Strategy Jason Horne-Francis: North trade him to Port for massive unders

Easy, it’s pronounced

You talk about Port more than any club, including "your own".

You aren't fooling anyone
I’m happy to DM my membership, which means I’m even wiling to give you my identity in confidence. More than happy to. I talk a lot about Port because I have a mate who is very well connected to the club. Sanders hates it. But it’s true.

Eh? My club? What on earth are you talking about? Would you like me to DM my Crows membership? Or are you just another one on here who can’t handle when other Crows fans have differing opinion or bad views on the club. I’m very outspoken about how bad our list is - not just because I take the time to analyse the club and the footy it produces at all levels, but because I genuinely give a damn about this club. Full stop.

I dont care about any of the port stuff, but I am interested in the two bolded bits above.
So with by far our most inexperienced list in ages, we are off to our best start ever in the SANFL. How do you then conclude our list is bad? Senior players must be really, really bad!

Take this with a grain salt as I don’t think he will leave North this year. The son of a good mate of mine - who is a mad Port fan - went to high school with JHF and recently caught up with him. Was surprised to be hear from JHF that he is very keen to come back and play for Crows.
I trust the guy who told me the story and circumstances around it but it is a hearsay story.

As I said I don’t believe North will allow him to leave and will do everything in their power to keep him - and what would the price be?

But does give me some optimism that if he comes back we are at least in the fight

Its Happening The Office GIF by NBC

Spitballing here, the offer we put to north, could that have been a long game offer?. Ie north were never going to accept it last year as they were wedded to him, but our offer was more to JHF than north in so far as he could see just how much we want him at our club. Now if he is thinking life sucks at north and he would feel better about things being back here with family..maybe the club have got a strong feel on him re family ties, that offer might pay dividends sooner rather than later if he asks to leave as we might end up in the box seat to then land him. We wont know how the cards will fall for a while but it would be great if it happened to end up along those lines

I dont care about any of the port stuff, but I am interested in the two bolded bits above.
So with by far our most inexperienced list in ages, we are off to our best start ever in the SANFL. How do you then conclude our list is bad? Senior players must be really, really bad!

Great question. I’ll answer it best I can by firstly saying that the SANFL win-loss record is a false economy. There are a lot of factors that affect the win column at that level, including the state of the comp, which I feel has dropped off, and the make up of the list around the younger listed players. I simply look at the individual performance/development of the player.

The most damning part of all this is that the players we have selected (many with higher draft picks) cannot break into an AFL team that is screaming for more talent. That Mcasey, Worrell and Pedlar, as examples, are languishing says so much. There are some potential exceptions (Cook and perhaps Parnell and Taylor) who have obvious talent. But then there’s Newchurch, Borlase, Davis, Gollant, Berg the list goes on players who simply are not going to take this list forward to a flag.

Even worse is the state our top 25 players — carried by a bunch of older blokes who wont be around at our next tilt and mostly made up of blokes who try hard (sholl, Jones, McHenry, Hamill, Mcpherson, Rowe, Hately) but don’t have the class and talent to take us beyond mid table.

There are only a handful of players that fill me with genuine confidence: Rachele, Cook(love him), Thilly, Butts, Doedee, Dawson and Soligo. That’s it. To me, it says the rebuild hasn’t even started yet.

And for the record, if we are starting a rebuild with 7 players, I’d rather North’s list than ours.

That’s how I see it. But opinions are like a**holes and all that.

Eh? My club? What on earth are you talking about? Would you like me to DM my Crows membership? Or are you just another one on here who can’t handle when other Crows fans have differing opinion or bad views on the club. I’m very outspoken about how bad our list is - not just because I take the time to analyse the club and the footy it produces at all levels, but because I genuinely give a damn about this club. Full stop.
I knew it ;), just like I detected Elite Crow's alias account. Basic logic knowledge to go with my basic football knowledge.

who knows.. maybe the rumours that some powa players aren’t happy at port, because of the way the disgusting feral supporters have acted towards them in the past 12 months, are true..

There was whispers that this is part of the reason Amon is exploring other options.. and we know that, through his mummy, Rozee wasnt happy at all with the treatment after the PF loss..

still.. really.. who would be happy being spat on and abused by a pack of rotten teeth’d, uncouth bogan flogs as you walk off the ground and down the race…

maybe word has got around all the AFL players, which it would as they all talk to each other, that playing for port isnt this highly glamorous and wonderful experience that the club likes to sell it all as..

maybe Jason has been talking to Cooky, who he’s apparently good mates with and likes the sound of the crows environment instead.

Can confirm JHF thinks no less of Crows than he does Port. His dad in law is not exactly welcomed with open arms at that club either.

I think the issue is which club is going to be competitive and have success sooner. Despite having some key players near the end of their careers I don't think Port will bottom out. Hinkley going will improve things.

Why do we assume that he will go back to SA

He grew up a massive Freo fan, maybe he will end up at Fremantle

On CPH2211 using BigFooty.com mobile app
I thought homesickness/family was a driving factor behind the speculation.

If thats the case then I'm not sure an effective solution would be to ask for a trade away from a city that's a 1 hour flight away, to a city that's a 4 hour flight away.

I thought homesickness/family was a driving factor behind the speculation.

If thats the case then I'm not sure an effective solution would be to ask for a trade away from a city that's a 1 hour flight away, to a city that's a 4 hour flight away.

I am just waiting for Richmond to make him forget all about homesickness. Especially if Dusty goes.

For all the rule experts out there is there anything stopping north from trading Horne prior to his two year contract being up? If this is kosher and north feel he will definitely leave end of 2023 why wouldn't they look to move him this year. Hopefully we end up with pick 3 this year and pick 3 for Horne could be a win win for both clubs. That's gives north pick 2 and pick 3 which they could target the best KPF and mid. The other option is that they keep Horne and he leaves end of 2023 to port for pick 12 and some player they want to offload.

Strategy Jason Horne-Francis: North trade him to Port for massive unders