Port Adelaide v Hawthorn

which rule? was asking for a link to it
my understanding is non forceful contact on the shoulders such as what Rioli did is not a free

If you remember, the rules got changed so that defenders get pinged for holding their ground and have a hand in the back of a forward. Changes were made to all of the marking rules, I don't agree with all of them but they are there now.

But as a general point we got pinged about 3 times on the night for fresh air swings by foot at the ball with no prior including one against Krakeour which resulted in a goal to (Bruest I think).
He took Breust on and tried to break free from the tackle, that counts as prior.

Hodge gets tackled in the second quarter about 35 metres out directly in front of our goal and throws it, no free, but the ump sees the throw 10 seconds later by a port player.
Hodge had no prior, was tackled as soon as he got it and the ball spilled out, that's play on, although sometimes umpires incorrectly ping them for this. The one 10 seconds later the Port player again took someone on, tried to get around them, was tackled and dropped it. That's holding the ball. You are completely missing the no prior part of the rule. If you have had prior then you have to kick or handball it. If you have no prior then you just need to attempt to kick or handball and if it spills/drops out then it is play on. 90% of people at the game don't know this rule, I would say it is about 50% on Bigfooty.

Also you fail to mention about 1 minute after this play, Puopolo is clearly held on the wing - no free kick, then Hill can't grab the footy cleanly (happened many times during the game) and knocks it it out of bounds, gets pinged for deliberate and then dangerously gets pushed in the back on the boundary line into the waterboy on his seat.

We got pinged 6 or 7 times for ball drops with no prior (and no throw) at a success rate for you guys at close to 100%. There were just a heap of times it happened the other way dead in front of the umpire for donuts (I would say we got about 50% of them).
Examples please? Including the heaps of times dead in front of the umpire. So far your other examples have been wrong.

The thing that pissed me off the most though was a 50 metre penalty. There was a free paid on the wing. One of your players is correctly standing on the mark (because it was obvious where it was). The ball rolls about 5 metres behind the mark, and Gibson (I think) was doing that thing where you just stand over the ball so the player can't pick it up five metres over the ******* mark (when someone is already standing the mark) and he gets warned to leave after being there for 3-5 seconds so he leaves. 2-3 minutes later, Jake Neade oversteps the mark by maybe half a metre because he isn't 100% sure of where it is, no warning, you crossed the mark for .5 of a second , 50 metres bang. Same umpire as well. That kind of inconsistency is just indefensible. Did it change the result? Probably not.
Yep the Neade one was a tough call although technically there. Happy for the ump to let them go. Gibson was lucky not to get pinged.
You're right though, it didn't change the result. You had a mark 60m out from your own goal from the next piece of play after the Hodge one. And Westoff scored a goal straight after the Gibson one, you failed to mention Westoff holding Frawley in that contest.
And what about the Cyril 50m in the first quarter? Actually it was 60m and you got a goal from it. Port player marked then plays on by moving 2 or 3 steps forward, Cyril runs to smother and gets pinged. Ump was too slow to call play on. Doesn't this one fit into your narrative?

I updated from the last bye round, we now sit 2nd for both but with the best percentage still. Contested possessions and clearances take longer as I have to go through each round individually.

Edit: Just realised Geelong should be 6th on the ladder not 5th
View attachment 264181 View attachment 264182

Erm... didn't we have a tough draw pre-round 7 then get to play some rubbish sides like Essendon afterwards? That would kind of make the post-7 ladder a bit meaningless surely?

You should let Chad Wingard go to the Hawks. It's the moral thing to do. He's wasting his career there.

Anyway, the umpiring in this game was awful. Not that it favoured any one team. But damn, just over-umpired and bad decisions to boot! Horrible combination.
I disagree. One umpire in this game clearly favoured Hawthorn and the only time it evened up was when he was out of the play a bit. I've noticed this before when this bloke umpires but can't remember whether or not it was hawthorn. You couldn't say the kicks he paid weren't there but you would say that similar things weren't paid when it was Ports who were infringed or when it was Hawthorn throwing or dropping the ball. Had these been paid Hawthorn may have been several goals behind by half time, Hang your head Stevic...by the way, I don't give a toss who wins

Other than the Jonas one which I assume you are referring to? 1 I believe. Jackson Trengove got 1 week for hitting Selwood after he put a forearm into his face, and then slapped him across the face for good measure. He went and had a sulk to the umpire afterwards. Has your captain tried to put a young person in a wheelchair or got behind the wheel of a car while drunk, shortly after a colleague's son died at the hands of a drink driver lately?
The funniest thing is that you honestly believe what you're saying to be true..

Actually no it's a bit sad.. Seek help please

If you remember, the rules got changed so that defenders get pinged for holding their ground and have a hand in the back of a forward. Changes were made to all of the marking rules, I don't agree with all of them but they are there now.
But Rioli wasn't holding his ground with a hand in his back, that's a completely different scenario.
As far as I know what he did was within the rules.

I disagree. One umpire in this game clearly favoured Hawthorn and the only time it evened up was when he was out of the play a bit. I've noticed this before when this bloke umpires but can't remember whether or not it was hawthorn. You couldn't say the kicks he paid weren't there but you would say that similar things weren't paid when it was Ports who were infringed or when it was Hawthorn throwing or dropping the ball. Had these been paid Hawthorn may have been several goals behind by half time, Hang your head Stevic...by the way, I don't give a toss who wins
Examples please.

I am dissapointed in Port.
They are becoming the shoulda, coulda, woulda but didn't club.

When the president and CEO call theselves a top 4 team, and they have a bunch of true gullibles, sorry I mean true believers eating up everything that is served! You know, never tear us apart, China, we never give in and all that jazz, gotta love the showbag Prez!

Looking forwrad to how Paddy Ryder will win them the flag next year, should be good for laughs, although a lot got caught up in Dixon being the new Wayne Carey!

Given the 15 fronts or so I am fighting at the moment I can't remember precisely what we are talking about :p . But as a general point we got pinged about 3 times on the night for fresh air swings by foot at the ball with no prior including one against Krakeour which resulted in a goal to (Bruest I think). Midway through the last quarter, same thing happens dead in front of the umpire. play on. Hodge gets tackled in the second quarter about 35 metres out directly in front of our goal and throws it, no free, but the ump sees the throw 10 seconds later by a port player. We got pinged 6 or 7 times for ball drops with no prior (and no throw) at a success rate for you guys at close to 100%. There were just a heap of times it happened the other way dead in front of the umpire for donuts (I would say we got about 50% of them). The thing that pissed me off the most though was a 50 metre penalty. There was a free paid on the wing. One of your players is correctly standing on the mark (because it was obvious where it was). The ball rolls about 5 metres behind the mark, and Gibson (I think) was doing that thing where you just stand over the ball so the player can't pick it up five metres over the ******* mark (when someone is already standing the mark) and he gets warned to leave after being there for 3-5 seconds so he leaves. 2-3 minutes later, Jake Neade oversteps the mark by maybe half a metre because he isn't 100% sure of where it is, no warning, you crossed the mark for .5 of a second , 50 metres bang. Same umpire as well. That kind of inconsistency is just indefensible. Did it change the result? Probably not. Either all of the free kicks needed to go to Jay Schulz, or we needed about 10 of them dead in front of goal, the way our set shot kicking was going. But that is not the ******* point. It happens week in week out. If you condone bad umpiring now, you will get it when it matters in the finals. Given the bad umpiring in the past 2 finals series (not just involving Hawthorn by the way) this should be talked about. But instead we will get the ministry of truth from the AFL come out during the week to show some of the less controversial decisions conveniently ignoring the really bad ones, and they will still say the umpires got it right in face of evidence to the contrary.
I felt for you briefly , thèn I remembered you're a Port supporter.

My advice: Walk away from the keyboard.

Is it though? Look at our finals last year

QF vs West Coast +10 clearances lose by 32
SF vs Adelaide -12 clearances win by 74
PF vs Fremantle -15 clearances win by 27
GF vs West Coast - 6 clearances win by 46
I already provided him with stats to show he's wrong. He stopped responding to me after that

6 of the 9 finals last year were won by the team with less clearances.
The previous year it was 5 of 9. 2013 it was 4 of 9

6 of the 9 finals last year were won by the team with less clearances.
The previous year it was 5 of 9. 2013 it was 4 of 9
Hawks and Swans 12/13 both finished around the 13th mark for clearance differential.

I felt for you briefly , thèn I remembered you're a Port supporter.

My advice: Walk away from the keyboard.

I felt for him for a little while since it's season over for his side. But then it became about " fighting many fronts " not discussion. In the end I think the logic turned onto argueing with himself because it's everybody else's fault Port are done.

Yeah your right, just a moment of weakness. My dislike of the club goes back to when I was young Bays supporter

Hurr hurr that's a good one champ. Obviously the umpire didn't see the push, otherwise he would have paid that.

So if it's not a push, how is it not a free for the bloke who got decapitated?
Four umpires did not see the push
Same four umpires did not see the forearm to the head

That is plain incompetence

Conspiracy theories are comical

28118697576_6ecb7decd4_b.jpg

Mitchell dragging Ebert down after mark.
Ebert ended up in hospital ...
Bet that wont be looked at geez... and why was it not 50m ...

Look, a giraffe eating a plane! Photographic proof!!

image.jpeg

Did I hear 'Hame' compare Luke Hodge to Willem Dafoe in Platoon? If someone could confirm this for me, that would be great. Sometimes you hear something so dull & moronic, you have to double check. I'm trying to find something that 'Hame' might actually be good at. So I did some investigating, and here's what the other s**t siblings of the world are doing right now: Frank Stallone is voicing cartoons, three of the Baldwins are in sanitation, and Jeb Bush is funding isis. I'm not saying 'Hame' should follow in their footsteps, he's free to make his own decisions. But as a football community, we should encourage him to get the f**k off the airwaves.

I saw an umpire reverse the decision of a mark after seeing the replay. That's the first time I have ever seen that in a game of football. That was against the Hawks.

The over-umpiring was indeed awful, but there's definitely no tinfoil hat bias at play. That's just dumb. This was just good ol' fashion stop-start, inept umpiring.

The Hawks are simply a target of tall poppy syndrome. I remember watching the Port Adelaide vs Brisbane GF in 2004, and I remember at the time how much everybody hated Brisbane. It's only in hindsight we get people looking back at that team in awe. At the time they were just a product of an inflated salary cap and the fusion of two clubs to create a super team.

I disagree. One umpire in this game clearly favoured Hawthorn and the only time it evened up was when he was out of the play a bit. I've noticed this before when this bloke umpires but can't remember whether or not it was hawthorn.

It was a poorly umpired game, but that's it. There was no bias towards Hawthorn - Hawthorn were simply the recipients of some bad calls. Sometimes these calls really are disgusting because they can change the flow and momentum of games at crucial points.
But every team gets them against and for from time to time.

I find it very hard to believe that these Umps would risk their livelihood to favour the team they like.

There was no bias towards Hawthorn - Hawthorn were simply the recipients of some bad calls. Sometimes these calls really are disgusting because they can change the flow and momentum of games at crucial points.
But every team gets them against and for from time to time.
More often than not good teams take advantage of bad calls and make their own momentum. Poor sides get a bad call but aren't good enough to take advantage of it. It then looks like the good sides get more momentum changing calls

You are a deadset ****wit with no idea. Please don't include 'supporters of the other 17' clubs in your bullshit rhetoric. You have zero idea about football.

Your team is shit (u can't beat us, freo or any top 8 side, ur not playing finals again with a piss easy draw )and ur upset so u shift the blame to umpires. My team has been shit and we are often bent over by hawthorn and it has nothing to do with umpires. I don't blame umpires I blame our players and coaching (maybe u should try that).

Did the umpires make Port shitlaide miss all those goals in the prelim final? u don't mention the bullshit free port got in the last quarter of that prelim against gibson for front on contact when he clearly didn't touch him. Get ur hand off ur dick. Qualifying final..wtf...salty sook..Hawks were amazing that night.

Hawthorn are the best team at the moment try ruddy beating them by winning the ball out of the centre and taking a mark up forward and kicking a goal and stop worrying about umpires. Wait u can't do that cause u have no rucks, ur midfield is full of overrated spuds trying to act tough, and ur full forward can't kick goals..yet its all the umpires fault.

Port supporters are fast becoming the biggest jokes in the AFL and you sir are the president of all those whinging flogs.

Heres a hint:

Focus on the deficiencies in your team...fix it them and you might become relevant again one day.

Until then eat a big fat dickkk you port flog.

Respect.

Port Adelaide v Hawthorn