Mega Thread Matt Rendell (Part 2)

lol @ Gilber McAdam thinking he was some sort of pioneer because he won a Magary in the late 80's because there weren't many Aboriginal footballers in the SANFL at that time :rolleyes:

speaking of uneducated and ignorant Gilbert.

lol @ Gilber McAdam thinking he was some sort of pioneer because he won a Magary in the late 80's because there weren't many Aboriginal footballers in the SANFL at that time :rolleyes:

speaking of uneducated and ignorant Gilbert.

Gilbert won the Magarey because he was a really good player in a really, really shit side and had no-one to take any votes from him.

...the only part of Gilbert's story i believed was his opening line... "Matt Rendell isn't a racist"

I loved the part in Mifsud's interview where he said, "I was playing the day Nicky Winmar raised his guernsey". Yup, is that part of your 20 year record you want to stand on? Good on Nicky, what did you do at the time?

Maybe it's the cynic in me, but why do I see Matt Rendell being offered a job at, say GWS, in a year's time, after he's "served" his punishment and apologised for all things under the sun. By then Mifsud's moved on voluntarily or involuntarily and the AFL's reputation is preserved.

...the only part of Gilbert's story i believed was his opening line... "Matt Rendell isn't a racist"

I loved the part in Mifsud's interview where he said, "I was playing the day Nicky Winmar raised his guernsey". Yup, is that part of your 20 year record you want to stand on? Good on Nicky, what did you do at the time?

He's still waiting to raise it with the AFL. Give him another month or two ...

Maybe it's the cynic in me, but why do I see Matt Rendell being offered a job at, say GWS, in a year's time, after he's "served" his punishment and apologised for all things under the sun. By then Mifsud's moved on voluntarily or involuntarily and the AFL's reputation is preserved.

Really after this debacle would Randell want to work again....he seemed fed up with everything and wanted this affair to end?

AFL cares of image first and nothing else second. It doesn't care if it destroy's a man's credibility, turns his reputation to mud, puts him in a dark place emotionally and brands him a racist in the process.

I am really really worried about Matt's well-being to be honest

Thank God for Sam Newman's comments tonight. If someone can preserve those (along with Brayshaw subtly trying to steer him away from it), that'd be good. Someone calls it like it is without shying away and capitulating as though the issue has been resolved and that nothing should be questioned beyond what the AFL, the AFC, and the Age have served us.

My thoughts on the Jason Misfud interview

- He has stood against racial stereotyping and wont shy away from it but didn't say anything at the time when there was a supposed transgression by a "mate"

- The AFL doesn't judge if comments are more offensive or less offensive? - I think it is clear that Hirdy's & Roosy's comments fall into the less offensive category based on punishment, no?

- Cultural obligation and professional obligations but apparently no obligation to a "mate" as it were.

- Matty does have a lot to work through.....like looking for a new job

- Because they will talk through it in time and reach a conclusion? That is nice but somehow i don't think it will involve Matty getting his job back. Unfortunate that it couldn't be done at the time or shortly after the story broke

- Everyone needs to be part of the solution? Matty Rendell wanted to be part of the solution too but thanks to the AFL he won't be

- Cultural learnings & education? You could have made sure that when those cultural learnings start that Matt Rendell was front and centre for the class

- There has been murmurings in the industry? Well I hope the other people in the industry our now smart enough that they will reconsider having that "difficult conversation" with you to get to the bottom of it, because if during that "difficult & uneasy conversation" if they have offended you they wont know about it until they are told they are out of a job.

Yes Gilbert he needs education on the topic and he will consider that if his new job requires that

And did Ronnie Burns just suggest that if Indigenous kids should not enter the draft if they don't think they can cut it. What will the AFL say about that?

Gilbert, you mean? Well he did kick a lazy 5. :p

Brownlow: 3-McAdam, 2-Winmar...

Really after this debacle would Randell want to work again....he seemed fed up with everything and wanted this affair to end?

AFL cares of image first and nothing else second. It doesn't care if it destroy's a man's credibility, turns his reputation to mud, puts him in a dark place emotionally and brands him a racist in the process.

I am really really worried about Matt's well-being to be honest

I agree entirely but if one , as I do, believes this is only piece of high level street theatre with the only one not knowing being Rendell, the aim of which street theatre was to take the pressure off Melbourne to handle the Jurrah situation, then the AFL and the media:

(a) Can't admit it engineered anything or did anything wrong;
(b) Must be seen to have "inflicted" punishment on a person who did wrong; and
(c) Must be seen to be benevolent or merciful at a later point in time.

Think of it all as high level street theatre with AD, C Wilson, Mifsud and the Adelaide Board mouthing their lines and the only one not to know, Rendell saying what the hell.

I agree entirely but if one , as I do, believes this is only piece of high level street theatre with the only one not knowing being Rendell, the aim of which street theatre was to take the pressure off Melbourne to handle the Jurrah situation, then the AFL and the media:

(a) Can't admit it engineered anything or did anything wrong;
(b) Must be seen to have "inflicted" punishment on a person who did wrong; and
(c) Must be seen to be benevolent or merciful at a later point in time.

Think of it all as high level street theatre with AD, C Wilson, Mifsud and the Adelaide Board mouthing their lines and the only one not to know, Rendell saying what the hell.

I see what you are saying but I don't think the sacrificial Lamb can talk after the fact.

The Marngrook Footy Show had an interview with Jason Misfud and discussed the issues about it all.

[youtube]rLENIo1mMss[/youtube]

What an absolute load of ****ing bollocks. More convinced than ever now that rendell was thrown under the bus for suggesting there is a problem which the afl doesn't want to admit

Guess what there is a ****ing problem otherwise the afl wouldn't have a significant number of staff employed to assist indigenous players find a place in the game. Why would that panel be suggesting that afl clubs employ staff specifically to look after indigenous players.

Rendell suggested something needed to be done to arrest an attrition rate that was unacceptable in his eyes and proposed a program that he hought would help. The panel suggested there is still a need to educate those who don't understand the issue and that rendell was a prime example of that need for education

Well rendell has got his lesson, acknowledge a problem, suggestion a solution and get sacked. What a load of crap

I'm trying to find some stats for Jason Mifsud as a player. He was drafted in 1992, and Nicky Winmar 'lifting his guernsey' happened in Round 4, 1993 (vs Collingwood at Vic Park). But Jason's name isn't on the teamsheet.

When he said he was 'playing footy that day' he was telling the truth ... he just wasn't playing in that game.

Or did Gilbert say it? Sorry wasn't paying attention.

EDIT: Definitely Jason. G McAdam also played that day, and was BOG.

I'm trying to find some stats for Jason Mifsud as a player. He was drafted in 1992, and Nicky Winmar 'lifting his guernsey' happened in Round 4, 1993 (vs Collingwood at Vic Park). But Jason's name isn't on the teamsheet.

When he said he was 'playing footy that day' he was telling the truth ... he just wasn't playing in that game.

Or did Gilbert say it? Sorry wasn't paying attention.

bloke was a list clogging spud of epic proportions .... would have been in the magoos. bench.

Haven't fully followed this story but I've done a bit of catching up on it just recently and really Rendell is very unlucky to lose his job. Honestly, his comment was stupid and perhaps in an environment where more than 1 person was present it was plain dumb but if it is how he stated on FC and he was just trying to emphasise his point then it's really a non issue.

Racism is obviously a problem in society, the problem with racism however is that what is defined is different for everyone. There is more grey area in racism than their is in the AFL rule book. It seems that no matter what is said, someone can always find offence in a comment and its really disappointing that this is the way we are heading. The AFL and Vlad obviously didn't want to back someone who is accused of racism and probably didn't have much choice in the matter in terms of how the media would perceive the response. I feel for Rendell, he's been in the game for a long time and worked with heaps of players, of all races and for his career to end and be tainted is a great shame.

Also, I found Caroline Wilson's attitude towards Matt ridiculous. The old skin diaper had basically made up her mind before he started speaking. Also, Hutchy is a w***er, just comes across as a shit bloke. lol

Incredibly disturbing that Mifsud is talking about "being the solution" and working towards solving "a problem," conceding that there is indeed an attrition problem, and yet his "good mate" has now been sacked for using a dramatic example to highlight the urgency of this same problem.

This is vaguely insane.