Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
Personally I think the club as a whole needs to own this mate, not push it onto a few individuals no longer involved.

My view is if Bowes had the same opportunity at another club, and HFC, this matters.

Different story if we're the only option available, but others will be in the mix.

The two aren't linked.

Those at the club now can inherit part of the responsibility as much as an innocent party possibly can.

But it doesn't affect our list management practices. It doesn't have to, and I don't believe it will.

The two aren't linked.

Those at the club now can inherit part of the responsibility as much as an innocent party possibly can.

But it doesn't affect our list management practices. It doesn't have to, and I don't believe it will.

It will affect how players view us right now mate.

Society views us poorly mate.

Huge 12months ahead. We will get there.

But pretending to ourselves it won't impact on recruiting this year, well, players are a representation of society.... and we rightfully stink right now.

It will affect how players view us right now mate.

Society views us poorly mate.

Huge 12months ahead. We will get there.

But pretending to ourselves it won't impact on recruiting this year, well, players are a representation of society.... and we rightfully stink right now.

It (unfairly) impacts North Melbourne and Brisbane more so than us.

I am telling you in complete honesty right now, if I was about to nominate St.Kilda as my club of choice and the identical situation broke in the news yesterday, it wouldn't change my mind whatsoever. Humans are capable of assessing difficult scenarios. I'd be surprised if a player changed their mind on us.

Personally I think the club as a whole needs to own this mate, not push it onto a few individuals no longer involved.

My view is if Bowes had the same opportunity at another club, and HFC, this matters.

Different story if we're the only option available, but others will be in the mix.
Not sure how much more owning it you can do, we commissioned the investigation, once it was known self-reported it to the AFL? We shouldn't be further punishing ourselves over things that occurred 10 years ago and involving people who are no longer here. I think what we have done is already owning it..

Tops, question for you. Do you know if this salary dump the afl are allowing is limited to players having to move club or can teams simply pay other players wages for draft picks? For example, Hawks paying 2 years of Grundys salary at the Pies (allowing them to keep him) for there 1st?
I am not sure, but I will ask.

I agree here, but my understanding is Bowes hasn't picked us?

Four clubs are courting him. We have plenty to overcome now. Hope you're right and we do get him and pick 7 but.

I'm confident Amon and Meek arrive.

Bowes was just an example.

I'm just not convinced that we are blacklisted for the majority of trade period due to yesterdays unfortunate revelations.

It's a huge win if we get Amon, Meek, Bowes and pick 7.

How you going mate? You seem to have a finger on the pulse of a few things, so do you know if there’s been any talking between us and Bowes?
Unfortunately all my intel is from a few other clubs , so unless we chat to them I dont have much to add 🙂

No idea with this, but this is something I think we would be very proactive in trying to make happen .

We definitely are.

But more to come as it will.

We dont get to push this onto three individuals no longer at the club soley.

No argument here but the sad reality is that the AFL machine will continue to roll.

We can speculate how the club and others not directly involved will be impacted.

But unless there is some AFL style justice delivered where the club is sanctioned I would like to remain optimistic in a pure football sense.

To be clear, I’m not trying to play this down. But we have seen enough in recent times to suggest that it’s near impossible to predict the fall out.

For me, this trade/draft period is THE one.

More than any other period of recent times, and I suspect more than a few of the next ones, this one can really set us up our next period of sustained success.

We tried last year but were trying to play a different game to what the environment allowed. But this year, there seems the potential to bring in a serious array of undervalued players AND picks.

The salary cap change is huge for us who've been spruiking significant cap space for years now. Usually when a rule is tweaked like this there's one or two clubs that exploit it the best. I desperately want us to be one of those.

Some have been great at getting involved in exploiting those wanting to futures trade and other exploring the F/S loopholes like the Swans, but not even half the comp would probably be able to capitalise on teams wanting to dump salary this off-season.

We NEED to be knee deep in it this year.

If GC are valuing cap space at pick 7 ish or therabouts, this might pave the way for a team like us to pick up someone like Bowes, Flanders, Brodie, etc for a hugely lopsided deal. Obviously the cap space balances it out between teams, but as supporters this could be hugely exciting.

This year more than any I would really love to feel like we are making things happen - not just attempting to, but actually sealing deals, making moves and being at the forefront of new ideas and rules. I've always felt we were known for this during the threepeat, but have been severely lacking over the last 5-7 years.

Bring it on!

Owning is also accepting what's ahead mate.

Not absolving the club today. It's an easy cop-out to push all this onto three individuals.

Law suits that may come certainly won't be. This is a HFC issue. It's on our watch. It's governance.
I came here to read trade threads. What I will say is everyone has the right to natural justice and the presumption of innocence. Lots of people going off half cocked when nothings been thoroughly investigated or proved.
Back to the thread.

Sounds too good to be true
How desperate are they to clear the supposed $700k Bowes is on? They don't need Pick 7, but they do need to not lose King, Anderson, Rowell etc.

If we don't get a sweet deal from them, another club will.

Player and clubs both have to agree to a trade, we can’t trade with GCS without his consent.
Yep. First battle to win is to win over the player. Second part of battle is coming to terms with the Suns on a trade. Reckon where in a small group of maybe 3 clubs that could seriously afford to take Bowes on without moving another player on.

A bit too much IMO they will want future picks given they have up to 4 academy picks in 2023 future second should be enough with later swaps if needed

Agreed - they are actively seeking to get high $$$ off their books due to salary cap pressure - so you’d think you’d start at a 2nd rounder.

Through other trades though, given the reported depth of next years draft - I’d love if we could pick up a couple of future 2nds

We simply have to get in this deal i am so sick of watching other clubs benefit from the Suns incompetent list management, it staggers me that this is even possible.
It’s kind of got me thinking if the Suns still have bad blood with us over the JOM trade. Reckon the Scrim trade would’ve left a bad taste in their mouths too.