Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

I've been waiting for this kid to explode and show his worth. They keep playing him deep in the forward line at championships and the like, I think he has so much more to offer.
I picked him up in the Phantom Mock Draft earlier this year and had high hopes he would lift once he got over his injuries.

Ive only seen the bits and pieces in the 2 minute grabs and what we have seen at champs... but he looks to have the potential to be a strong bodied running HBF .. his right foot seemed to have a bit honk in it.

I ran into SPS after the grand final and had a good chat to him. He's a cracking young bloke and was amazed that someone recognised him in Victoria and would stop him for a chat.
From the chat I had with him he said he would love to come over and play in Melbourne. Didnt say any particular clubs. Would just presume that he would also love to stay in WA. Either way I think whichever club gets him seems to be getting a great young man/player

Either Kevin Sheahan or Sanderson (can't remember which) said the other day that SPS is chomping at the bit to come and play in Melbourne.

Gee i hope my Club can somehow keep 5, because i reckon we are a great chance to get him with it.

Wouldn't mind watching the WA bushies Cripps and SPS for the next decade.

Hey Knight, do you see Bowes being bidded on at 2 by Brisbane and if so our pick 4 would be gone but assuming we get 6 from Prestia deal who do you see us taking at 6 and 8?

Can i have what ur smoking? your not even close.

Jong will get you a pick around 30+
Stevens 3rd/4th round
Hrovat 3rd/4th round
more realistic dog supporter here.
I know this is not a trade thread but since I read it here.
Hrovat should get a 3rd round pick which we should on trade for Cloke.
I Think that's a lot fairer

Gold Coast have 4,8,22,23,25,28,41 and project to get more currency for Prestia and maybe o'meara.

I'd say one of those picks in the 20's has jongs name on it.

Also 'the dogs want cloke' but don't need him. They won the premiership and have Crameri coming back from suspension for 2017 and redpath back after that from his knee injury. Meanwhile the pies have shown their hand dropping Him 3 times this year. He's worth pick 50+ to the dogs.

What are your thoughts on Robbie Fox from Coburg KM? What type of player do you see him as?

Either Kevin Sheahan or Sanderson (can't remember which) said the other day that SPS is chomping at the bit to come and play in Melbourne.

Gee i hope my Club can somehow keep 5, because i reckon we are a great chance to get him with it.

Sheahan , Melb Mecca for footy, young guys I spoken to would love to be there

SPS great lad, humble , polite , always with smile on face . Throw in his footy ability a great pick up for any club even if it takes a top 5 pick . For a lightly framed lad very tough.

For the first time Knighmare I have to say no idea lol.

Spoke to a friend at the Pies and he has told me the deal is done and Cloke has ripped up contract saving you $500k.... pick 71.

As for Jong cant Knock back $450-$550 a year at gold Coast 4 years pick 22 is on the table

Hrovat has Carlton,St Kilda,Melbourne,Essendon all ready to deal so pick around mid 20s is a great chance :)

Stevens is a hard one with only Essendon and Richmond keen.

One down, three to go...

I have heard that he would prefer to go to a Melbourne club, and has told the Queensland clubs and Fremantle of that preference.
Yeah he sounded pretty excited about the prospect of playing in Melbourne. I mentioned I was a bombers supporter and he said he would love to play with us, but I got the feeling he didn't really care who drafted him.

IIRC the newspapers back in the day had Cooney, Goddard and Deledio as No. 1 candidates real early on.

Wonder if next year someone pipes up early.

Pick 1s overall are increasingly less clear and I'm not seeing a clear number one yet either next year.

Hi Knighmare.

Melbourne doesn't look like being a big player in this draft (first time in a while :$).

We gave our first this year away for the Weideman pick last year, and our second this year looks set for Hibberd from Essendon. Our first live pick this year could be mid-third round.

Have you heard about any players we might be keen on with later picks, and if not, what type of player(s) do you think Melbourne would want to bring into their list via this draft?

Thanks mate.
D16

Melbourne will make moves. Dawes looks set to be traded etc.

I've heard a rumour that Melbourne although the midfield is overflowing like Willem Drew.

Only particularly name off the top of my head that I have heard linked to Melbourne. He may last into the third round or Melbourne may trade into the second round. So he is a realistic possible.

Hey Knightmare, just wanted to know if you know if there's any truth to the rumour going around that SPS wants to stay in WA or not, and do you think its possible that he lasts til the eagles first pick at #12?

Hearing all around that SPS is fine with playing interstate.

He'd have to interview very poorly, mix poorly with his peers and turn up unfit for the combine at the draft combine to drop to pick 12.

Not expecting it to happen. He should go somewhere closer to pick 5.

hi KM, reports that the lions are interested in Tom Stewart mature age (23) 3rd tall type defender from geelong VFL. i have read a few articles on him and really like the sound of him if we got him cheaply.

what are your thoughts on Tom? open draft/if so range/rookie?

Stewart could be there late/rookie and is a good immediate fit. 3rd tall is the projection as a capable good intercepter who can also stop opposing forwards.

Knightmare ... have had a look , I cant see that you have done much on Cameron Zurhaar . Seems to have a good right foot and has a bit of run playing across the HBL...

Zurhaar has shown promise in glimpses without impressing me as much as I was hoping coming into the year. Agree he can run and is a nice height.

His fitness and scoreboard impact as a forward when I've watched him has left me feeling flat. Not a huge ball winner.

He is someone I'd want to see another year of before potentially investing a pick in him.

May be picked on potential though.

Hey Knight, do you see Bowes being bidded on at 2 by Brisbane and if so our pick 4 would be gone but assuming we get 6 from Prestia deal who do you see us taking at 6 and 8?

It's very possible.

Brisbane (same story as Essendon) just need everything.

Being a home state talent (worried about go-home factor) if they have two players neck and neck may well go that way.

Around 6+8 Sam Petrevski-Seton, Ben Ainsworth, Tim English, Tim Taranto and Jack Scrimshaw are among those I see receiving consideration around that stage.

What are your thoughts on Robbie Fox from Coburg KM? What type of player do you see him as?

He is an athletic type. Unclear best position but does pretty well anywhere for a mid sizer.

more realistic dog supporter here.
I know this is not a trade thread but since I read it here.
Hrovat should get a 3rd round pick which we should on trade for Cloke.
I Think that's a lot fairer
Mate, we're trading pick 71 for Cloke. Hrovat will get us a 2017 3rd rounder. Cloke is nowhere near worth a third-rounder.

It's very possible.

Brisbane (same story as Essendon) just need everything.

Being a home state talent (worried about go-home factor) if they have two players neck and neck may well go that way.

Around 6+8 Sam Petrevski-Seton, Ben Ainsworth, Tim English, Tim Taranto and Jack Scrimshaw are among those I see receiving consideration around that stage.

He is an athletic type. Unclear best position but does pretty well anywhere for a mid sizer.

Thanks mate do you see him being drafted?

He's a possible (which is the way it often is with those mature agers outside those 3-4 usually spoken about) but not a likely pick. More someone a club might look at situationally as a list fit.

Hey km do you have any port news?

Sounding quiet with Hartlett set to stay. Port don't have much wriggle room to do too much.

Probably a relatively quiet offseason with smaller rather than larger moves likely.

Rumor going around that Brisbane are thinking of trading pick 2 to GWS for picks 5 and 7 and picking up Anisworth and Tarento would that be who you would pick at those picks?

They're two realistic players around those selections among a selection of players.

Failing one of those two being there, Tim English as a ruckman would make sense with Martin in the latter part of his career.

Rumor going around that Brisbane are thinking of trading pick 2 to GWS for picks 5 and 7 and picking up Anisworth and Tarento would that be who you would pick at those picks?

If Essendon like McCluggage as is probably thought then that gives GWS their guy in McGrath who they were said to potentially be interesting in trading up to pick one for.

Good trade for Brisbane also getting the two picks inside the top 10 in what is an even top 10.

Realistic enough not to discount given it would work for both teams.