MFC Fans Only Non-Dees Footy Chat 2022

I've never had the misfortune to hear that awful theme music for that awful show on foxtel best on ground. Just analyse the game nobody wants this light entertaining s**t.

As much as like Robbo, as soon as that show comes on I have to turn it off or Ill die from cringe.

everything about BOG is a complete shit show.

As much as like Robbo, as soon as that show comes on I have to turn it off or Ill die from cringe.

everything about BOG is a complete s**t show.
Yep love robbo but I don't want to listen to him play music on a footy show, if I want to see robbo perform his music I'll go to one of his gigs. They are trying to get unfunny people to be funny it's so cringe worthy

The game when Max ripped his hammy off the bone was definitely at the dome, that much im certain of. IDK who else we had in the ruck that day but im pretty sure they went down also
Geelong. Max ripped his hammy and Jack Watts went all hero of the day and commentators pet by taking a fair bit of the ruck work, and also we missed a zillion goals and Chris Scott was a w***er afterwards.

I think this was what happened but I could have made some kind of collage of bad moments there

All jokes though and it sucks that it's us but it's awesome that attacking systems in Sydney and Collingwood have both beaten us and Freo. Would be awesome if attack started taking over from this boring ass defense first footyball

I went and watched the game tonight in the most miserable MCG weather I can remember so you all didn't have to!

Didn't have much planned for the night so thought I'd go and watch a finals preview. Yuck. Boring as **** except when Curnow kicked a few to keep them in it early.

Observations:
  • Geelong carve teams up through the corridor like I've not seen for years. They barely touch the wings, even at the G where I was pretty hopeful the width would find them out. It's been a filthy windy night as anyone in Melbourne can confirm, but the Blues got sucked in to playing it wide and Geelong pounced on the inevitable skill errors.
  • Their raking kicks cut through Carlton's zone, not that they had much of one, with ease. They used the wind to their advantage, forced men up the ground and then ran hard back into the 50 to try and get one of the big 2 in a 1v1 with Stengle at their feet. Amazing how much of a difference running both ways makes. They want it badly this year, like we did last year, and it shows.
  • Their defence is a margin better than ours these days, and that's without Stewart who is their Lever but better man on man. SDK and Henry are still babies, the Cats aren't going to fall into a black hole with those two as anchors.
  • Geelong barely relies on Dangerwood at all anymore. Ominous. They still need Hawkins, who will be a huge loss, but Cameron finding his 2013-15 form will negate that.
  • Carlton heavily reliant on their big two mids and big two forwards. Their pressure players are incredibly hit and miss. In perfect conditions, particularly at Marvel, I rate them highly but I'm not sure they're ready for the heat of finals.
  • Our chip, chip, chip, long kick into the 50 game looks a touch dated looking at the way the Cats used the corridor this and last week. We essentially need everyone in form to play the way we want to, and I haven't seen that this year, especially with the way the next hit up option up the line often fails to present when we play wide. An in form Max is essentially crucial to beating Geelong as he'll have to sit in the hole all day.

Ideally us having won a flag and them not having won one for years and being notoriously yippy late September will help us come finals time if we play them. I think we'll find some form and finish 2nd or 3rd, so I don't think we'll play them until GF day if we both make it, or PF day if we lose the QF and win the SF.

All jokes though and it sucks that it's us but it's awesome that attacking systems in Sydney and Collingwood have both beaten us and Freo. Would be awesome if attack started taking over from this boring ass defense first footyball
You know I think you're a nostalgic old grouch, but its hard to disagree with this take. A close game of footy is amazing regardless of defence vs attack, but any other type of game not involving the Dees is pointless to watch these days. 15-20 years ago you could still enjoy watching teams kick goals, and that's just a number I've picked from when I was a kid. Love him, but Roos created this monster.

As much as I hate it the bloody stand rule has helped this. It's got teams attacking from marks now instead of going back over it. That combined with the quicker you move it the harder it is to set up defensively maybe it's swinging back slightly. Still maintain they need to take 2 off the ground. The field was defended decently when teams had part time players. Now the same field is clogged up easily with full time athletes. Need to go to 16 a side.

Going to 16 would also mean shallower lists, which would make a Tassie team easier. I'm all for it.

An should narrow the gap even slightly between the best and worst. All of a sudden Sparrow, Bedford Chandler and Weid etc would ask to be traded because they start not getting games. Extra space means better kicking skills.

Great call.

I’d absolutely love it if attacking footy was the next phase of the comp but fair to say it wouldn’t suit us hahah.

Sydney has about 10 elite kicks in their team. They are so good to watch. Given time and space, and if they match teams in close, they’re a legit contender.

Great call.

I’d absolutely love it if attacking footy was the next phase of the comp but fair to say it wouldn’t suit us hahah.

Sydney has about 10 elite kicks in their team. They are so good to watch. Given time and space, and if they match teams in close, they’re a legit contender.

Not a contender imo. Problem with the attacking style is Sydney especially concede way too much. A bad game for them and they lose, we arguably played 10 bad games to start the season and won them all that's why defence will always win.

But I'd love to be wrong, love the swans to win it if we don't

Not a fan of removing 2 men from the ground, more a fan of continuing to bring down interchange rotations. Cap it to 40 if you have to.

Do both. I'd **** rotations off completely and just have 4 changes per quarter. I miss the days of a bloke giving away 50 and getting dragged

Do both. I'd * rotations off completely and just have 4 changes per quarter. I miss the days of a bloke giving away 50 and getting dragged

Its more about the game being played with 18 per team on the field forever, not a fan from a historical perspective. Would rather each team only have two players on the bench if we are going down that path.

Yeah or no bench and subs. I hated rule changes but I'd be genuinely interested to see if the field opens up with 16.

Do both. I'd * rotations off completely and just have 4 changes per quarter. I miss the days of a bloke giving away 50 and getting dragged
This makes me think of the round of 2002, still remember my mate asking me where is woewodin? I reckon he got very little game time, in retrospect a sign he was already out of favour with Daniher. I remember trying to spot him but seeing a similar looking Armstrong instead (blonde hair number 2). On a side note neitz had 11 disposals that day, eight marks and zero hand passes, and kicked 5.2 so basically mark and shot at goal, which is his job. Also had that bone crushing bump and goal.

The other game I remember was farmer vs Collingwood 2000, basically put on the bench because he was playing shit and only got game time because Ben beams got injured, after that farmer went on to kick nine.

Not a contender imo. Problem with the attacking style is Sydney especially concede way too much. A bad game for them and they lose, we arguably played 10 bad games to start the season and won them all that's why defence will always win.

But I'd love to be wrong, love the swans to win it if we don't

I don’t disagree but that’s why I said they are a contender if they match teams on the inside, which is even more important in finals. Warner has been amazing on the inside in recent weeks which is a massive plus for them.

Genuinely think there are six teams that can win the flag this year, pretty even at the top. Geelong, Freo, Us, Sydney, Collingwood, Brisbane. All of their best is enough to beat each other on their day.
The Pies are winning games by the skin of their teeth. 6 wins by under 2 goals. Ominously good given we’re they were last year, but not a flag threat IMO. Any drop off in their manic pressure and it’s game over, and that will happen by the time September comes.

Collingwood are Essendon of last year.

MFC Fans Only Non-Dees Footy Chat 2022