Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion - Part 2

I asked over on the Freo board about this Murph stuff but they’re more interested in a shitshow involving Bell & Longmuir. There’s an entertaining thread over there . All is far from happy at the Dockers.

Was anyone else disappointed with that weird ass jumper we wore on Friday night? We have one of the best clash guernseys and we’ve let some high school art student stuff it up royally. I’ve always thought we never quite value our guernsey enough at Footscray. Like to hear what others think?
What one of the other white ones you reckon is good? I’m not keen on any of them but I like the old vertical RWB one

I really like our regular white one which is just a simple inverse of our home guernsey. But yeah that old night series white one with the two vertical red and blue stripes was awesome. Central Districts in Adelaide used it for years after we introduced it I think?? If our marketing people had any interest in our history that vertical one would be great to be used for one year as our clash.

Was anyone else disappointed with that weird ass jumper we wore on Friday night? We have one of the best clash guernseys and we’ve let some high school art student stuff it up royally. I’ve always thought we never quite value our guernsey enough at Footscray. Like to hear what others think?
It was werid, but we're undefeated in it

The larger hoops are required to balance out the sea of white that extends from the neck to the nether regions.

Predominantly white guernseys are terrible by their very nature. This isn't helped by our traditional version only having two hoops.

Something that looks great against the blue. Not so much against the white.

The white version will always look like bleached arse.

Western Bulldogs a topic on Hard Quiz tonight at 8:00. Should be a good watch to test our knowledge.
The contestant is the person who manages the Footscray FC account that focuses on a given year (1953 this year) and reports on all matches (in real time as the match would have happened) and tidbits from that year. Puts a lot of work into it.

Well done Cyrus.

They were the days!

Don't know about you, young man, but standing at the Geelong Rd end that day on the hill was bloody freezing!
Know what you mean.
I was at the Cowshed end - but it hadn't even been built then ☃️🤧
Looxury! I had to stand in river of piss because t' amenities were only built for crowd of 10000.*

* Actually this would have been true right up to the 1990s

They were the days!

Don't know about you, young man, but standing at the Geelong Rd end that day on the hill was bloody freezing!

Hey gj , I used to stand down that end on the hill.
win loose or draw it was a laugh a minute with some of the characters around at the time.

maybe some of those whackers was you 😀

Hey gj , I used to stand down that end on the hill.
win loose or draw it was a laugh a minute with some of the characters around at the time.

maybe some of those whackers was you 😀
I stood on the members' side pocket King. Often brought mates who barracked for oppo teams along, enjoyed a lot of wisecracking between us.

I know a few people were annoyed the day Adrian McAdam kicked a bag for North, 1993. I think it was the same game Wheels played Leon Cameron at CHB on Carey. I took a North and an Essendon mate, and my Essendon mate kept calling McAdam the "Scotsman". We had a bit of fun with that, a few near us were amused, but some people took offence, still not sure why. We actually enjoyed his marking and he played a great game, and we had a crack at players on both sides, nothing abusive. North had a "German" playing that day, plus Ischenko, we had Liber, Danny D and Kolyniuk, we went off on a tangent about the United Nations, roped in some lines from Monty Python. Thoroughly amusing to us (and not even alcohol-fuelled, as I've hardly ever had a drink at the footy), but I guess you had to understand our sense of humour!

Anyway that was my 80s and 90s after I started driving, in the 70s I usually stood on the terraces in front of the Gent stand with friends.

I flew in for the match. Took me five days and 16 stops to get here. At least I enjoyed the free drinks in First Class. No Prohibition over the Pacific. QANTAS was late as usual and lost my portmanteau. At least I had my Gladstone bag as a carry on.

On SM-A135F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I stood on the members' side pocket King. Often brought mates who barracked for oppo teams along, enjoyed a lot of wisecracking between us.

I know a few people were annoyed the day Adrian McAdam kicked a bag for North, 1993. I think it was the same game Wheels played Leon Cameron at CHB on Carey. I took a North and an Essendon mate, and my Essendon mate kept calling McAdam the "Scotsman". We had a bit of fun with that, a few near us were amused, but some people took offence, still not sure why. We actually enjoyed his marking and he played a great game, and we had a crack at players on both sides, nothing abusive. North had a "German" playing that day, plus Ischenko, we had Liber, Danny D and Kolyniuk, we went off on a tangent about the United Nations, roped in some lines from Monty Python. Thoroughly amusing to us (and not even alcohol-fuelled, as I've hardly ever had a drink at the footy), but I guess you had to understand our sense of humour!

Anyway that was my 80s and 90s after I started driving, in the 70s I usually stood on the terraces in front of the Gent stand with friends.

Ah ! So it was you you lot 😂
They were great times , and we must have been nearby cause we stood on that side as well.

Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion - Part 2