List Mgmt. List Management 2023-24

Sweet would look to be the most obvious but you'd have to wonder whether Andrew Phillips could be persuaded to move if he was told he would be the number 1 ruck. Could think about poaching Strachan from the Crom who doesn't look like getting a game and looks better than what we have.
Are you aware that Phillips is 31?

I’ve been critical of lycett for ages, and smashed him from pillar to post.

I agree he does have more to offer than an absolutely out of his depth teakle, who I’ve also been openly very critical of…. But we just need to move on from lycett.

We’ve sunk about 25+ more games into him than we should have and we need to move on from him now, not end of the year.

My obvious preference is to play Hayes, but that isn’t happening, and dixon is far better in the ruck than the remaining options but with Mitch down and Dixon not 100% we shouldn’t risk him,

And as I explained above lycett may offer more than teakle now, but it’s not much more and lycetts cooked. So * it.

As much as I like Dante’s competitive nature, he’s not even dominating sanfl as a lead ruck yet much less ready to be a lead ruck at afl level. He needs more time or to be a 2nd ruck kf, and we’re looking for a lead ruck right now.

We’re pretty well stuck playing teakle, as much as I think we’re also tossing those games down the drain, it’s still the best play for right now.
We as fans don't have to just accept 'Hayes is done'. Hayes is only done because somebody decided he was done, and that decision can be changed at any time. I'm not resigning myself to shutting up about our clear best ruckman being stuck in the SANFL just because the club is doubling down on its bad call.

I mean I don’t remember using the word “done” regarding Hayes. (Tho maybe your post isn’t saying I did it just sounds that way?)

I did say my preference is to play Hayes but that isn’t happening.

They’re barely letting him ruck in the sanfl anymore.

I think it’s obvious ken won’t play him and they plan to delist him.

I’m not even sure when we ditch ken if that changes things. I think it’s gone too far and all parties would want to walk away.

What I won’t accept is that this was anything other than kens handiwork and that giving up on Hayes regardless of whether you think he would have made it was anything other than list sabotage.

Imo we back him in from 2022 onwards and he’s giving us a strong tap ruck and down the line target for years, but as I’ve said a few times here, even if you thought he was a plodding dinosaur with one trick, that due to our list management with the age of lycett and trading of Ladhams that a plodding dinosaur would still be an absolute asset to have on our list while we sorted out other options.

So even worst case scenario, you’re keeping him and playing him now, just with behind the scenes work on an upgrade to come.

Turfing Hayes when we did is like being on a rickety old raft in the middle of the ocean and coming across a motorboat, and lobbing a hand grenade into it cause you’re not sure if it will sail from Sydney to San Francisco or doesn’t have gold plated hand rails.

So yeah, I’m resigned to us bobbing up and down on a rickety old raft with some scrap deadwood.

I mean I don’t remember using the word “done” regarding Hayes. (Tho maybe your post isn’t saying I did it just sounds that way?)
Your post was more of a straw that broke the camel's back. There's just been a real sentiment around this board of late of 'well the club's not gonna play Hayes so I guess we have to play Teakle'. Screw that. The club can play Hayes any time they want. Every week they choose not to, they should be held accountable for that decision.

Sweet would look to be the most obvious but you'd have to wonder whether Andrew Phillips could be persuaded to move if he was told he would be the number 1 ruck. Could think about poaching Strachan from the Crom who doesn't look like getting a game and looks better than what we have.
Phillips in two years would be a downgraded Lycett…

Looks like the door is still open to get Esava.

BIG CAT KEEN TO KEEP WAITING​

GEELONG defender Esava Ratugolea will continue to let the season progress before focusing on his contract call, having broken through as a senior regular in his new backline post this year.

Ratugolea was chased by Port Adelaide during last year's Trade Period, but the club couldn't secure a deadline-day move for the versatile tall as Geelong held him to a contract that expires at the end of this season.

Trialled as a key defender late last year, Ratugolea couldn't crack Geelong's team that claimed premiership success but has played all seven games so far this season to establish himself as a pivotal part of coach Chris Scott's future plans.

Speaking on AFL.com.au's trade and draft show Gettable this week, Ratugolea's manager Winston Rous from Phoenix Management Group said the 24-year-old's future plans would be broached later in the year as he continues to focus on his new role.

"You take your time with it. As long as he's playing and playing consistently and the opportunities are there, that's something that will be addressed in the back end of the year," Rous told AFL.com.au's Gettable.

05GeWC23MB125254740.JPG

Port Adelaide has retained its interest in Ratugolea throughout the start of the season, with Rous saying the young key-position talent was impressed by coach Ken Hinkley's strong pitch during last year's Trade Period.

"Esava never really fell out of love with Geelong," Rous said.

"He was identified by a number of clubs. Someone who sits in front of Ken … he's got a great sales pitch and he's able to get a few across. It was more about how excited he was to maybe work under Ken and have a fresh start.

"[Ratugolea] was very disappointed, because he was keen to go and chase that opportunity. When someone doesn't get what they want from a trade point of view, there's that initial lull. But then very quickly, Geelong wrapped its arms around him. It showed that the high threshold they had for letting him go was their confidence in what he could bring to them." – Riley Beveridge

With the 19th license given to Tassie today and confirming the Tassie team will enter the VFL in 2025 we need play McCallum so we can increase his trade value when the time comes. We need to aim to trade him for an early 2nd Round pick which will be the best outcome for us (we took him at pick 36).
He'll definitely be on the radar for the new club considering his father's a 100+ game TFL player.
Will not be staying with Port after 2025 but its understandable, local club + back home is a win for him.

We give nothing to Tasmania we don't want.

How many list changes is normal 6-8? Just thinking of players who may not be on our list next season.
Lycett
Hayes
Teakle probably only 1 stays on list.
Dumont
Boak
I think 1 of Dumont or Boak have to stay on list. Depends on Boak decision.
Jackson
McEntee
Bonner
1 of these 3 stay.
Bergman
Mitch
Hopefully both stay
Jonas
Mckenzie
Both Gone, pity Clurey has more years on contract no other team will want him so stuck with him.
Not sure on Barkla, Francis Evans and Meads contract situation.
Lord signing contract extension and expect Williams has earned a new contract.

We give nothing to Tasmania we don't want.
A lot of choice is taken out of that with concessions given to the new team. A brief discussion of that on Footy Classified last night. But no point getting our knickers in a knot yet. Except about whether father/son picks get suspended for a while.

If Boak keeps turning in performances like he did on the weekend then I don't see a need to push him out. You wouldn't tap Pendles on the shoulder atm. Unless his form is dreadful, I reckon he's earned the right to make the call himself.

Difference is pendles skills are on another planet to boaks and a premiership and recent grand final level player

I did say my preference is to play Hayes but that isn’t happening.

They’re barely letting him ruck in the sanfl anymore.

I think it’s obvious ken won’t play him and they plan to delist him.

I’m not even sure when we ditch ken if that changes things. I think it’s gone too far and all parties would want to walk away.

What I won’t accept is that this was anything other than kens handiwork and that giving up on Hayes regardless of whether you think he would have made it was anything other than list sabotage.

Imo we back him in from 2022 onwards and he’s giving us a strong tap ruck and down the line target for years, but as I’ve said a few times here, even if you thought he was a plodding dinosaur with one trick, that due to our list management with the age of lycett and trading of Ladhams that a plodding dinosaur would still be an absolute asset to have on our list while we sorted out other options.

So even worst case scenario, you’re keeping him and playing him now, just with behind the scenes work on an upgrade to come.

Turfing Hayes when we did is like being on a rickety old raft in the middle of the ocean and coming across a motorboat, and lobbing a hand grenade into it cause you’re not sure if it will sail from Sydney to San Francisco or doesn’t have gold plated hand rails.

So yeah, I’m resigned to us bobbing up and down on a rickety old raft with some scrap deadwood.

Lobb(e)ing a hand grenade. I get it! ;) Because Lobbe is the ruck coach. Another way to sink your ruck list. Ken has made some weird ****ing decisions and those regarding the ruck have been amongst the strangest of them.

Difference is pendles skills are on another planet to boaks and a premiership and recent grand final level player
I am bought Boaks skills have been markedly better this year. I suspect a wing is his calling now

Looks like the door is still open to get Esava.

BIG CAT KEEN TO KEEP WAITING​

GEELONG defender Esava Ratugolea will continue to let the season progress before focusing on his contract call, having broken through as a senior regular in his new backline post this year.

Ratugolea was chased by Port Adelaide during last year's Trade Period, but the club couldn't secure a deadline-day move for the versatile tall as Geelong held him to a contract that expires at the end of this season.

Trialled as a key defender late last year, Ratugolea couldn't crack Geelong's team that claimed premiership success but has played all seven games so far this season to establish himself as a pivotal part of coach Chris Scott's future plans.

Speaking on AFL.com.au's trade and draft show Gettable this week, Ratugolea's manager Winston Rous from Phoenix Management Group said the 24-year-old's future plans would be broached later in the year as he continues to focus on his new role.

"You take your time with it. As long as he's playing and playing consistently and the opportunities are there, that's something that will be addressed in the back end of the year," Rous told AFL.com.au's Gettable.

05GeWC23MB125254740.JPG

Port Adelaide has retained its interest in Ratugolea throughout the start of the season, with Rous saying the young key-position talent was impressed by coach Ken Hinkley's strong pitch during last year's Trade Period.

"Esava never really fell out of love with Geelong," Rous said.

"He was identified by a number of clubs. Someone who sits in front of Ken … he's got a great sales pitch and he's able to get a few across. It was more about how excited he was to maybe work under Ken and have a fresh start.

"[Ratugolea] was very disappointed, because he was keen to go and chase that opportunity. When someone doesn't get what they want from a trade point of view, there's that initial lull. But then very quickly, Geelong wrapped its arms around him. It showed that the high threshold they had for letting him go was their confidence in what he could bring to them." – Riley Beveridge

Yet there was an article in the Geelong Advertiser on 13th April where Esava is quoted as saying he "never wanted to go"...

That is true, the way Boaky was getting around the ground though, I'd say his running is still on another level to most others he shares a field with. Take away his first few games where he looked underdone, he looks as fit as ever.

I wish he stopped trying to be the fittest man alive and actually tried to improve his field and goal kicking for once , he's a fantastic athlete but we need a clean mid more then a stat padder

I'm biased but would take him in a heartbeat. 20+2 small fwd to replace Orazio.

With Ken out at years end, who knows.
One of those unusual brand of players whose best footy came before he was 25. He has not been a 20 + 2 small forward for a long time. Would not touch with a ten foot pole.

Naismith has 24 disposals and 38 hit outs in the VFL on the weekend
Just read the review of this game. Sam rucked against a 194cm key forward who GWS picked up in mid season draft. Sam’s opponent had 30 possessions and 10 marks. But Sam has won hitouts in every game this season and hasn’t missed a game. But hasn’t really come up against any AFL quality ruckman yet, so worth watching the rest of the year. In the same game Ethan Phillips was named amongst the best with 24 possessions and 13 marks. If we pick up a ruckman or KPD in the mid season draft our SANFL side just gets bigger and slower but we really need to find both.

List Mgmt. List Management 2023-24