Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
Worpel’s value is low right now. Hence why I can’t see why we’d move him on this year. He had a poor year. But even during his down form the 2 years previous he showed much more in that time than what Flanders and Bruhn have done.

It’s all about hoping we can get improvement from all the players on our list. And sticking with the ones who we can see improvement in.

A leaner Worpel should be better than most of our other mids. But honestly no one has any idea how his form will go next year. But we gain nothing by trading him.

Mitchell has shown he can play different positions. Worpel really seems lost unless he is the inside mid. And even then he has struggled. Not sure we would get much at all for him.

A team that finished 13th and he is in and out of the team.

Are the Duursma links legit? Has stagnated but he's a ripper
If we keep with car analogies like HedgeFund has so nicely introduced I'd say that Duusma's career stalled. Either Ken just doesn't know how to drive a stick or he just stalls the f**ker 😂

Richmond are looking to get both Taranto AND Hopper.
Hopper doesn't suprise me, Richmond have a good list. Why a young player would go to Geelong right now is baffling.

In 2 years , Hawkins, Smith, selwood, duncan, rohan, danger, blitz, 2e, Guthrie, Menagola, Ceglar, and Stanley will be gone or absolutely cooked. Cameron and Stewart right behind them.

They are fantastic right now but the cliff is massive.

Sent from my SM-G781B using Tapatalk

Wouldn't shock me if Clarko's 'interest' in Bruhn was in part trying to keep us honest in a trade and not threatening PSD.

Sure Bruhn might be homesick and played out of position, but he was below average in every category this year playing forward... he's not costing a first, and I really hope we keep pick 24 also.... McKenzie nailed CMAC around that mark last year.

Pick in the mid 30s seems fair to me for Bruhn given his exposed form hasn't looked like an A grade talent and we'd be hoping a move back to Victoria and more midfield minutes unlocks something. But it's no guarantee either.

We are not in a position to threaten the PSD though - we have pick 6 with two other Melbourne based clubs holding picks before us. Very much doubt we are trying that tactic.

Unless he’s just a toxic person, Stocker would be a great pick up. Tough player that has a bit of edge. If he could develop a tank reckon he’d be a really solid mid.
Yep. Stocker has his off field issues but he isn't a shit bloke. And as sophmoric as that sounds on the surface, good blokes tend to turn it around - and our group of young guys are much less inclined to shithousery and getting on gear than some other clubs.

Honorable mention: Just felt like mentioning that Box Hill is also the same, Napoli certainly goes about his work with the same "recruiting on character" mantra as Hawthorn. The Cats & Dogs (Parsons, Cunico, Greene, Porter, Cavarra) especially are such excellent role models for anyone who comes into the club and has to ply their trade in the State League. Salut.

Many people have raised TOM + 61 to pies for 42,47
24,47,50 to lions for 13 gains them 160ish points. Not sure if enough may need future swaps
Hawks take 6,13,42 to the draft may need a pick swap to get back a late pick for Lawrence if we expect a bid before pick 56 I think that’s how f/s works?
Lawrence from what I can see is more likely to be in the Rookie Draft than the National Draft, so we don't need to worry about bidding I would have thought.

Basically, he has never been settled in Sydney by all reports (and from his reaction when they drafted him). He's out of contract. They know he wants to go home. If they put their foot down he could easily head to the PSD and be picked up by North Melbourne for absolutely nothing. The Giants will want something in return for him. They just can't expect a first round pick.

A good comparison is Jye Caldwell. First round draft pick who played 11 games in 2 season at GWS. Traded to Essendon for a pick in the late 20's. Showed about as much in his 11 games as Bruhn has in his 30.

We will likely play Tanner in the best position he's suited to. That's why we are and him seem to both be interested
Personally, I think Bruhn has shown more than Caldwell when given a proper run in the midfield.

However even if they’re at similar output after 2 years, the fact Taranto and probably Hopper are on the move will mean GWS would be even keener to either re-contract Bruhn or drive a harder bargain for a trade with a club he wants to go to.

They let Caldwell go when their midfield was much deeper tha it is now.

Plus, Bruhn won’t want to walk to the PSD and end up at Adelaide would he? Once bitten……

Could you perhaps expand on your reasoning?

Why wouldn’t he earn the Giants a first round pick?

Taken at 12.

Played 30 games. Looks every bit a 200+ gamer.

Players taken higher than him include….

Will Phillips, Riley Thilthorpe, Elijah Hollands, DBG, Braeden Campbell, Archie Perkins, Zach Reid, Luke Pedlar.

None of those have played better than Bruhn at AFL level have they?

So why isn’t he worth a 1st rounder?
Giants know his value has dropped. They expect a pick later than that.

Could you perhaps expand on your reasoning?

Why wouldn’t he earn the Giants a first round pick?

Taken at 12.

Played 30 games. Looks every bit a 200+ gamer.

Players taken higher than him include….

Will Phillips, Riley Thilthorpe, Elijah Hollands, DBG, Braeden Campbell, Archie Perkins, Zach Reid, Luke Pedlar.

None of those have played better than Bruhn at AFL level have they?

So why isn’t he worth a 1st rounder?

The best comparison is Caldwell whose stats are very similar to bruhn's over 2 years. Gws played handball with essendon and walked away with pick 29 and a future second (32)
For bruhn +44 which worked to to be pick 22 for Caldwell. I think a future second gets it done and maybe swaps of later picks.

As he's delisted, he can go to any club that wants him as a FA prior to the draft.
Incredible, thought for some reason there was a chance they had to make it through draft first like when a contract is simply not agreed upon a la Jack Martin. Thanks for clearing that up

Unless he’s just a toxic person, Stocker would be a great pick up. Tough player that has a bit of edge. If he could develop a tank reckon he’d be a really solid mid.
I know Liam personally, and he’s definitely not toxic.

He’s certainly not a “yes man” but he’s a deeper thinker / worrier.

He was refreshingly open about his struggles with MH, but he is a great character.

I think the issue he had at Carlton is he’s sitting behind too many for their midfield and he’s not quick enough to play on the sharp small forwards.

I’d have him at Hawthorn in a heartbeat as I feel we can play him as our 4th/5th mid whereas he was 7th/8th at Carlton.

Hard player, good character, well worth a punt.

To be honest mate, no one actually knows.
calculating the hangover GIF

Almost every website that has anything to do with AFL has him as a FA

It’s only BF posters that have him contracted
Seems it was a definite 2 with a 3rd year option which is unlikely to be exercised.

I admit I had him pegged for 3 as that was what was reported back in 2020.

If there was a minimum games trigger / aspect to the option one would suggest the 3 games in 2022 fell well short so we can say no to a third but don’t delist him unless no club is interested (as St Kilda might be).