Josh Gibson "walks out" on the club - Wants to go to Hawthorn

Re: Kangaroos Player "walks out" on the club

Yes, this goes without saying. But it also means that North are not holding all the aces and can play hardball like Carlton were able to with Thornton and their PSD pick. There is a greater leverage on North to get a fair deal done.

Out of interest, for all the whackers out ther who think Gibson is worth pick 9, here are picks 9-13 from previous drafts:

2008 - Jack Ziebell, Phil Davis, Steele Sidebottom, Lewis Johnston, Tom Lynch
2007 - Ben McEvoy, Patrick Dangerfield, Patrick Veszpremi, Cyril Rioli, Brad Ebert
2006 - David Armitage, Nathan Brown, Andrejs Everitt, James Frawley, Jack Riewoldt
2005 - Mitchell Clark, Marcus Drum, Shaun Higgins, Nathan Jones, Shannon Hurn
2004 - Jordan Russell, Chris Egan, Adam Thomson, Danny Meyer, Matthew Bate
2003 - David Trotter, Ryley Dunn, Beau Waters, Ryan Murphy, Brent Stanton
2002 - Hamish McIntosh, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Jay Schulz, Byron Schammer
2001 - Luke Molan, Sam Power, Richard Cole, Brent Reilly, Nick Dal Santo
2000 - Kayne Pettifer, Jordan McMahon, Trent Sporn, Shaun Burgoyne, Ashley McGrath
1999 - Caydn Beetham, Luke McPharlin, Darren Glass, Paul Koulouriotis, Robert Murphy
1998 - Mark McVeigh, Brandon Hill, Lenny Hayes, Adam Ramanauskas, Chris Lamb
1997 - Chad Cornes, Shane O'Bree, Jason Saddington, Jaxon Crabb, Callum Chambers
1996 - Mark Harwood, Nathan Brown, Brent Grgic, Heath Black, Tom Gilligan

Not sure that that list strengthens the case that Gibson isn't worth pick 9. If you look at the past 4 years you might conclude that, but some of those players are yet to be tested at AFL level and could yet turn out to be duds.

If you look at earlier years

2004 - probably just Bate is more valuable than Gibson. Russell a little behind. The rest relative (or absolute) duds.

2003 - Stanton and Waters are good players (though Waters has been unproductive for two seasons due to injury). The rest duds.

2002 - Two out of the five are very ordinary players and of the other three, only McIntosh is close to "elite"

2001 - Dal Santo is a super player, Reilly a solid one and Power a battler. The other two are duds.

So looking at years where we actually can tell how good the players might become, your chances of picking up a very good player with pick 9-13 appear less than picking up a complete and utter dud (acknowledging some are duds due to injury - but that will happen).

For a club that should be in its prime (ie still the reigning premier) but suffered through lack of depth in defensive posts, picking up an accomplished, athletic player who fills a need and is ready to go straight away over a slim chance of a very good player (in a few years) and a high chance of a dud should be a no-brainer.

If the Swans were in the Hawks position and refused to use that pick on a quality player who addressed a need, I'd be fuming.

FFS here we go again. Defender of some quality, not elite but very good, not worth a first round pick. :rolleyes:

It's hard enough trying to find a player via the draft let alone one that can be very versatile and is in the prime of his career.

He's definitely worth Pick 9 from the Hawks.

3rd round pick at best, if it's Wells.

Would hardly surprised. He's got worse every year since his second. North fans cannot stand him and he is terribly inconsistent

How many Ford pills did you swallow to spew up that shite?

His sister almost got married to Brian Lara. Lara used to come over to their house for dinner all the time when they toured. They separated because he wanted her to move to the WI. She is a supermodel or something.

Although you always want kids, the Hawks are the youngest list and lost one of there oldest players and another mature player this year, so if they were to draft a couple of mature aged, ready made players, wouldn't be a huge problem. Sydney and Port have older lists and might not be able to justify passing on the kids.

So, when your talking of the Roos playing hard ball, remember Gibo could go into the National Draft or Preseason Draft.

Just a thought.

this is a myth

so hence this means he is worth pick 25 at most...........

Yet apparentley 800k to you. Hmmmmm.

I'm far to busy with this Libyan bastard who won't do the right thing and hurry up and cark it, so I'll just quickly jot it all down here.

Due to past trading history between Hawthorn and Noth, this story has more spice has than it is worth.

As Hawthorn supporters of all people should know after their failed O'Keefe and Thornton bids, there is a hell of a long way to go in this saga before the possibility of Gibbo actually turning up in a Hawthorn jumper even becomes remote.

The facts are for that to happen Hawthorn will have to deal with North and on favourable terms. ASSUMING this report is true, they've put their cards on the table first.

The notion that Gibbo can simply waltz into the PSD and fall all the way to Hawthorn is laughable. A trade will have to happen.

For mine, if Gibbo does want to go and can manage to con the Hawks out of 800k over the 3 years then I'll drive him down to the ferry to Tassie myself and we'll have a good bloody laugh on the way.

I like Gibbo, and he's been a good servant of the club and if he ends up re-signing (in reality the most likely scenario), then I'll happily have him back.

Bur our defence over the long term doesn't include Gibbo (as shown this year) and neither does our midfield. Bloke isn't exactly young any more either.

If we get pick 25 off Hawthorn and Gibbo gets 800k off them, then the winners in this deal have been North and Gibbo.

I suspect Hawthorn are making the mistake that just because Gibbo tends to play well against Buddy - albeit with a lot of help from his mates and Buddy's shit kicking - he'll play well against everyone.

For some context, Gibbo was pushed out of the backline this season by two blokes frm the Geelong seconds and the SANFL. Both have improved markedly and are now better players than Gibbo (and younger too) but it gives you an idea.

If Hawthorn honestly think Gibbo is the missing link that will propel them back to premiership contention then geez, the wheels really have come off down as Tasvegas.

(EDITED TO ADD - I'm just glad it wasn't Jesse Smith)

Who cares? Average player anyway.

He can join those pretty boys.

That's my2cents.

6102008101926AM_oh.jpg

Atleast he's joining our "pretty boys" who can win premierships. Glad Gibson has thought it over, chasing the dream of a premiership rather than playing for a mediocre team.

Can't understand what some of you North fans are on about, 800K over 3 years isn't much cash. You guys are just like Richmond supporters, abusing your own.

I'm far to busy with this Libyan bastard who won't do the right thing and hurry up and cark it, so I'll just quickly jot it all down here.

Due to past trading history between Hawthorn and Noth, this story has more spice has than it is worth.

As Hawthorn supporters of all people should know after their failed O'Keefe and Thornton bids, there is a hell of a long way to go in this saga before the possibility of Gibbo actually turning up in a Hawthorn jumper even becomes remote.

The facts are for that to happen Hawthorn will have to deal with North and on favourable terms. ASSUMING this report is true, they've put their cards on the table first.

The notion that Gibbo can simply waltz into the PSD and fall all the way to Hawthorn is laughable. A trade will have to happen.

For mine, if Gibbo does want to go and can manage to con the Hawks out of 800k over the 3 years then I'll drive him down to the ferry to Tassie myself and we'll have a good bloody laugh on the way.

I like Gibbo, and he's been a good servant of the club and if he ends up re-signing (in reality the most likely scenario), then I'll happily have him back.

Bur our defence over the long term doesn't include Gibbo (as shown this year) and neither does our midfield. Bloke isn't exactly young any more either.

If we get pick 25 off Hawthorn and Gibbo gets 800k off them, then the winners in this deal have been North and Gibbo.

I suspect Hawthorn are making the mistake that just because Gibbo tends to play well against Buddy - albeit with a lot of help from his mates and Buddy's shit kicking - he'll play well against everyone.

For some context, Gibbo was pushed out of the backline this season by two blokes frm the Geelong seconds and the SANFL. Both have improved markedly and are now better players than Gibbo (and younger too) but it gives you an idea.

If Hawthorn honestly think Gibbo is the missing link that will propel them back to premiership contention then geez, the wheels really have come off down as Tasvegas.

800k over 3 years is just under the league average. The average pick a play is taken a t is about 35.

If Gibson was a genuine 193cm and 93-98kg, he'd be a great get for a lot of clubs, especially Hawthorn who is crying out for a quality key defender. As it is though, while he's talented, I think at his size (189cm, 92kg) he's not quite big enough to play full-time every week as a #1 key defender these days (kind of like his Kangaroo teammate Scott D. Thompson). I see him as a Harry O'Brien type myself - versatile, and good playing on the third tall, but not someone you want to rely on every week as the #1 or #2 key defensive option, as he'll always be overmatched size-wise.

Yes, this goes without saying. But it also means that North are not holding all the aces and can play hardball like Carlton were able to with Thornton and their PSD pick. There is a greater leverage on North to get a fair deal done.

Out of interest, for all the whackers out ther who think Gibson is worth pick 9, here are picks 9-13 from previous drafts:

2008 - Jack Ziebell, Phil Davis, Steele Sidebottom, Lewis Johnston, Tom Lynch
2007 - Ben McEvoy, Patrick Dangerfield, Patrick Veszpremi, Cyril Rioli, Brad Ebert
2006 - David Armitage, Nathan Brown, Andrejs Everitt, James Frawley, Jack Riewoldt
2005 - Mitchell Clark, Marcus Drum, Shaun Higgins, Nathan Jones, Shannon Hurn
2004 - Jordan Russell, Chris Egan, Adam Thomson, Danny Meyer, Matthew Bate
2003 - David Trotter, Ryley Dunn, Beau Waters, Ryan Murphy, Brent Stanton
2002 - Hamish McIntosh, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich, Jay Schulz, Byron Schammer
2001 - Luke Molan, Sam Power, Richard Cole, Brent Reilly, Nick Dal Santo
2000 - Kayne Pettifer, Jordan McMahon, Trent Sporn, Shaun Burgoyne, Ashley McGrath
1999 - Caydn Beetham, Luke McPharlin, Darren Glass, Paul Koulouriotis, Robert Murphy
1998 - Mark McVeigh, Brandon Hill, Lenny Hayes, Adam Ramanauskas, Chris Lamb
1997 - Chad Cornes, Shane O'Bree, Jason Saddington, Jaxon Crabb, Callum Chambers
1996 - Mark Harwood, Nathan Brown, Brent Grgic, Heath Black, Tom Gilligan

You could get Chris Egan, Trent Sporn, Brent Grgic, Sam Power, Chris Lamb or one of the other cosmic spuds. The question is... is a top class player you are prepared to pay $800k-$1m over three years while you are trying to salvage your premiership contention prospects worth a pick that may or may not get you a decent player. You are after a good player, so the pick would get you a good player. The known element is worth a significant amount in football.

If you don't then go into the draft and roll the dice like everyone else.

(EDITED TO ADD - I'm just glad it wasn't Jesse Smith)
well put all round, however i see 25 to north, 266k a year (average wage) to gibson and a 3rd tall to us a win win win.

i dont see gibbo as being anything more than a third defender. gilham has him covered and if croad is up and running he is as well. FWIW Goose Maguire would probably come cheaper to us both monetary and trade wise and probably give simmilar output on game day

food for thought

If Gibson was a genuine 193cm and 93-98kg, he'd be a great get for a lot of clubs, especially Hawthorn who is crying out for a quality key defender. As it is though, while he's talented, I think at his size (189cm, 92kg) he's not quite big enough to play full-time every week as a #1 key defender these days (kind of like his Kangaroo teammate Scott D. Thompson). I see him as a Harry O'Brien type myself - versatile, and good playing on the third tall, but not someone you want to rely on every week as the #1 or #2 key defensive option, as he'll always be overmatched size-wise.

He is bigger than Archer and Ross Glendenning, were those players hacks? ;)

I can't see Hawthorn giving up a first rounder for Gibson. That'll be earmarked for trying to get Sandilands or Lake to the club. It will either be a three-way deal with another club or Hawthorn's second round draft pick packaged with a developing player (Dowler comes readily to mind).

The average wage line is a furphy. Its blown dramatically out of proportion by the fact that you get 20 guys eraning a huge amount and then literally dozens of guys - first two year draftees - on minimum wage.

The question is whether Gibbo is worth that much. And I reckon he's not but if he can get it off Hawthorn, then fair play to him.

He is bigger than Archer and Ross Glendenning, were those players hacks? ;)

I never said they were hacks. I'm just saying that these days it's hard to play a key position at his size, unless you're a super talent. And both Archer and Glendinning were more talented players than Gibson is now IMO.

Archer wasn't ever the #1 key defender for the Kangaroos AFAIK, and Ross Glendinning was a super talent who also played CHF in an era where KPPs on average were smaller. A lot of the great KPPs of the '80s weren't usually much bigger than 6'2" or 6'3", but nowdays you need a bit more height and weight to you as a KPP, especially if you're going to be a #1 or #2 key defender, which I'd assume Gibson would be at the Hawks.

I did read your post. Since when can players nominate for the National draft when they are still contracted to a club? :confused:

2008 - http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=58792

"A player must also now be contracted by his club by October 31, if that club wishes to retain him. If the player is not contracted by October 31, he has the option to delist himself and enter the national draft and/or the pre-season draft. This increases the options available to players who cannot reach agreement with their clubs.

Is going to make the possibility of both Lake and Gibson going into the draft.

Hawthorn would be much better served chasing Drum and Tarrant in a package deal. Drum alone is already better than Gibson and will continue along that path. Tarrant is significantly better and will really compliment the Hawks while their window is open.

I cbf'd reading the whole thread, but if anyone seriously suggested Gibson is worth pick 9 they need to stop hanging out with Bling Bling and they should probably remove that crack pipe from their collar.
3rd rounder at best.

I can't see Hawthorn giving up a first rounder for Gibson. That'll be earmarked for trying to get Sandilands or Lake to the club. It will either be a three-way deal with another club or Hawthorn's second round draft pick packaged with a developing player (Dowler comes readily to mind).

You'll need to throw in Roughead or someone similar with the first rounder to go close to nabbing Sandilands. Probably a similar deal for Lake too.

Hawthorn offer 2nd round pick, north refuse. Hawthorn tells gibson to enter National Draft with a price on his head which the club is offering.

Gibson enters draft and hawthorn use 2nd pick to take him.

meaning

Hawthorn use the pick they intended to give north
Hawthorn get the player they want
North Melbourne go off crying from another bungled trading period involving Hawthorn

Re: Josh gibson to hawthorn !!!!!

When you play for Birmingham City and Manchester United come-a-tapping, both the player and club do as they're told.

The Kangawhos are a basket case. the coach didn't want to coach them, the players don't want to stay and it appears they don't have a player management department, let alone head.

lol the Tasmanian Hawks didn't even make the 8, you are not in the same league as a MU.

Hawks know Sandilands and Lake wont be leaving their clubs. And pick 9 this year wouldn't even get them luke warm interested in trading them.

Josh Gibson "walks out" on the club - Wants to go to Hawthorn