Autopsy Hawthorn v Geelong - opposition supporters coming to troll will be carded

It's really disappointing and sad to see some of the reactions from supporters across social media to the start of our season

We've just experienced one of the most successful periods in AFL history and Enjoyed moments that very few supporters of other clubs will ever get to experience and yes I know that was so yesterday but with that sustained success has to come the let down and to have supporters go looking for clarko's sacking and to bad mouth players that have played their hearts out for this club is not just sad but more than that it's down right embarrassing.

Some of you need to walk away from your computers for a while and when you come back try and look for positives and be constructive in your posting rather than destructive

Now come at me

I've seen a few comments on social media saying things like "I've followed this club for 9 years and now this rubbish". Sums it up.

Boy Clarko looked pretty distressed in the presser. He really looks like he needs support around him. Chin up lad !!
I hope the trading season hasnt fractured the group, but its got to have had some effect.
I think theres still some great players in this team , but were still missing depth in the midfield and defence. Thatll take a few years to address, and hopefully by that time , guys like Sicily , obrien, jom, brand , etc will be far more accomplished and ready to lead the next wave.

But until then , weve got a couple of down years coming. Gotta deal with it .
Finally someone has hit the nail on the head, the trading season HAS fractured the group. There is no enthusiasm

As much as it might have made practical long term sense the trading out of Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis has destroyed the spirit of the club, Clarksons has made a huge error, he has looked at the tangibles and ignored the intangibles . He won't be able to restore the spirit once it's broken it's broken. It's only early but he should leave at the end of the season. He has been in the job 12 plus years which is a lifetime in this business.
I couldn't disagree more. Clarko if anything is and has reinforced and enhanced the Hawthorn spirit. Flags Flags Flags. Treat people with respect not kid gloves while always aiming for the top. Clarko's the man for the job, more now than ever.

As much as it might have made practical long term sense the trading out of Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis has destroyed the spirit of the club, Clarksons has made a huge error, he has looked at the tangibles and ignored the intangibles . He won't be able to restore the spirit once it's broken it's broken. It's only early but he should leave at the end of the season. He has been in the job 12 plus years which is a lifetime in this business.
It's really disappointing and sad to see some of the reactions from supporters across social media to the start of our season

We've just experienced one of the most successful periods in AFL history and Enjoyed moments that very few supporters of other clubs will ever get to experience and yes I know that was so yesterday but with that sustained success has to come the let down and to have supporters go looking for clarko's sacking and to bad mouth players that have played their hearts out for this club is not just sad but more than that it's down right embarrassing.

Some of you need to walk away from your computers for a while and when you come back try and look for positives and be constructive in your posting rather than destructive

Now come at me

Clearly Realhawk doesn't agree haha

At the risk of being eviscerated, my view is that our excellent assistant coaching team has been whittled down over time and is no longer functioning.

Apart from Ratten, who I think is really good, the assortment of ex-Demon coaches plus DC does not seem to be working. Losing Fages is also a huge blow.

The constant theme on our board is "how have these great players gone backwards or forgotten their skills" ?

I think it's happening because they don't understand the game plan or they don't have faith in their teammates or coaches.

That's a coaching problem.

A "full rebuild" is what Carlton are doing and what Melbourne and St Kilda have done.

None of those clubs have won a flag in the last 20 years. The most recent flag by that bunch was won due to Salary cap cheating. Carlton have been continuously rebuilding , and this is not Melbourne or St Kilda's first full rebuild in recent times. In the mean time, we've won 4 more flags under our current coach. I wouldn't be looking to any of those 3 clubs for a successful model of how to build towards a premiership.

I'm a supporter. I come here to talk to supporters. You are just a sook who wants to take his bad mood out on everyone else. Please know there is help out there if you need it. Own your emotions and do something about them.
A 'like' isn't enough for this post...

I think really breaking the game down to the absolute basics will help these guys, footy can be to structured these days, almost like coaches are trying to be the next one to make some genius tacticial change. Maybe, just maybe allowing the boys to play on instinct a bit might release the valve? So many times you see our guys trying to do what they're supposed to as instructed by the coaches and it looks so unnatural.

I'd love to see a little change in our approach, give the game back to the players, let them express themselves. At the moment we look a rabble whatever the game plan is.

The AFL have been trying to orchestrate this for a decade, now they are finally laughing, and showing their true colors.

No they haven't. The AFL have nothing against Hawthorn at all. The AFL likes parity so would be loving the parity but to suggest they have "orchestrating this for a decade" is immature. There is no conspiracy theory - we have had a fantastic run and we are losing because this is what happens in a salary cap league unless you're Tom Brady and the Pats. People are cheering because they love an underdog and hate seeing the same team dominate- fair play

At the moment I cant see how things will get better both this season and for next year.
A few thoughts, for us to improve this year and possibly win a few games we need all of our players to have a real crack and not give up when things get hard like todays 4th quarter, I think a few things may need to change in our game plan. Our premiership winning game plan was built around team kicking skills and picking apart zone defenses. Last year we lost Mitchell, Lewis and Hill 3 of our best disposals by foot, we brought in some talent no doubt but their foot skills don't rival what we have lost.
Today we turned the ball over too many times trying to come out of backline, We can't expect to have results like we have in the past with the kicking skills we've lost from our club a few things must change or we will finish last or bottom 2-3. Which wouldn't bother me so much but we traded our first round draft pick for next year, so unless we can bring in some young FA or someone through the pre-season draft (Fyfe/Martin and J.Kelly) we will have less talent on our list next year than this year. Factor in retirements at least 2 of Gibbo, Burgoyne, Hodge will be gone (if Hodge can keep his form up might go again and I think we need his leadership).
Its possible that the Mitchell, Lewis trades have hurt our team culture and bringing in guys like Vickery into a struggling team on big money isn't going to help as is losing our CEO on the eve of the season and our footy ops manager and many quality assistant coaches over the last few years.
Yes we have had great recent successes but we aren't a great team because we accept poor performances. Hopefully we can return to the winners circle sooner rather than later.

Really disappointing lack of effort towards the end. Hopefully players are selected on form and not name but at the same time we can't over-react as that will just lead to less cohesion. There were lots of poor players today so I'd like to see those who at least had a crack get another game but I reckon a senior player should be dropped, to send a message to the group. Shiels springs to mind. In past years leaders have been dropped (though sometimes recalled as a late in), which shows performance is more important than reputation. I understand that some players have credits in the bank but unpopular decisions will have to be made.

Silver lining? We'll see who the real supporters are now as they will be the ones who continue to support the team through the potentially lean years to come.

8 minutes left in the third and we were on top, disgraceful effort to drop their head like that.

Yeah more or less the most disappointing thing for me.

Clearly weren't playing well in the first half but the Cats really aren't a great team either and are currently really flattered with their ladder position. Despite being outplayed and killing ourselves with awful turnovers, we were having a go at least this week and then in the 3rd we really cranked it up a notch. With 5-10 to go before 3/4 time the next goal would have put us within 10 points and we were basically all over them at stage. Had a real sniff of victory. Unfortunately our inability to do anything dangerous going forward and thus not apply any scoreboard pressure bit us on the ass and the Cats kicked the last 3 to win the quarter they'd be pretty well beaten in. After the 3/4 time break it was just floodgates open time. So disappointing.

Liked: Blake Hardwick's kicking and penetration going I50. Didn't do it much but the 2 he did were close to our most damaging looking I50s for the year. Clarko and players..... go forward with purpose and apply pressure. Hardwick showed the template. Keep him in.

make no mistake that was as good as a 20 goal drubbing. Was at the game and simply stumped for answers. Just dont remember a game we've been as an inempt. Total failure across the board.

I think it's happening because they don't understand the game plan or they don't have faith in their teammates or coaches.

That's a coaching problem.

Maybe, just maybe allowing the boys to play on instinct a bit might release the valve? So many times you see our guys trying to do what they're supposed to as instructed by the coaches

Totally agree on these points.

The assistants we've got now pale into significance compared to the others now coaching around the league. I think Ratten has the respect of Clarkson and the playing group, and needs to move into Fagan's role. The others need to be replaced with new talent at years end, likely starting with Newman after good signs for BH on Friday.

Bcos of them, the message and game plan isn't getting through so I'd like to see periods of 1-on-1 across the ground more often until it does. Let's the boys be accountable and more instinctive and (literally) run them selves into form.

If we can get the players confidence back up, in turn the skills we know we have will return and the game plan (possibly revised over the next few weeks) should start to fall into place too.

Presto! Think I just solved all our problems

Been an interesting month of footy for us Hawks supporters. It's a shame so many are so quick to stomp their feet and get angry about what is going on. What we have been through in the last ten few years is the most successful period in the club's history and I think many have forgot the work and struggles we endured before we reached this period.

Back the boys in, attend the games and show your support. Things are tough at the moment but the transition we are going through is going to be enjoyable in its own way. It's been a while since we've really sat back and watched a group of young players find their feet and become the Hawks next gun players. Embrace the challenge, support the team and never lose hope. Times were tough in 04-05 but the rewards of the work of the entire club from that time got us to where we are today, 4 flags and more salt from opposition than all the oceans combined. Every loss being celebrated shows you just how much jealousy other clubs have towards our club and the amount of success we've had.

On Clarko, his presser pretty much said what a lot of us are thinking. He knows what's going on and he knows how much work is needed. Do we need a physical moment to really lift us from this slump? Do we just need to wait for the confidence to return? Hard to say and this is what he is going to have to work to figure out and then find a way to resolve.

Buckle up, and don't get disheartened. The joy this club brought us in the past few years deserves to be repaid and as members and supporters we need to get behind the team and do what we can to try and lift the team.

Langford goes at 71% (better than a certain vice captain) and plays like a bull yet people still call for his head.

Unbelievable. The kid tried his guts out today. If you want to torch people on disposal look at Cyril, Shiels or Mitchell who had 8 clangers first!

Langford earned his pay today.

Did Langers even play? He did nothing. Shiels has been infinitely better than Langers all year....without having been particularly good himself.

A lot of our supporters have a really weird love affair with Langers I don't get.

Didn't help you last year.
Probably need to be a half decent side & to beat a decent contender to start gobbing off about flags
pretty sure he just meant every year Richmond would beat Hawks in the home and away season, we would win the flag.. and that was their glory for the season, beating the premiers.. now if we beat them during home and away will it be roles reversed haha

Autopsy Hawthorn v Geelong - opposition supporters coming to troll will be carded