Mega Thread Matt Rendell (Part 2)

Incredibly disturbing that Mifsud is talking about "being the solution" and working towards solving "a problem," conceding that there is indeed an attrition problem, and yet his "good mate" has now been sacked for using a dramatic example to highlight the urgency of this same problem.

This is vaguely insane.

Unless they actually believe that getting rid of Rendell is the answer, that he was in fact holding Aboriginal kids back...

What an absolute load of ****ing bollocks. More convinced than ever now that rendell was thrown under the bus for suggesting there is a problem which the afl doesn't want to admit

Guess what there is a ****ing problem otherwise the afl wouldn't have a significant number of staff employed to assist indigenous players find a place in the game. Why would that panel be suggesting that afl clubs employ staff specifically to look after indigenous players.

Rendell suggested something needed to be done to arrest an attrition rate that was unacceptable in his eyes and proposed a program that he hought would help. The panel suggested there is still a need to educate those who don't understand the issue and that rendell was a prime example of that need for education

Well rendell has got his lesson, acknowledge a problem, suggestion a solution and get sacked. What a load of crap

I mean you wonder whether this will really drive the wedge in now. Recruiters are judged on results not light and fluffy feelings of doing good things do indigenous people. A guy fluffs a line and suggests solutions that don't toe the line and gets chopped.

So if I'm a recruiter at another club, I shut my mouth and do the maths. If indigenous kids, especially those from remote communities, have a 40% greater chance of failure plus heaps more problems along the way, whenever they hav an equal choice between two players, I wonder how many indigenous kids find themselves left out?

Is that racism, or logical recruiting? More like a reality, I reckon.

My thoughts on the Jason Misfud interview

- He has stood against racial stereotyping and wont shy away from it but didn't say anything at the time when there was a supposed transgression by a "mate"

- The AFL doesn't judge if comments are more offensive or less offensive? - I think it is clear that Hirdy's & Roosy's comments fall into the less offensive category based on punishment, no?

- Cultural obligation and professional obligations but apparently no obligation to a "mate" as it were.

- Matty does have a lot to work through.....like looking for a new job

- Because they will talk through it in time and reach a conclusion? That is nice but somehow i don't think it will involve Matty getting his job back. Unfortunate that it couldn't be done at the time or shortly after the story broke

- Everyone needs to be part of the solution? Matty Rendell wanted to be part of the solution too but thanks to the AFL he won't be

- Cultural learnings & education? You could have made sure that when those cultural learnings start that Matt Rendell was front and centre for the class

- There has been murmurings in the industry? Well I hope the other people in the industry our now smart enough that they will reconsider having that "difficult conversation" with you to get to the bottom of it, because if during that "difficult & uneasy conversation" if they have offended you they wont know about it until they are told they are out of a job.

Yes Gilbert he needs education on the topic and he will consider that if his new job requires that

And did Ronnie Burns just suggest that if Indigenous kids should not enter the draft if they don't think they can cut it. What will the AFL say about that?

Nicely summed up. Mifsud's interview really was a load of garbage, like most of the stuff that comes out of the AFL it sounds nice and pc friendly but is all just meaningless talk at the end of the day.

Not only was Mifsud not asked any of the relevent questions that needed to be asked but the panel on the show were like cheerleaders for him and the AFL saying what a terrific job they are doing while denigrating Rendell by saying he was ignorant and needs to be educated like he is some out of touch, dumb neanderthal with no clue about indigenous issues whatsoever.

They talk about not making offensive comments to indigenous people but some of the comments they made were probably just as offensive to Rendell, if not moreso. You can bet the AFL won't be taking any action against them though.

I am still puzzled a bit by Mifsud's statement. "the only draft players" statement was brought up in the taped piece and with the Marngrook panel as though Rendell actually thought it would happen.

I am assuming (big assumption) that Rendell was making use of hyperbole to make a point. May be even deliberately to "shock" the AFL into action. Because the statement was racially offensive, the hyperbole was completely missed by Mifsud and Ali and they thought that Rendell and the wider AFL and Australian community actually feel this way.

Maybe the use of hyperbole is uncommon in some cultures? Cross cultural clash, a lack of understanding of Rendell's culture if you will.....

I mean you wonder whether this will really drive the wedge in now. Recruiters are judged on results not light and fluffy feelings of doing good things do indigenous people. A guy fluffs a line and suggests solutions that don't toe the line and gets chopped.

So if I'm a recruiter at another club, I shut my mouth and do the maths. If indigenous kids, especially those from remote communities, have a 40% greater chance of failure plus heaps more problems along the way, whenever they hav an equal choice between two players, I wonder how many indigenous kids find themselves left out?

Not difficult to imagine Mifsud counting during the next draft - "75 picks down and only three indigenous kids drafted...all light-skinned...come on you racist bastards..."

I thought the point of the Misfud interview was to clear the air on Rendell and provide some answers.

What we got was one question on the subject (heavily edited) and 10 minutes of promoting AFL initiatives.

Gilbert said "he's not racist, he's just uneducated". I wished he would've elaborated more on this. What, specifically, does he need education on/

Ronnie Burns comment about 16-17 year old kids knowing their future is completely wrong. Most teenagers don't know how to feed themselves, let alone think 20 years into the future. I'm not sure what the point of anything Chris Johnson said except to re-emphasize the promotion of AFL's indiginous initiatives.

What a waste of an opportunity for all involved. Vague answers, more promotion than real questioning.

Not difficult to imagine Mifsud counting during the next draft - "75 picks down and only three indigenous kids drafted...all light-skinned...come on you racist bastards..."

maybe the AFL are getting ready to issue clubs "please explains" after the draft if they have not selected a certain type of draftee?

Exactly right. What recruiter would now have a frank and open discussion about the issues with Misfud now? Better to nod politely and point out all of the great programs that are being headed by the AFL, while quietly doing your due diligence on potential draftees.

How can there be a robust discussion about indigenous players in the AFL if someone, even with the best of intentions, faces sanctions if his views are deemed to cause offense when none was intended

I mean fair enough if a recruiter comes out and says there's no way in hell he'd recruit a lazy black **** because there a waste of time and effort but I'm still struggling to understand what was so offensive in what rendell said that his position became untenable

I'm guessing form the Crows point of view his drafting would come under so much scrutiny at the end of the year by the media if it did not contain a certain type of draftee.

lyon and wilsona are terrible. they were flat out rude to matt rendell i thought. came away from his interview with a lot of respect for the guy.

not only was caro rude.. she was just plain dumb and stupid at the same time, does she not comprehend what Matt just said? a throwaway line to highlight what an issue he thought this was.

being one of the most successful recruiters in the game, he would know what it takes for kids to make it, but the bitch just doesnt get it.

How can there be a robust discussion about indigenous players in the AFL if someone, even with the best of intentions, faces sanctions if his views are deemed to cause offense when none was intended
There will be the exact kind of "robust discussions" that the AFL wants to hear:

"All good?"
"Yep, everything is fine. No problems here."

Can anyone explain to me why we are targeting a certain percentage of indigenous players in the afl?

Its not a social game of 'mixed race' netball.

I appreciate the attrition rate issue, but one off the issues related to high attrition rate could be the factwe are trying to push guys into playing to meet quota.

(agree with most postson poor matts situation... No time for misfud after this, or my clubs ceo)

I'm guessing form the Crows point of view his drafting would come under so much scrutiny at the end of the year by the media if it did not contain a certain type of draftee.

And then that certain type of draftee, whoever he ends up being, would have a huge question mark over his head as to whether or not he was actually drafted because he was the best player available.

Whole thing's a mess, but I hope Rendell can find work elsewhere.

Can anyone explain to me why we are targeting a certain percentage of indigenous players in the afl?

Its not a social game of 'mixed race' netball.

I appreciate the attrition rate issue, but one off the issues related to high attrition rate could be the factwe are trying to push guys into playing to meet quota.

(agree with most postson poor matts situation... No time for misfud after this, or my clubs ceo)

It depends on whether or not you want to come out and say that the inherent skill sets of a significant enough number of indigenous players (to identify a an actual statistical trend) is unique and vital to the creation of a properly balanced side. Whether these skill sets are natural or practiced is not really relevant (and is more than likely a combination of both anyway).

Think of the price you pay for a TAC cup player with the skill set of a player like Jurrah or Skinner. After a few years in the system Garry Rowan and Jarred Grant both commanded early first round picks. It is like the reverse of looking to the VFL to add some much needed grunt into a side (e.g. Duigan, Curnow, Crameri, Sewell). I suppose the reference to price has the potential to devalue indigenous players but there is just no evidence that this is actually the case (and everyone is quick to celebrate the steal that was the latest indigenous marvel). If Jurrah and Skinner were in the TAC cup system rounding out their games they would probably be top 10 picks anyway.

Is it racist to look to the Irish or discriminatory to look at tall basketballers as a way of identifying unique talents that are not readily available in the draft (due to the fact that they often cost more than what a club can pay)?

Interesting what Mark Robinson said re the timing.

Robinson said on 360 that Rendell's comment get mentioned in an AFL executive meeting, then a few days later under AFL direction it gets dropped in a media interview by Mifsud, and then Demetriou goes on the offensive acting shocked as if its the first he had heard of it.

Is that account disputed?

Edit: Demetriou on OTC doesn't dispute it, but he gives himself wriggle space by saying it was the Age who contacted Mifsud.

Pity Shehan didn't know to ask, "And did you coach Mifsud to drop Rendell's comment in, so you could name him later, and trial by media would make sure you got your man?"

Interesting what Mark Robinson said re the timing.

Robinson said on 360 that Rendell's comment get mentioned in an AFL executive meeting, then a few days later under AFL direction it gets dropped in a media interview by Mifsud, and then Demetriou goes on the offensive acting shocked as if its the first he had heard of it.

Is that account disputed?

Edit: Demetriou on OTC doesn't dispute it, but he gives himself wriggle space by saying it was the Age who contacted Mifsud.

Pity Shehan didn't know to ask, "And did you coach Mifsud to drop Rendell's comment in, so you could name him later, and trial by media would make sure you got your man?"

This is the intriguing bit to me - the behind-the-scenes machinations. It's where the unclean hand of Demetriou is implied.

"Colleague Michael Gleeson had been attempting for some days to interview Mifsud. That the AFL sanctioned the interview is also unusual given that Mifsud is not a member of the executive."

http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-news/rendell-a-scapegoat-20120316-1vaxt.html

Why did Gleeson persistently seek an interview with this specific low-level employee? Could he have been given a tip that Mifsud might have something interesting to say?

As Newman said, hang your heads, fellow journo's. You're all guilty by association for not seeking the truth.

This is the intriguing bit to me - the behind-the-scenes machinations. It's where the unclean hand of Demetriou is implied.

"Colleague Michael Gleeson had been attempting for some days to interview Mifsud. That the AFL sanctioned the interview is also unusual given that Mifsud is not a member of the executive."

http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-news/rendell-a-scapegoat-20120316-1vaxt.html

Why did Gleeson persistently seek an interview with this specific low-level employee? Could he have been given a tip that Mifsud might have something interesting to say?

As Newman said, hang your heads, fellow journo's. You're all guilty by association for not seeking the truth.

From you link:
Mifsud, the former St Kilda and Western Bulldogs assistant coach, has a performance clause in his contract relating to indigenous and multicultural numbers the AFL can attract to the game's elite level.

There is a big problem, right there.

Mifsud's performance clause are numbers that are out of his control. Its the clubs that recruit players, and specifically the recruiters like Rendell. Why Mifsud would have a performance clause like that is stupid. Demetriou has put his feet to the fire over number Mifsud had no control over, and he has coughed up Rendell.

With a performance clause, it is in Mifsud's interest to have Rendell out of a job in the off chance he sops recruiting Indigenous and players from diverse cultures. Is this where the witch hunt ends?

And ladies and gentlemen the only man in the televised media making sense this week - i give you SAM NEWMAN

[youtube]CV8bi8e4c7M[/youtube]

That was great from Sam, so refreshing to see someone in the media have the guts to speak the truth. Will be a sad day when he bows out from TFS as he's one of the few people left in the media that are prepared to cut through the bullshit and tell it like it is.

Brayshaw didn't want to touch that topic with a bargepole, not surprising when he's the president of North Melbourne and reliant on AFL assistance. Damien Barrett didn't want to talk about it either, despite promoting himself as a hard hitting investigative journo, instead he just prattled on about who will be signing contracts and other safe, uninteresting stories.