Preview NO CHANGE - Grand Final v West Coast Eagles, Saturday at MCG

Think that was the story last week. He is fine but both him and the club doesnt trust his body to get through the game
If Moore can’t trust his body then he can’t come in. Most games and this one more than any other, is played above the shoulders. Which means if he’s already not trusting himself, doesn’t matter what happens. Even if his body is right to go.

I'd like Moore to come in but I'm not sure for who. The obvious one is Aish but then he played well on Daniel Rioli and he'll be required for the Toasts' Rioli or Ryan. I think if Moore comes in Howe should be a lock for Ryans, Goldsask takes on Darling.

I reckon it’s got to be Moore.
Causes so many issues for Simpson.
- Kennedy covered
- Grundy gets a chip out in the ruck against Vardy/Lycett if they try to run with him as they did Gawn last week
- no dramatic decrease in leg speed compared to Reid
- A further fwd option if needed
- another link man on the wing if needed
- can play Ruck to let Grundy and Cox rest or go forward.

With this additional flexibility Moore give us great additional strength while dramatically disarming WC and potential strategic options.
If Moore plays 4 QTRS I can’t see us losing.

Simpson will breath a huge sigh of relief if he doesn’t see Moore on team sheet.

So if fit Moore is a no brained IMO.

I reckon it’s got to be Moore.
Causes so many issues for Simpson.
- Kennedy covered
- Grundy gets a chip out in the ruck against Vardy/Lycett if they try to run with him as they did Gawn last week
- no dramatic decrease in leg speed compared to Reid
- A further fwd option if needed
- another link man on the wing if needed
- can play Ruck to let Grundy and Cox rest or go forward.

With this additional flexibility Moore give us great additional strength while dramatically disarming WC and potential strategic options.
If Moore plays 4 QTRS I can’t see us losing.

Simpson will breath a huge sigh of relief if he doesn’t see Moore on team sheet.

Who would he replace?
WC have a lot of small, quicks which are going to be very dangerous if they're not put under enormous pressure.

Holy shit McGovern can’t even jog.

That’s gonna need a LOT of jabs. Could have another Martin situation there.

Everyone in the media is still referring to a corked hip but it looked much more like a rib injury to me. And obviously if it was, Simpson would love to deflect attention from that with red herring.

I had heard whispers of ribs.

I’d wager Collingwood would know. My guess is Mayne goes straight to him and works him over thoroughly.

I hate to say this again but the risky option is to leave the team the same when we have 2 players who can combat their biggest threats in Kennedy and Darling. Leave it the same there is no plan B. Either one gets off the chain there is no option.
Reid is an AA backman has played in a GF and only needs to last one game.

I seriously can’t see the match committee not taking the option of taking down their big guns without taking anything away from our team. Let’s face it Aish has been making up the numbers.

The extra big guy leaves Howe and Langdon to drift off their opponents to be the third man up.

Loyalty is good and the team has got us here but this team lost to the eagles and beat 2 other sides with 1 big guy and even then Jack kicked 5.

One change is all that sits between us and the flag.
Plan B is we use Mihocek

Everyone in the media is still referring to a corked hip but it looked much more like a rib injury to me.
I saw the footage, he got hit in the right ribs.
He was making his way off and as he got to the boundary he grabbed his left hip area.
iu

And 9kg.

That's the real killer and why Dunn at 102kg remains a viable key defensive option at 192cm.

I am glad you seem to understand this point Swoop. It is the weight advantage that is a concern, even if the GF is a bit wet.

Goldsack had 2 goals & 4 points kicked against him in a half of football last time he played on Kennedy, who was rusty.
Goldsack then had 5 kicked against him last week by an accurate Riewoldt.
I can't see the harm in having Moore in the team. Start him on Vardy and switch to Kennedy if he beats Golsdack too frequently.
Moore moves as well as Goldsack, has longer reach and more bulk.
He's had 7 weeks of rehab on his hamstring and declared himself fit before the prelim.
There are reasons to keep the team stable, but we didn't have the option to strengthen our team with Moore last time against the Eagles.
We had no requirement against Richmond for him given Riewoldt was their only tall marking target. This proved OK because the rest of our defence got the job done despite Goldsack being unable to contain Riewoldt.

Now we do have that option. Horses for courses.
I don't think we name any changes, but I would be an advocate of Moore getting a game before an unlucky Aish or Mayne.

I would NOT play Howe if he is not above 90% at the least. In 2011 granny, our boys were out of steam and a couple players were playing with niggles, and it showed. I would much rather play Moore or Reid down back, instead of an injured Howe. But the doctors know what is best, and won't play him if he won't be able to do what he does best.

2011 we fell into the GF and ran out of legs. This season is different, we've been up against it all year but found a way to get into the top 4. 5 mins of good footy from hosting a prelim. As it turned out it didn't matter, we pole axed the unbeatable at the G Tigers side. We're hitting our straps now, Howe will be fine and the coaches will back the system in over picking an extra tall in the wet.

I had heard whispers of ribs.

I’d wager Collingwood would know. My guess is Mayne goes straight to him and works him over thoroughly.

Degoey might be the best man for that job plus has a billion times more mongrel in him than Mayne who's a vegan.

Watching/listening to Bucks, trying to read his body language etc. I think the Moore/Reid decision is well and truly up in the air, would not surprise me one little bit. The more I think about it, the more I'm inclined to pull the trigger on Moore. It would require a slight reshuffle but in the end gives us so much more flexibility.

Would require Greenwood to go back and play small, so no run with player, whilst Langdon would then most likely pick up a medium like Cripps/LeCras. Man I'm happy I don't have to make this decision.

Also re McGovern,jabs or no jabs, if you can't run at this stage of the week you're going in very sore. Goes for Howe as well...

Degoey might be the best man for that job plus has a billion times more mungral in him than Mayne who's a vegan.
I think JDGs mongrel is more in his attack on footy. Haven’t seen him against the player as yet. Maynard, Adams and Greenwood would be our “enforcers” i’d say.

2011 we fell into the GF and ran out of legs. This season is different, we've been up against it all year but found a way to get into the top 4. 5 mins of good footy from hosting a prelim. As it turned out it didn't matter, we pole axed the unbeatable at the G Tigers side. We're hitting our straps now, Howe will be fine and the coaches will back the system in over picking an extra tall in the wet.
Hope so mate

Moore is the very tempting inclusion. On a match up basis he is a no brainer, the only reason to exclude him is his dodgy body - we still need 4 qtrs from him.

Moore is a great fit for Kennedy and can also take the resting Vardy/Lycett. This frees up Goldy to take Darling. I love that match up. I don't like Goldy on Kennedy & Howe on Darling. So Moore has a duel effect and gets some nicer match ups. From there Langdon & Howe can be real intercepting defender threats or do a job on Cripps.

This is a tough call for match committee. Big risk either way. If included and he breaks down its a disaster, if he is excluded and Kennedy/Darling takes us to the cleaners its a disaster.

Then there is the issue of who to leave out....who would be a coach. All I can come up with is Aish to be unlucky if we decide on Moore.

Reid is an option too but I am not as sold that he can come in and do a job on Kennedy - not sure why, perhaps I have forgotten his capabilities.

Preview NO CHANGE - Grand Final v West Coast Eagles, Saturday at MCG