And bobby, you need to factor in he needs 30 set shots to kick 10.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
We've probably thought that every year for the past four, but he keeps getting games.fair enough mate.
Brissie have holes. We know that.
But it doesn't mean we'll rue it. Take out Clark if you like. I still don't see how he plays at Geelong.
Smart move by walker.
I reckon the Gabba is a great ground for marking forwards one good kick out of the centre and you're inside 50 and there's plenty of space to work in with wide flanks and deep pockets.The deeper forward Walker plays the more value he will be at the Lions.19 goals 10 from 16 games as a part time forward for us this year, 40+ goals next year with the Lions should be the expectation and I think achievable.Happy for him to have a shit day against us though.If he takes 5 marks a game.
And let's say 2 are inside 50 marks, then yep he can do it.
But I think it's optimistic to expect 2 inside 50's a game
You put yourself in his boots SJ what's your decision.I'd have done what he has.We've probably thought that every year for the past four, but he keeps getting games.
Goes to show his round 18 performance against the Lions was not a one off at all. If he has the ability to dominate whenever he chooses, sky's the limit at Brisbane.
We will rue this one.
Not going to be a superstar but a consistent 40 goals per season it what we have just passed off.
Brissie might have more clearances, Bobby, but we average over 5.5 more I50s per game than they do.Your just making him out to be a lot worse than what he actually is.
I reckon he's a terrific mark. He'll be the preferred target inside forward fifty at Brisbane. They have a better midfield than Geelong's who average a lot more clearances and now they have some forward targets to aim for. This will see Walker get a lot more looks as he often had to play half a game forward then pinch hit in ruck.
Bundy will assist him a few goals too along the way.
23yrs and with another preseason under his belt, little stronger, he's going to be a handful for any defender.
Don't forget Walker will now be taking on the first or second best defender from the opposition - something that didn't happen a lot down here. Can you see him kicking bags on the likes of Rance and Talia?
Neither was Hawkins in his 4th year playing ruck forward 2010 and Walker is a big bugger too,if he can maintain his overhead marking ability into the future he will become formidable,remember as we speak he's 22 YOA.Don't forget Walker will now be taking on the first or second best defender from the opposition - something that didn't happen a lot down here. Can you see him kicking bags on the likes of Rance and Talia?
Good point, hbk- he will have to learn how to cope with being double teamed, blocked, scragged and pushed in the back. Hopefully he will play angry and overcome these tactics. If he can get a good run at it, at least we know he can mark the ball and I think we will see that he has a point to prove and will be determined to show us what we're missing out on. His goal kicking really improved over the last couple of years- he had a bit of a setback this year but he showed at least he was willing to work hard on improving that part of his game.Don't forget Walker will now be taking on the first or second best defender from the opposition - something that didn't happen a lot down here. Can you see him kicking bags on the likes of Rance and Talia?
Think you are struggling. Finishing in the top ten in your first year in a good side is a very good effort. Football 101. Putting that aside he was harder in the contest, got to more contests, was fiitter...........= better.Yeah, top 10 in a team that finished 12th is easier than top 10 from a team that won 17 games in 2014 en route to top 4.
I hope he does as I know the family but I just can see him being "formidable". Serviceable yes.Neither was Hawkins in his 4th year playing ruck forward 2010 and Walker is a big bugger too,if he can maintain his overhead marking ability into the future he will become formidable,remember as we speak he's 22 YOA.
Don't forget Walker will now be taking on the first or second best defender from the opposition - something that didn't happen a lot down here. Can you see him kicking bags on the likes of Rance and Talia?
Neither was Hawkins in his 4th year playing ruck forward 2010 and Walker is a big bugger too,if he can maintain his overhead marking ability into the future he will become formidable,remember as we speak he's 22 YOA.
He won't get a kick on Rance.
You might be right but a quick look and it seams Hawkins averages 2 goal a game on Rance and he's held big Tom goalless, the pass mark for Walker then would be?He won't get a kick on Rance.
You might be right but a quick look and it seams Hawkins averages 2 goal a game on Rance and he's held big Tom goalless, the pass mark for Walker then would be?
Strange choice to only dominate in games against two of the bottom 3 teams
But Walker still needs to match or better Tomahawk? your a hard marker Patridge.Anything around two goals or better would be a decent return. Rance is absolutely top drawer now.
But Walker still needs to match or better Tomahawk? your a hard marker Patridge.
He won't get much of it against many of the oppositions number 1 backs in my opinion, and he won't get any help at Brisbane in the way of blocks either IMO.He won't get a kick on Rance.
Your right in all you say and we I think both agree these things need to be judged over time not on one outcome,for instance I remember Mooney playing on Glass one day a few years back and leading him a merry dance,there are a lot of variables in our game.I didn't say that. I said two goals is a good return. I think Hawkins is still a better player. But I also think any key forward has a tough job getting a touch on Rance now. Watching him now is like watching Scarlett in 2003/04.