Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread

Lite drills before they hopped on the plane....

4(88).jpg

020312_Macmillan_ia1.jpg

1(136).jpg

Speaking of Gumbleton, how different would players of bygone eras have gone with today's number zero cut, compared with the half bald styles of yesteryear? Could have had a real mongrel look.

P1000534_(360x480).jpg

main_1991_afl_footy_stars_richmond_kevin_bartlett.jpg

... or maybe not. KB would have looked as tough as Scully, and Stewart Trott would have looked something like:

Elmer_Fudd.png

Ok, here goes,

Rocked up to Aegis and saw Cameras on Tripod's everywhere, then had to walk through a crowd of about 20 suits, male and female to get to the fairly occupied wooden benches. I thought, "Hooly Dooly what have we got here, another day of great news pouring out of the club?" I looked around for Teddy Baillieu but sadly, he didn't make it two days in a row.

Then Rick replied that it was the presser's, so I turned my attention to the footy, while they made their way up to Euge's balcony for a few chardy's and champagne's, what a life!

A class of school kids scurried by and set themselves up for some free time on the basketball court and the surrounding grass, possibly just after a session in "The Huddle". Their was certainly a buzz in the air and I took a few moments to think how good is this club, and the open door policy we have. My mind wandered and I wished I was a billionaire that bought up the surrounding factories and turned it into a world class community sports precinct...

Brad's whistle blew and my attention snapped back to the here and now.

On first glance it looked like a full squad, it almost was in fact, the only absentee I noted was mowman Lachie. Petrie was out there doing his thing so there certainly is no injury concerns on that front.
Sierra and Lynch were off to the side doing some kicking off both feet. Sierra had a few fingers strapped and was marking with the other, one handed, not sure on the severity there.

Players broke into two rows and did the kicking drill a bit like the westerns, where you start with your backs to each other then jog outwards, turn on the whistle then hit up the lead. They then paired up and this time one applied a bit of light pressure on the other as they repeated the drill. Good to see them adding a bit more pressure to even the basic drills

They then moved to say 5 or 6 groups, then hit each other up at about 85-90% intensity 25-35m apart. I definitely liked what I saw here. Strong leads, low kicks and very few missed targets. The coaches let the group know they were as pleased as I. Very crisp. Every single player looked the goods during this drill.

They then broke into two groups and did some full ground work. Cam and Luke were floating across the back of the zone and provided a strong aerial presence, cutting off or killing almost everything.

Hamish took a good one handed contested grab on Firrito, Spud just smiles and thinks what an assy ****. Hmac could barely wipe his grin off as he looked to find a target.

Ately played deep in defence, ran back from the mark while a sea of "Ats" "Ats "Ats" "Ats" called for the ball. "Which one should I hit, he's covered, he's covered, he's not on. Oh **** it, I'll just run around the mark and go for it" And that's what he did. Made whoever it was look like a statue. :)

MacKenzie looks skinny as, no secret, did a few nice I50's, looks like a 1st yr player when following his man around the ground. Not expecting much this year tbh. Will know a bit more after seeing him play I guess.

Anthony looked sharp. Azza too. I reckon we'll see his best footy this year. Matured, talks a lot more on the track, has become a bit of a leader IMO. Boomer and Wells got plenty of it. Urquart pulled off some great passing over distance, one of them being the stand out kick of the day.

They did a fair bit of clearing the ball by hand, again intensity was fairly high, disposal was clean. Looked pretty good.

Overall I walked away more pleased than I have done in the past. The proof will be in the pudding this weekend though. Hopefully the good ball use continues into the real thing.

Nice report Errol, it sounds as though the late fine tuning adjustments are in place and the machine is on running on time.

Only 3 weeks until we yet again meet the villainous scum.

I'm officially getting toey now.

My mind wandered and I wished I was a billionaire that bought up the surrounding factories and turned it into a world class community sports precinct...

Nice report OE.

I have this thought often when I go to Ageis Park

Anthony looked sharp. Azza too. I reckon we'll see his best footy this year. Matured, talks a lot more on the track, has become a bit of a leader IMO. Boomer and Wells got plenty of it. Urquart pulled off some great passing over distance, one of them being the stand out kick of the day.
Good to hear, I still rate LA highly and hope he dominates on Sunday to force himself into the team for round 1.

Thanks for the report OE, much appreciated:thumbsu:

Thanks OE. :thumbsu:

Reading that report I felt like I was there myself. Top stuff mate.

It made for better reading than previous reports on how poxy our kicking accuracy was, and how sloppy we were in general. It appears we're ramping things up nicely for round 1.

Bon certainly got fired up at training yesterday. Good to see.

061609-120209scott.jpg

Brad Scott musters his troops at yesterday's training session for tomorrow's NAB Cup game in Perth. Picture: Michael Dodge

Official Pre-Season Training Times, Photos and Discussion Thread