List Mgmt. OFFICIAL: Josh Caddy + 56 traded to Richmond for 24 and 64

keep caddy
recruit smith, instead of giving up cash to the med room
and a flag is ours
How do you propose we keep a player who expressed their wishes to leave? More to the point - why would you want to keep a player who no longer wants to play for the club?

And how exactly do you recruit a player via a trade when said player doesn't want to join the club?

How do you propose we keep a player who expressed their wishes to leave? More to the point - why would you want to keep a player who no longer wants to play for the club?

And how exactly do you recruit a player via a trade when said player doesn't want to join the club?
caddy was going nowhere until we chased deludio, and stuffed it up
he bought a house in g town, and was set
after we put the idea in his head, richmond offered him cah, prestia was there

it was all over

lets not change the facts about who caused this transaction

You mean a contracted player?
"It's a bit of a funny feeling, it's something I didn't see coming a couple of weeks ago," Caddy said.

"I suppose that's footy, isn't it?

"I felt it was a good opportunity for me to further my career."

The Tigers also allowed restricted free agent Ty Vickery to join Hawthorn, while veteran Brett Deledio wants to move to Greater Western Sydney after initially drawing interest from the Cats.

"That was probably the original reason why," Caddy said.

"Brett expressed a desire to go to Geelong and Geelong didn't have picks and my name was thrown up and it was put to me would I possibly think about that.

"That was the first time I really did think about it.
So basically WE initiated it even though he was still contracted. Stop making stuff up. The club ****ed up - accept it. Imagine if we ended up with ****ing Deledio instead of the pick - what a cluster****.

He's playing well in the best team in the comp. When he played for us he was inconsistent 2nd stringer along with Motlop, Guthrie and Blivcas( When he was a mid). Put him in our fwd line with our slow chip sideways gameplan and he will be a spud again.

Couldn't care less about Caddy - he was happy to go to a team that promised him midfield time and clearly couldn't less about playing for Geelong any longer & earning his run in the midfield.

The fact he no longer wanted to play in the blue & white is enough for me to say to get rid of the player - no point keeping someone who doesn't want to stay.

I'm happy to see the development of Parfitt & Narkle - two players we received from the draft picks in the Caddy trade
Stop lying dude - its old. Geelong initiated the trade - he was still contracted and stated it on the record that it was GEELONG who initiated it. Not cool you are making things up. How would you feel if your boss came to you and said mmm we would like to move you on for an over the hill Deledio - of course he wanted to leave after that.. So much BS posted here.

Caddy's interest in going to Richmond started after they traded in his best mate Prestia & when Richmond offered him the opportunity to play through the midfield

Let's be honest - Geelong had no interest in trading Caddy. It was Richmond who approached him first, then Prestia talking to him and then him asking to go to Richmond.

If he wanted to stay he would have - it was his decision to go, not Geelong's

Casey's interest in going to Richmond started after they traded in his best mate Prestia & when Richmond offered him the opportunity to play through the midfield

Let's be honest - Geelong had no interest in trading Caddy. It was Richmond who approached him first, then Prestia talking to him and then him asking to go to Richmond.

If he wanted to stay he would have - it was his decision to go, not Geelong's
So much BS - surprised its allowed to be posted. Why the **** would he buy a house in Geelong when he already knew he wants to leave? You are calling Caddy and Steve Hocking liars - you have NFI. Its ok dude - Hocking tells us we have Darcy Lang and Cockatoo to cover for Caddy anyway..

“The other part for us is that guys like Cockatoo and Darcy Lang will find more time in the midfield with the opportunity that has been presented as well.

We achieved what we needed to achieve, and that was to get back into the draft and also to make sure that moving forward our salary cap was managed in responsible way.

A chance to re-hash old arguments over old trades... Subscribed

giphy.gif

Not really... Unsubscribed :D
So much BS posted here
You'd know :moustache:

A chance to re-hash old arguments over old trades... Subscribed

Not really... Unsubscribed :D

You'd know :moustache:
It's OK I know its hard to accept our magical club ****ed a few things up - a lot of people like their head in the sand. And thats coming from someone called Emu. Instead of just accepting it and saying yep we ****ed up a few here instead make things up and lie to try protect the club... Disgraceful

Stop lying dude - its old. Geelong initiated the trade - he was still contracted and stated it on the record that it was GEELONG who initiated it. Not cool you are making things up. How would you feel if your boss came to you and said mmm we would like to move you on for an over the hill Deledio - of course he wanted to leave after that.. So much BS posted here.
Fabricated lies that have been disproved time and time again.

I know - so how can people keep trying to lie by telling us Caddy initiated the trade. Its on RECORD from multiple sources who would know why and how it all played out. Instead we have supporters making things up with no evidence whatsoever. Quite funny.

It's OK I know its hard to accept our magical club ****** a few things up - a lot of people like their head in the sand. And thats coming from someone called Emu.
This furphy again. The mental gymnastics some perform because their negative diatribe is called out as being full of shite.
Most notably... You don't criticise the club!!!! Happy clapper!!!! fan-boi!!!! You think they make no mistakes!!!!

#derp #digupstupid

I guess Caddy was mistaken when he said that Prestia influenced his decision to move to Richmond:

He said the opportunity to play with good mate Dion Prestia also influenced the decision.
“I’d be lying if I said it didn’t. We’ve been mates since we were kids. We played Vic Metro together and obviously got drafted together.
“When things transpired, when he got wind of that he was into me straight away.”

I don't think they've been disproved... its more just that we don't have a definitive story, so who knows?

Nothing is really known.
The preponderance of evidence is Richmond initiated the trade.

Show me this evidence. And also tell me how you know both Caddy and Steve Hocking are lying on record about how it went down?

Cats_09 what part don't you get about Geelong offering Caddy to clear space? OF COURSE HE WOULD BE PISSED.. FFS why is this so hard to understand - if your boss came and offered to get rid of you no shit you are going to want to leave. They are saying you aren't that valuable... My god banging head type of stuff. I didn't think our supporters were this thick.

So much BS - surprised its allowed to be posted. Why the **** would he buy a house in Geelong when he already knew he wants to leave? You are calling Caddy and Steve Hocking liars - you have NFI. Its ok dude - Hocking tells us we have Darcy Lang and Cockatoo to cover for Caddy anyway..

Lol - someone needs to chill.

You seem to get really amped up at times - you need to relax

I know - so how can people keep trying to lie by telling us Caddy initiated the trade. Its on RECORD from multiple sources who would know why and how it all played out. Instead we have supporters making things up with no evidence whatsoever. Quite funny.
Richmond initiated the trade.

Gale didn’t think any more about the conversation until the following week when he was in a list management meeting at Punt Rd, just a few hundred metres from where the September Club function was held. The discussion centred on Geelong’s interest in Tigers’ veteran Brett Deledio, which Richmond was sure the Cats couldn’t get done in terms of draft picks or players.

But as the talk narrowed, Gale raised his casual chat with Saul Caddy, and the unlikely opportunity it had presented for a club eager for a hard-bodied midfielder who was capable of going forward and kicking multiple goals.

“I just said to ‘Balmey’ (Neil Balme), (list manager) Blair (Hartley) and ‘Richo’ (then Tigers general manager of football talent Dan Richardson) that I had bumped into Saul, and that it might be worth following up,” Gale said.

They went to work on it, and it had nothing to do with me. He was just the sort of player who made sense for us.”

As it turned out, Deledio chose the Giants, and Caddy — receptive to a move to Punt Rd and eager for more game time in the midfield — ended up being a shock trade to Richmond for picks 26 (Brandon Parfitt) and 60 (Quinton Narkle).

Gale gives all the credit for securing Caddy to Richmond’s list management team, who took his initial tip-off, and made it happen.

And also tell me how you know both Caddy and Steve Hocking are lying on record about how it went down?
No they didn’t. They never said anything resembling what you claim.

Why is it so hard to understand that Caddy was receptive to a move AFTER Geelong already brought it up in the Deledio trade?
Incorrect. See above. Richmond sought Caddy.

I don’t think he would be the player he is now if he was still with us. Reckon he has had a light bulb moment 3rad club at 25. Looks fitter and has definitely improved his kicking

If the club had their way we'd have ended up with Deledio which would've been an unmitigated disaster. Parfitt and Narkle are much more palatable than the Deledio alternative they were persuing. Could have been much worse.

Hopefully they've learned a lesson if Kelly wants to leave. Can't let quality players leave for cheap when our depth is already shallow. Apart from a few nice puff pieces from the media, being the nice guys at the trade table doesn't get you much.