- Jul 27, 2023
- AFL Club
- West Coast
Bunbury FavelasBunno Cartons mate
I think space would be a significant issue, yeah? As above, I haven't been in that part of the world in nearly a decade but I've seen recent pictures and you'd have to fit grandstands and public transport somewhere.With the duplication of Bussell Highway nearing completion its a quick 30 minute odd drive to Bunbury from Busselton. Hands Oval would get the upgrade you'd think??
What ? Joondalup is 30mins from optus stadium.Joondalup is surely the best place for a third WA team, do up Arena Joondalup to be a 20k seat stadium to host most of their games, Perth could do with a good secondary oval stadium too for AFLW, WAFL, hopefully a gather round.
Such a no brainer.No trips to Tassie to play North or the Hawks should be a given.
Mark Stone’s segment in 6PR this week
Explains how the pressure gauge is calculated and talks about what Collingwood did well (and we failed to adjust to) in their centre clearance dominance
Good listen as usual
PS: I think is really helpful to widely use the term ‘vAFL’. Get it to the ears of the AFL.Not true.
1. Yes, back to back games
2. No matches in Tas
3. Even up breaks where the travel is disproportionate
4. Early games so a same day flight
5. At least 3(?) games on the G - incl Captain’s Run
6. No fixturing where e.g. where Bris rarely played us in Perth.
That’s just off the top of my head. Other options?
Then there’s a myriad of other issues like nonWA players reluctant to come to WA; all commentators covering games to be at the ground; AFL mandate all ‘national’ footy shows have equal representation from each team; and, if mid season trade eventuates it’ll give another advantage to Vic clubs. Etc etc
If we are to reduce the disadvantage that nonVic sides (esp WA) suffer then we need to keep banging on about this.
Margaret River Wine Region Sommeliers
Have you ever been to Melbourne? MCG and Docklands are a lot closer than Joondalup to Burswood. That wouldnt be an issueWhat ? Joondalup is 30mins from optus stadium.
Wouldn't work - the people from northern Perth are already wedded to one of the existing teams, they're not going to jump ship just because someone plonks the "Wanneroo Wanderers" on their doorstep - statistically a third of them were born in England anyway, so don't even care, and the rest would mostly see themselves as "from Perth" more than "from somewhere north of like, Karrinyup, maybe".Surely you just do a Northern suburbs team
The same was said when Freo came in. Their following is certainly bigger than East and South Fremantle.Id rather have the rotating bye with 19 teams than have a 3rd WA team. I think it would flop dramatically . West Aussies are too attached to WC or freo .
They only way i see it working is of three was an existing WAFL team with a big following that became the 20th franchise like Port Adelaide or Redcliffe Dolphins in the NRL . But they're isnt .
Id rather have the rotating bye with 19 teams than have a 3rd WA team. I think it would flop dramatically . West Aussies are too attached to WC or freo .
They only way i see it working is of three was an existing WAFL team with a big following that became the 20th franchise like Port Adelaide or Redcliffe Dolphins in the NRL . But they're isnt .
South West would be a great spot for a third team. Build a stadium to hold 35 -40k and run it like Geelong does. If you get a good deal on the stadium you can maximise profits through the gate.
Margaret River Wine Region Sommeliers
My sense of it is that Free supporters were true Fremantle types of those that felt the Eagles were too good for them and didn't fit with their self image. Quite a sad group of loosers.The same was said when Freo came in. Their following is certainly bigger than East and South Fremantle.
to be fair the drinks selection at the stadium would be elite
No chance, they'd sell the contract to Asahi and you'd be drinking warm Carlton Draught