition team capitalised on that.

No, the result wasn't the way you wanted.

Maybe, during those periods, Geelong was good, the other team was better.

Don't take a leaf out of the <insert generic female tennis player> booklet and say the only reason you lost is because you didn't perform. Sometimes the other team performs better, and other times the other team forces you to perform less effectively.

The Grand Final won't be purely decided on how Geelong plays. They have an opponent.

Let me state straight off the top i'm going for the Saints are really hope they win it.

BUT - i think Geelong will win it this year.

No real solid reasoning behind this just a gut feel.

Last year I got the impression that Hawthorn weren't 'happy' with their Prelim win, Clarko and Crawf i remember consistenly saying "the job isn't done". I get the feeling this year that the Saints are a bit too stoked at finally getting through a Prelim and just MAKING the GF.

Geelong on the other hand i get the feeling they have been 'once bitten, twice shy'. They seem to be going like an early 00's Brisbane this year, really peaking at the right time as they know they can't afford to rest on H&A laurels, they must win the big one.

Having said my ramblings though - Go Sainters!

Last year I got the impression that Hawthorn weren't 'happy' with their Prelim win, Clarko and Crawf i remember consistenly saying "the job isn't done". I get the feeling this year that the Saints are a bit too stoked at finally getting through a Prelim and just MAKING the GF.

I don't think you should base any other important decisions on your feelings. Ross and the boys have been of one mind this year in that it's the premiership that matters, and nothing else.

Port Adelaide looked pretty happy after the 2004 Prelim too - sometimes looks can be deceiving.

I don't think you should base any other important decisions on your feelings. Ross and the boys have been of one mind this year in that it's the premiership that matters, and nothing else.

Port Adelaide looked pretty happy after the 2004 Prelim too - sometimes looks can be deceiving.

Now it is Mr Punter who is doing some wishful thinking. A couple of fans have rolled this one out this week. I'd like to point out that Geelong 2009 is in much better shape than the banged up Lions team of 2004. Interesting how Saints fans are thinking of the one that got away to provide emotional sustanance during a trying week.

I can't speak for Cat players or other Cat fans - I don't know about you boys but I've had a gutful of losing Grand Finals. Let's just get the job done hey boys.

regards,

REB

Now it is Mr Punter who is doing some wishful thinking. A couple of fans have rolled this one out this week. I'd like to point out that Geelong 2009 is in much better shape than the banged up Lions team of 2004. Interesting how Saints fans are thinking of the one that got away to provide emotional sustanance during a trying week.

I can't speak for Cat players or other Cat fans - I don't know about you boys but I've had a gutful of losing Grand Finals. Let's just get the job done hey boys.

regards,

REB

And you don't think the Cats are thinking about that exact same thing? For the whole season we have been hearing about the Cat's 'anger' and 'hunger' and their quest for 'redemption'. I would not want to be living in Geelong if they lose!
That said I know the majority of cat fans are seriously underestimating the Saints, and that's just fine!

At least I'm thinking rather than just feeling.

While Brisbane were dinged up, it was no "drover's dog" Grand Final. As incredible as the Cats were in 2007, if there was ever a drover's dog Grand Final, it was 2007.

The point I was making is don't think the Saints are just happy to be there.

Really funny that Geelong fans call the 2008 GF the Bradbury cup, when their 2007 flag was surely the default cup, as the opposition failed to turn up!

Remember round 14 wasn't too bad an effort and didn't expose too much. I suppose Saints won't bother trying to expose any weaknesses in Geelong! I think people's opinions have been influenced strongly by Geelong's performance against a vunerable Collingwood team, which basically put up little opposition after half time. Remember that they beat Bulldogs by only 14 pts in the QF. Geelong v Bulldogs PF may have produced a very different result.

Saints only beat the Bulldogs by 7 points last week too, so what's your point? :confused:

Saints also struggled against Collingwood in slippery conditions in the qualifying final. Geelong dominated against them in similar conditions last week, and more of the same is predicted for this week.

Saints only beat the Bulldogs by 7 points last week too, so what's your point? :confused:

Saints also struggled against Collingwood in slippery conditions in the qualifying final. Geelong dominated against them in similar conditions last week, and more of the same is predicted for this week.

My point is that neither Cats or Saints were convincing against the Bulldogs. They were always going to be the threat, never Collingwood, despite the media hype

Not a huge fan of either team but I'm going for the Saints, only because they haven't won the big one in over 40 years and it would be nice to see something new. If this game is half as good as their round 14 clash it's gonna be a cracker!

My point is that neither Cats or Saints were convincing against the Bulldogs. They were always going to be the threat, never Collingwood, despite the media hype
Geelong should have beaten the Dogs by 7 or 8 goals,the 14 point margin had nothing to do with the dogs play.StKilda however were very lucky last week and should have lost to the Dogs. It's wishful thinking if you are trying to compare the two perfomances.

i would say that it would favour the cats more so than us...they have more harder bodies and a lower centre of gravity which would make them more suited to the wet..plus they play at skilled stadium which is wet and windy most of the time...riewoldt and kosi's marking ability will weaken in the wet...

It definitely favours the Cats GO CATTERS Cats by 30 points:thumbsu::)

Geelong should have beaten the Dogs by 7 or 8 goals,the 14 point margin had nothing to do with the dogs play.StKilda however were very lucky last week and should have lost to the Dogs. It's wishful thinking if you are trying to compare the two perfomances.

Shoulda, woulda, coulda ... Do you really think that if you keep repeating this often enough it will be true. No one but you believes this rubbish. Fact is Geelong beat Dogs by 14 pts, Saints beat them by 7pts. That's not a big difference. The way the game was played was different, but at the end of it the difference in score was similar. Geelong failed to put the Dogs away even once this year, Saints managed twice, once by 45 pts.

Methinks you doth protest too much.

This is a footy forum FOR FANS not a Ph.d draft.

Do I detect some 'squiggles' taking place in all those Saints ' it's been
forty three years since we won, sook sook.' fans with thumbs firmly in their mouths.:(

CATS WILL BE TOO STRONG, TOO TOUGH, TOO EXPERIENCED AND
SAINTS.........WELL ..THEY'LL ACT LIKE SAINTS DO WON'T THEY?:thumbsdown:

notice how this little board review has:
1)NOTHING about johnson being underdone (after the hip injury) and has a fanciful rumour re: BJ

and
2) is poorly written and edited "Geelong were lucky they played Port. They can’t expect the same favours from Geelong".

what rot.

That seems to describes your attitude perfectly. If you're so pedantic, you've failed to capitalise a) the start of sentences; and b) proper nouns in your post. Thanks for coming.

It's going to be a ripper on Saturday. May the best team win. :thumbsu:

current rnd Grand Final... St Kilda v Geelong