- Apr 17, 2021
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Still have nightmares over that game
Interesting free kick stats from that day - despite being 7 goals up at half time, the frees were 16 to 13 in Essendon's favour. At the end of the game it was 32-15 Essendon's way.
We got 2 free kicks in the 2nd half.
Definitely, Modra's greatest grab was against Brisbane in 1994, on Richard Champion...was way better than G Ablett's Mark (non-mark)Debatable
Modra's best grab and he didn't even need to take it as it was already going through for a goal. Shoulder ride over Martyn in the goal square.
DebatableDefinitely, Modra's greatest grab was against Brisbane in 1994, on Richard Champion...was way better than G Ablett's Mark (non-mark)
View attachment 1623185
Oh what a feeling!
Pure coincidenceAppropriate given today's announcement
Andrew Jarman blames himself for missing an easy goal too that he'd kick 99 times out of 100Yep, same here...a horrible feeling after that game.
Watched it with my best mate (who's no longer with us) and we were absolutely shattered.
I used to watch the first half on replay though (good ol' VHS), just cos we played so damn good...Modra and Hodges both playing well, Rehn's mark (and missed goal)...but a great half doesn't often win you a game
That one where kicked it high on the goal line I was behind the goals that day it actually went through the goals but on its way back down hit the back side of the post as it was spinning backwards, terribly unluckyThis one wasn't the shoulder ride one, this was a different one (same match though I believe). This is the one where he kept his feet on the landing, then kicked a point from 5cm out because he kicked it 50m up in the air and it went over the post.
Both were going to go through for a goal though.
I couldn't find a clip of the kick for the life of me, but I distinctly remember watching it and seeing him arguing that it went through then came back. Good to know he was telling the truth.That one where kicked it high on the goal line I was behind the goals that day it actually went through the goals but on its way back down hit the back side of the post as it was spinning backwards, terribly unlucky
That would have broken EssendonAndrew Jarman blames himself for missing an easy goal too that he'd kick 99 times out of 100
I posted it two pages agoI couldn't find a clip of the kick for the life of me, but I distinctly remember watching it and seeing him arguing that it went through then came back. Good to know he was telling the truth.
There was a freaky goal by Pavlich I think and the ball landed in the field of play and given a goal.I couldn't find a clip of the kick for the life of me, but I distinctly remember watching it and seeing him arguing that it went through then came back. Good to know he was telling the truth.
So you did. That'll teach me for not going back and reading the pages I missed.I posted it two pages ago
I think it was against Richmond in a 100 point win at footy park. Troy Bond couldn't believe he took it. Shoulders with no hand assistance, one grab. Amazing.Definitely, Modra's greatest grab was against Brisbane in 1994, on Richard Champion...was way better than G Ablett's Mark (non-mark)
The Tex one got some international exposure a few years back; someone tweeted it (or something) along with a pic of him with his jumper ripped off during the game and the replies were full of women from around the world saying "OMG who is that man!?".My favorite of all time I reckon.
Is Tex doing Blue Steel here?
Would Cornsey have stayed after 94 if we won that game. Somehow the "We need a Victorian" to advance so we got the coach of a side going out of business.Still have nightmares over that game
Interesting free kick stats from that day - despite being 7 goals up at half time, the frees were 16 to 13 in Essendon's favour. At the end of the game it was 32-15 Essendon's way.
We got 2 free kicks in the 2nd half.