Mitch McGovern 2: As The Worm Turns (read the OP)

Adelaide will not receive a first round pick for MM, it isn't happening and he isn't worth it. He has shown a lot but he is far from the bonafide star that Gibbs was at the time of his trade. Whilst Adelaide will not allow themselves to get bent over, it is in their best interest that any player who wants to leave does so in a quiet and happy manner, with the disaster of a pre season camp still lingering they do not want disgruntled former players bringing it back to the surface.

Remember: Gibbs was happy to stay if a deal couldn't get done, MM will not be at Adelaide under any circumstance next year (regardless if he is at Carlton by trade, another club or he rips up his contract and walks into the PSD (incredibly unlikely))

For all the supporters who are talking about pick one or a future first round pick (i know it is not all of you, the majority of you are realistic) you are going to be massively disappointed.

You can mark my words that Carlton will be taking Sam Walsh with this #1 and any use of a future first round pick will be going to GWS in a deal for Shiel.

If you're going to come to an opposition supporter's board can you at least do some rudimentary fact checking first before making a fool of yourself?

McGovern can't go into the PSD he still has two years left on his deal :D

Adelaide will not receive a first round pick for MM, it isn't happening and he isn't worth it. He has shown a lot but he is far from the bonafide star that Gibbs was at the time of his trade. Whilst Adelaide will not allow themselves to get bent over, it is in their best interest that any player who wants to leave does so in a quiet and happy manner, with the disaster of a pre season camp still lingering they do not want disgruntled former players bringing it back to the surface.

Remember: Gibbs was happy to stay if a deal couldn't get done, MM will not be at Adelaide under any circumstance next year (regardless if he is at Carlton by trade, another club or he rips up his contract and walks into the PSD (incredibly unlikely))

For all the supporters who are talking about pick one or a future first round pick (i know it is not all of you, the majority of you are realistic) you are going to be massively disappointed.

You can mark my words that Carlton will be taking Sam Walsh with this #1 and any use of a future first round pick will be going to GWS in a deal for Shiel.

Keep seeing Blues fans bring out this fake news line.

If you're going to come to an opposition supporter's board can you at least do some rudimentary fact checking first before making a fool of yourself?

McGovern can't go into the PSD he still has two years left on his deal :D
Not the brightest bunch of supporters these Carltank tossers.

Lol, you have no idea! You realise he can’t do this? He’ll forgo 1 million plus if he sits out 2 years, won’t happen.
We’ll get overs or he suits up and does his best for us.

You're correct, I was just highlighting that MM will not be at Adelaide next year.

Different sport, different circumstance but the 'just clause' does exist: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/44489158

Are you seriously putting forward that a match result comes down to one player? I suggest you check GWS's injury run this year, it wasn't much better than ours.
Fair call but I stand by overrated comment, he's just not as good as some people think. People get seduced into thinking players from GWS are by default the best but watching he makes poor decisions or burns the ball far too often for my liking. If someone want to pay through the teeth for him go for it, long as it's not Adelaide. There's a reason though he's down the pecking order at GWS compared to other mids who are higher priority for them.

Cheers for clearing that up champ...
Now head on home ya mum wants her car back.

Rozee + Rankine for me. We have enough inside mids short on pace. Rozee is outside mid and Rankine has x factor as a small forward. . Leaves us picks for the likes of Callum Wilkie and Boyd Woodcock

Cool. So what's the realistic sequence of trades that gets you those two?

I reckon you only need Pick 4 for Rankine.
Rozee, probably 6 or 7 to be safe? Might depend on Gold Coast's interest.

8, 16 and 20 in the bank at the moment.

Carlton sources either 13 or 14 via whatever means, on-trades that for McGovern.

8 and 16 to St Kilda for Pick 4, maybe? Gives them a late first for Hanners and keeps them in the top 10.

Freo getting Pick 5 for Neale, do they potentially trade out 6 for 13/14 and 20 given their lack of picks?

8, 16, 20 and McGovern for 4 and 6? Maybe a state league player or some minor late round pick swaps involved as well?

I am not sure why you guys are all taking this so personally and being so dismissive. If i have upset you i do apologise.

I guess we will have to wait and see how this all pans out..

Fair call but I stand by overrated comment, he's just not as good as some people think. People get seduced into thinking players from GWS are by default the best but watching he makes poor decisions or burns the ball far too often for my liking. If someone want to pay through the teeth for him go for it, long as it's not Adelaide. There's a reason though he's down the pecking order at GWS compared to other mids who are higher priority for them.
I'd gladly give our first this year and a sweetener to have him at Adelaide.

I'm confident a deal will be done - hopefully early in the trade period so both clubs can move on - but if not... I see it closer to the McCarthy situation (ex-Giant forward) than Gibbs.

I see it as very close to the McCarthy situation. In 2015

To all those other dopey high school dropouts posting from their jobs at the local Carlton servo, pay attention

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/b59e93ed25be96090e094d78e9a7c65d

Back in 2015 when no trade happened

These quotes sound familiar?

FREMANTLE’S desperation to finally snare a key forward has it willing to hand over its first round picks in the next two drafts for GWS goalkicker Cam McCarthy.

McCarthy’s manager Colin Young said on Friday he was “100 per cent” confident the Dockers would make the too-good-to-refuse offer when the trade period opens on Monday. “

“It’s not about GWS, it’s about living in Sydney. Once his contract is up he won’t be staying there.”

“McCarthy is contracted at the Giants for another two years.”

I am not sure why you guys are all taking this so personally and being so dismissive. If i have upset you i do apologise.

I guess we will have to wait and see how this all pans out..
You're coming here and telling us that we'll only get scraps for a best 22 contracted KP player and you're wondering why we won't take your bullshit?

Piss off troll.

As I posted previously you flog, Gibbs wasnt happy to stay at Carlton. He was pissed off and his manager and family over here said so. But as he was contraced he had two options, sit out the year or play and ask for the trade the next year, which he did.
Now piss off back to your board with your BS.

Honest question here - how feasible do you think it would be for McGovern to walk back into the club next year if a deal doesn't get done? Is the bridge well and truly burnt now?

Another suggestion that I think could work. Carlton offer the 2 x 2nd rounders this year and the 2019 2nd rounder for McGovern and our 2019 3rd. We surely can then upspec the 3 x 2nd rounders we have this year coupled with our 1st rounders to get into the top 5 and keep 1 or 2 top 20 picks spare. By getting their 2019 2nd, again, it might be in the pick 19-20 range and will allow us more capital next year to trade up higher into that draft (think Cam Taheny)

Honest question here - how feasible do you think it would be for McGovern to walk back into the club next year if a deal doesn't get done? Is the bridge well and truly burnt now?
No absolutely not, he was reportedly not happy all year but still played. If he wants to get paid he’ll suit up again.

Mitch McGovern 2: As The Worm Turns (read the OP)