Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread

Any news on why Sirra, Garlett and Sammy Wright missed?

Wrighty was just because they're being careful with the shoulder, Garlett was such a late scratch I thought he was on the bench for the first 15 minutes so not sure there, and they're just being ultra careful with Sierakowski for a reason I couldn't find out. He was moving at 100% before the game though so probably just a precautionary thing.

:thumbsu: Thanks mate.

Folks, here is my report from the game on Tuesday albeit a tad late.

The following players did not play: Lynch, Garlett, Curran, Kennedy, Daw, Sierakowski, Wright, Richardson

Gibson looked to run well, and has good pace. Physically he looks like he is AFL standard. Ran to the right spaces and will likely see some action in 2012.

Mangan did not do much, we played him in the BP. Looks like a Leigh Brown size not big enough but not small enough. Can’t see him playing AFL in 2012.

Warren (max) Stocky lil bloke. We played him in the PB. Like Garlett when he first joined, lots of puppy fat.

Cam Delaney is still very skinny. Still a year or two away from AFL standard.

Mabon – Still a year or two off. Terrible kicking. Saw him kick poorly on three occasions (including two total shanks) and he missed a set shot from 30m.

Cunnington – great hands in tight. Physically looks like he is in great nick. Kicked a lovely goal from a set shot while 50m out. Got a lot of the ball and used it well. Tackling is first class.

Goldy – Swapped with H and dropped back a fair bit whilst H dropped forward.

Urquhart – struggled even in the intraclub game. Really has gone downhill fast. Played him deep in the back line.

Hansen played CHB and looked better their but then again I always said that.

Tarrant played deep in the forward line with Petrie but did fill me with confidence. Bloke next to me was bagging him but he has only played 9 or so AFL games. Needs to have a big year as we can’t keep waiting for ever.

Anthony played off half back and did not stand out.

Mckenzie’s nick name is Fish, don’t know why. Played of HBF and did some nice things. Kick looks good but I’m not going to say amazing (ala Wells) just yet. Is a dead ringer for A Stevens, especially when he has his hands on his hips (might of meant he was puffing a bit but that is expected).

Gibson, Harper, JMac went to the midfield group during the break.

Hamish played well and looks hungry for the footy, even getting in hard and low at times. Took some nice contested grabs and kicked well.

Thompson and Spud cut off a lot of entries into the back line as you would expect but they were up against easy opposition.

Generally I thought the skills were poor but then again it early in the season. Made some simple mistakes which lead to turn overs and they killed us against the top team in 2011.

Thomas played further up the field which looked good and his kicking to advantage in the forward line is a strength. Kicked 4. His teams mates were giving him heaps whilst lining up which is good to see.

Harper has turned out to be a good size. I’m expecting big thing from him in 2012 (I picked him being as a smokey last year)

Hard to tell the following players apart as they did not wear numbers:
• Swallow
• Basti
• Levi
• Speight

Our forward line structure looked like this- Petrie, Tarrant, Edwards, Campbell playing deep, with Adams and Thomas playing off the centre square.

Our back line was Spud, Grima, Delaney, Thompson, McMahon (one of those swapping though)With Hansen and Atley playing of half back.

I did not notice Mullet at all.

Over and out.
K

Thanks for the write up kopano:thumbsu:

Our forward line structure looked like this- Petrie, Tarrant, Edwards, Campbell playing deep, with Adams and Thomas playing off the centre square.

This sounds excellent.

Thanks kopano.

Mckenzie’s nick name is Fish, don’t know why. Played of HBF and did some nice things. Kick looks good but I’m not going to say amazing (ala Wells) just yet. Is a dead ringer for A Stevens, especially when he has his hands on his hips (might of meant he was puffing a bit but that is expected).

I did not notice Mullet at all.

Sure Kopano?

Nice write-up.

Who was wearing Richardsons jumper?

Curran no longer wearing the moonboot.....

140212_training_ia.jpg

http://www.kangaroos.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/128924/default.aspx

Traning 20/02/12

Went along to training this afternoont, not much to report but though I'd post my observations for those of you desperate for footy info.

Looked pretty much like the whole squad was out there. It was a freshen up type of skills session you'd expect on a Monday after a game. Lots of running, link up drills and long kicks (45+ meter kicks) to a leading player, there were no contact or tackling drills. I'm sorry to say that the kicking skills in general were quite poor.

Adams and Wright trained away from the main group then joined in.

Tom Curren trained on his own mainly with Turtle lots of kicking and skills work. I eaves dropped on a conversation he was having with Donald McDonald and heard him say he was 2 weeks away from joining in full training. I also heard him say he hopes to play a game this year.

Wellsy held the tackle bag during one of the drills. The ball was rolled in his direction and one player at a time had to run in and pick the ball up at ground level while getting bumped by Wellsy who was holding the bag against his hip in an attempt to replicate body contact. Wellsy participating in this type of drill shows me he's not far away from the contact drills.

Luke Delaney participated in 1/2 the session then rode a stationary bike on the sidelines for the remainder of the session was really sweating it up towards the end.

Other observations: Azza looks trim and has some added ink, Ben Warren looks like a ball of muscle, Pedersen was vocal, Goldy swore when he missed picking up a ball below his knees, Lynch looks quick and lively, Boomer was having a chat to Lindsey about positioning.

On a personal note the highlight for me was when we arrived and my son stumbled across a brand new Sherrin without a mark on it that had been left behind in the cricket nets. (Probably a wayward Lindsay Thomas kick at goal) The ball was obviously a club ball it had a club logo and sponsors logos on it. As tempting as it was to turn around and walk straight back to the car with it I thought it would be a good opportunity for the boy to learn a lesson about doing the right thing. When we got closer to the club rooms I encourage my son to walk over to one of the trainers and hand the ball back. Shortly afterwards the trainer came over to us to tell me I should be proud of my son for being so honest he then went into the clubrooms and returned with a replacement used Sherrin in great condition for my son who was absolutely over the moon. How good is that!

Re: Traning 20/02/12

Great! Thanks for the summary sal :thumbsu:

On a personal note the highlight for me was when we arrived and my son stumbled across a brand new Sherrin without a mark on it that had been left behind in the cricket nets. (Probably a wayward Lindsay Thomas kick at goal) The ball was obviously a club ball it had a club logo and sponsors logos on it. As tempting as it was to turn around and walk straight back to the car with it I thought it would be a good opportunity for the boy to learn a lesson about doing the right thing. When we got closer to the club rooms I encourage my son to walk over to one of the trainers and hand the ball back. Shortly afterwards the trainer came over to us to tell me I should be proud of my son for being so honest he then went into the clubrooms and returned with a replacement used Sherrin in great condition for my son who was absolutely over the moon. How good is that!

This sorta thing just doesn't happen at other clubs....great to hear this type of stuff ;)

Curran was doing a lot if kicking, like you said. He kicked well off both feet, looked very comfortable. He was very accurate in front of goals kicking off his right. Sometimes slotting 3,4 in a row from a tight angle. They weren't booming kicks, but I imagine he's working back up to full power.

Absolutely loved seeing Aayden Kennedy out there. Had his right knee strapped but moved freely, changed direction, jumped, kicked and sprinted at times. I heard him asking Saunders, almost pleading, if he can start playing games. Not long now was the response. He still looked a quick, smooth mover, praying for a strong year of consolidation for the recoveree.

Richardson, Lynch were up and about. Did some rehab and some main group work.

As stated Wells took part in everything. It's the most contact I've seen so far. He wasn't even wearing the warning bib.

It's the first time I've seen Mabon mark with his hands extended with a ball coming at him with pace. He'd been putting a hell of a lot of work into it so it was good to see some progress. He took part as a leading forward in some of the drills. Still a long way off IMO.

Mullet used his pace when given the chance.

Sierra displayed some fine kicking at times.

Wright doesn't look too far off selection. If at all.

Brad Scott seemed very focused. Was very much 'hands on' tonight. Pulling people aside for chats, moving into drills to correct mistakes etc.

Thanks for the reports boys and loved the story of your son and the trainer salamander. I hope the club never ever loses it's welcoming generous community spirit. Based on that story, I doubt it will.

Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread