Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 19

In the pre-COVID days, GWS crowds at Manuka averaged more than their various Sydney venues. They are subsidised by the ACT Government to the tune of around $900,000 a game to play here - this arrangement was due to expire this year but has been extended a year. Both parties seem keen to enter into a long term extension, with the government angling for four games a year (currently three).

Both the Raiders and the Brumbies out-draw the Giants, but their crowds very much wax and wane with their performances. The Capitals also have a loyal following (as did the Cannons when they were a thing). Canberrans may be keen sports fans, but far more so when those teams are winning. I'm not sure a permanent team here would be as financially attractive as the other options.

Junior AFL is big here, there are ovals everywhere. Interestingly though their is a smattering of support for all AFL Clubs amongst the participants, there doesn't seem to be a preponderance of Giants' fans. Most seem to have retained their previous allegiances, which I guess would be an issue for a new team starting anywhere.
Outside of our games vs GWS at AO, I've only seen two people wearing GWS merch in my life. Both in Canberra.

I travel to Canberra regularly for work and, if I had to relocate there permanently, I would likely take on a GWS membership.

Highly paid but most with a social conscience. One of the reasons I like the place.
Fair comment, but I think it has more to do with self-preservation and the belief (unsupported by the facts, naturally) that the PS will be much better off under a Labor Govt. The toilet paper wars were just as fierce here, just not reported widely so as not to detract from the image...

Outside of our games vs GWS at AO, I've only seen two people wearing GWS merch in my life. Both in Canberra.

I travel to Canberra regularly for work and, if I had to relocate there permanently, I would likely take on a GWS membership.

this reminded me, in the mall i saw a simple family, mum, dad, small son and daughter, the daughter had a GWS guernsey and cap on, no one else had footy merch. i was absolutely bewildered (not sure why so much in hindsight), think it was the cap that made it weirder

There's not many of us look good in orange, especially with the "The Goodies" logo boldly emblazoned (although their "Canberra" guernsey styled with the Telstra Tower is better).

They play games there,but surely concentrating on the 2 million plus inhabitants of Western Sydney should be their priority. Canberra is growing, wealthy and has a footy culture, they just got jumped by the NRL and RU. I think Canberra is viable. Would be a far better breakdown of clubs, 2 extra non Vic clubs, one less Vic. 10 non Vic clubs, 9 Vic. Starting to get closer to a more balanced comp.

“Balance” is not just a count of where clubs are based, it’s about their boards actually voting without conflict.

Several expansion club boards remain dominated by AFL appointees so the numbers to change the MEL-centric culture on the really big issues don’t exist yet. Chairs will speak out occasionally, but that’s theatre for the fans and if you think about it... it’s also implicitly begging for a bone to be thrown their (our) way. Not saying it is pointless.

Move Norf - as an independent entity not as a bankrupt shell of a franchise asset - changes basically one vote at AFL house and sadly that’s not enough to counter GC, GWS and ourselves.

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app

They play games there,but surely concentrating on the 2 million plus inhabitants of Western Sydney should be their priority. Canberra is growing, wealthy and has a footy culture, they just got jumped by the NRL and RU. I think Canberra is viable. Would be a far better breakdown of clubs, 2 extra non Vic clubs, one less Vic. 10 non Vic clubs, 9 Vic. Starting to get closer to a more balanced comp.

Are you thinking a re-brand too?

A.C.T Windbags

Canberra Table Jerkers

"If you read a story … and it has anything to do with me being involved in any faction or any push at the Collingwood Football Club, then you know that reporter is a liar," he said. ....

When questioned as to whether he'd prefer Korda or Browne to run the club, he was non-committal.

"I'm not buying into it. I still know that I hold too much weight as far as the members are concerned, I'm not blind to the situation," he said"

Eddie:

"sick of being called a liar"

Also Eddie:

“If you read a story …. and it has anything to do with me being involved in any faction or any push at the Collingwood Football Club, then you know that reporter is a liar.
I am not involved in the football club in any way.

“I speak to people everywhere. Have I spoken to Jeff Browne? Yes I have. Have I spoken to Mark Korda? Yes I have. Have I helped with sponsorships in the last month at the Collingwood Football Club and the AFL? Yes I do. Why? Because I love football.”

:rolleyes:

Eddie:

Also Eddie:

“If you read a story …. and it has anything to do with me being involved in any faction or any push at the Collingwood Football Club, then you know that reporter is a liar.

“I speak to people everywhere. Have I spoken to Jeff Browne? Yes I have. Have I spoken to Mark Korda? Yes I have. Have I helped with sponsorships in the last month at the Collingwood Football Club and the AFL? Yes I do. Why? Because I love football.”

Kinda like his “no comment” on the after match Prison Bars that quickly devolved into a bizarre rant about City Hall.

Eddie:

Also Eddie:

CA0E7975-4FBE-487E-8BCD-0508B82E7A03.gif

Melbourne v Collingwood would attract bugger all here.

I disagree. Collingwood definitely have a reasonable following here and Melbourne are neutral enough that people would get behind them as an anti-Collingwood / anti-Eddie sentiment. Add in the charity angle and the fact that there generally isn't much going on during the Queen's Birthday holiday and I reckon if the weather was reasonable it would draw a fair crowd.

Collingwood don't have that much of following here there'd be more Carlton fans.

If the approach was purely from a monetary perspectives, the next market the AFL moves into would be a huge drain on resources.

But if it was conducted from a perspective of social responsibility, a team in the NT, ACT or TAS makes sense. These three locations have huge levels of AFL support.

I don’t think any of these options will happen though, not without significant government funding.

Tasmania and to a lesser extent Canberra would easily get state backing (so would NT but I've made my piece on that already) and when Tassie tried getting in back in 08, they had Mars and a plethora of other sponsors lined up. Canberra would get similar corporate backing too. Cairns has a big footy following up there and the government have been involved with Cazaly's upgrades before and seem to have some big private backers for their numerous local teams. Only ones who'd be like GC cough*shouldabeenSouthport*cough and GWS are the two NSW areas I mentioned and they'd be the definition of long term building.

Yeah Collingwood have a sizeable following. I think back to that game in 2011 in the rain at AAMI and there might have been nearly as many of them as there was of us.