Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 3

So you descend into the gutter by commenting on appearance. What a low life.

Putting to one side your ignorance relating to the pandemic, do you feel being forced to wear a seat belt is also an infringement of your civil liberties?

It's a bit rich to cry about Andrews copping the odd remark about his appearance when it's common knowledge that Disaster Dan is a bully par excellence himself. He has repeatedly mocked others for being overweight and about their height as evidenced by the article above. Which to be honest doesn't surprise me in the least as he gives off that vibe of having been an awkward dork in his younger years and likely to have been teased relentlessly. And is now relishing dishing out what he copped in that time with interest due to position he currently holds which hopefully for Victorian's sake won't be for much longer.

It's not debatable at all.

1990's Melbourne was a shithole. IIRC you were in year 5 in 1998, so frankly you have no idea what you are talking about as you are too young to both remember or contextualise your surroudings.

2020 pre-Covid Melbourne was a world class city. What happens next remains to be seen, both here and everywhere else.

& to understand Vic in the 90s you'd be well advised to see where it was in the 80s, aka a rust bucket State.

Before the election in November 2014 Disaster Dan promised on numerous occasions that not only would he rip up that contract but that the Victorian tax payer would not pay a single cent

That the Libs should not have signed the contract is correct AS IS the failure of Labors claim they could tear it up at no cost.

Fair dinkum, how hard is that?

Someone briefed the Minister .... snafu ..... who other than Health would have been involved.
In Gils words, the optics.

In defence of NSW they are the only State living with Covid & I give them heaps of credit for leading the way compared to the rest of the States obsessed with zeros. Thats not a criticism of Vic who have had a 2nd wave, its the rest of the States bludging on the taxpayers Jobkeeper/Job seeker payments.

again - its a case that was detected in SA, and its only hours old. Also its not like they can visit the person either (they are in SA), so they would need to get the sa contact info first.

on nsw, so what? qld have close to elimination. they dont want to "live with it" like us and NSW will be. Thats the whole point of their 28 days of no unknowns, they want close to elimination for community transmission.

That the Libs should not have signed the contract is correct AS IS the failure of Labors claim they could tear it up at no cost.

didnt they do a shuffle (switched the obligation to another project)?

i never heard the details, but i remember hearing some goss around it from industry peeps during tender discussions for one of the transport projects

Going ahead with a project that brought no benefit to Labor but helped add much needed infrastructure to Melbourne was preferable to flushing more than a billion dollars down the drain. It brought tears to my eyes for days that decision.

In other words OUT OF THE 2 LIES I'd much prefer he lied about NOT RIPPING the contract than that it would NOT COST A CENT, how hard is that?

Going ahead with a project that brought no benefit to Labor but helped add much needed infrastructure to Melbourne was preferable to flushing more than a billion dollars down the drain. It brought tears to my eyes for days that decision.

In other words OUT OF THE 2 LIES I'd much prefer he lied about NOT RIPPING the contract than that it would NOT COST A CENT, how hard is that?

You know, except for the billions of dollars it was forecast to lose on traffic projections.

again - its a case that was detected in SA, and its only hours old. Also its not like they can visit the person either (they are in SA), so they would need to get the sa contact info first.

on nsw, so what? qld have close to elimination. they dont want to "live with it" like us and NSW will be. Thats the whole point of their 28 days of no unknowns, they want close to elimination for community transmission.

Guess I'm not across elimination, suppression is the best we can do with Aussies returning from overseas & shipping with the rest of the world. That said I support Vics policy going forward.

As for the DHHS its time they were the subject of closer scrutny, they are the professionals arent they?

It's not debatable at all.

1990's Melbourne was a shithole. IIRC you were in year 5 in 1998, so frankly you have no idea what you are talking about as you are too young to both remember or contextualise your surroudings.

2020 pre-Covid Melbourne was a world class city. What happens next remains to be seen, both here and everywhere else.

Melbourne was a better place at the end of the 1990s than it was at the start of it.

Guess I'm not across elimination, suppression is the best we can do with Aussies returning from overseas & shipping with the rest of the world. That said I support Vics policy going forward.

As for the DHHS its time they were the subject of closer scrutny, they are the professionals arent they?

they have an inquiry that had them on the front page for months. not sure how more scrutiny you want them to have

Got any shares in Transurban:
They paid dividends too.
Cause they own citylink, pretty much the only exception and the reason I wrote almost all instead of all. Care to quote for any other toll roads Aus wide?

The press scrutiny was on the political, not the DHHS administration (my take).

Do we know if the DHHS chief is still reporting to the Premier?

no idea. with foley in place i assumed normal reporting resumed

and trust me, dhhs is under massive scrutiny

Cause they own citylink, pretty much the only exception and the reason I wrote almost all instead of all. Care to quote for any other toll roads Aus wide?

I'm into Transurban* more than toll roads so no for Aus & me - got a link?

*They lost their CFO recently, he was a BIG plus, now a BIG loss.

Before the election in November 2014 Disaster Dan promised on numerous occasions that not only would he rip up that contract but that the Victorian tax payer would not pay a single cent! Along with claiming his government would be the most transparent EVAAAAAAHHH!!111

Disaster Dan clearly relies on his constituents having short term memories and not holding him to account for the power tripping Revenge of the Nerds full of sh*t corrupt turd he is.

That $1.1 billion whopper of furphy on his first day in office has set the tone for the type of government he would lead, and it has only got worse over time becoming more brazen in its corruption (in conjunction with the dirty VicPol who scratch each other's backs whenever their respective scandals arise) and contempt for Victorians, the people he's supposed to represent and have the best interest for.

Truth is Disaster Dan discarded that contract because he would have to pour more billions into that project, money that would to go parties that are not aligned with the Labor party and therefore of no tangible political benefit to him as it would not help further his tenure as Premier.

Disaster Dan sees taxpayer money through the narrow prism of how it can advance his political career as first, second and third priority. He's in my opinion the worst political animal I've ever witnessed in Australian politics and cannot wait to see the back of him and finally able to breathe a sigh of relief.
Side letter. Is that You Tim Smith? You look like an ugly thumb.

The Libs signing the contract was fact not a lie.

Got tangled up with all the negatives. Andrews was promising to rip up the contract and not pay a cent for it, 2 things that were connected. It would have been preferable IMO that he'd fulfill the contract (and have something to show for Victorian's money) and lied about not paying a cent than what he ultimately chose.

That road is going to built regardless as the houses and land bought for that project are in limbo, with no one interested in purchasing properties that could in the future be subject to government re-possession again.

Tasmania to open borders to Victoria.

Public Health director Mark Veitch praised the response of the Victorian Government, its public health agencies and the community on containing the state's coronavirus outbreak.

"Victoria has actually achieved something extraordinary in bringing their outbreak of coronavirus under control," he said.

"[They've] achieved something few places in the world have managed during this pandemic."

And, lo and behold, a prominent Liberal telling it as it is. Premier Peter Gutwein said:

"Today I want to recognise the efforts of all Victorians to bring their situation with COVID-19 under control. It's a truly outstanding effort."

It's a bit rich to cry about Andrews copping the odd remark about his appearance when it's common knowledge that Disaster Dan is a bully par excellence himself. He has repeatedly mocked others for being overweight and about their height as evidenced by the article above. Which to be honest doesn't surprise me in the least as he gives off that vibe of having been an awkward dork in his younger years and likely to have been teased relentlessly. And is now relishing dishing out what he copped in that time with interest due to position he currently holds which hopefully for Victorian's sake won't be for much longer.

Had you been to parliament as often as I have you’d know that sort of thing occurs at almost every sitting. Particularly at Question Time. Dan has received much, much worse in the parliament only recently and in the social media from low life flogs like Finn. That isn’t to excuse it and he’s apologised.

Added to which he and his family have received death threats. Had demos outside his home. And his electorate office attacked more than once.

The sustained abuse he’s received while attempting to fix this massive problem makes your news report so silly it really doesn’t warrant a response.

Produce evidence he’s bully in general life. I’ve had dealings with him relating to some legislation I had an interest in and found him genial at all times.

Tasmania to open borders to Victoria.

So, six months of draconian lockdown later, Victoria can finally get back to the situation to before Daniel Andrew's government ****ed up hotel quarantine.

Over 800 people have died, thousands of businesses have disappeared, hundreds of thousands of people are unemployed.

Andrews avoided repeated questions at his press conferences by deferring to the inquiry - which was supposedly to get to the truth. Then at the inquiry, Andrews, his ministers and all his public servants all denied any knowledge of how crucial decisions were made.

Andrews not only was responsible for the biggest public policy failure in Australia's history but he has tried to cover it up.