Review Post-match discussion vs Bombers [39 point loss]

Since Scott took over he has had to implement various styles that we as a club had not used before, and that with a group in transition.
Year 1: Deep zone and counter attack.
Year 2: Higher press.
Year 3: Softer zone and half back rebound.
Year 4: Softer zone and slower build up.
Year 5: Guessing it is to have a better defensive set up all over with all the attacking components mentioned above in place

You could excuse the half season learning phase for the first couple of years but they should now be able to understand and implement any and every aspect of the first four years into a more holistic approach and set up. Each team tinkers with their set up each year. We seem to drastically change ours but this year I expected less of an adaptation phase as it should be, in my limited knowledge, less of a drastic change.

By his 12th year we should be able to do all sorts of zones, rebound off half back quickly, hit up targets slowly, keep momentum, press high and hard, win a lot of contested ball, spread well and get the uncontested marks, go forward with confidence to our 3 talls, go forward with confidence to Thomas, be able to play 1 ruck or 2, and have a tall defence and a short defence that goes one-on-one comfortably.

Look at Port. Hinkley comes in with a new fitness coach and they make semi finals. Defence and attack. General good ball movement.

Our players must be the thickest in the comp if this is true.

Haven't read all the posts in this thread, so sorry if im repeating. I was at the game and the most worrying thing for me was the fact none of the leaders (Ziebell, Wells, Boomer, Petrie, Thompson, Gibson, Dal Santo, etc) we're communicating to try get back in the game. I would assume after being smashed for so long that one of the players mentioned would be yelling/barking orders like no tomorrow.

I mean anyone at the game would of seen all the pointless pointing the players were doing, the leaders should be barking orders at this point to man the hell up. Thompson should be trying to get mcmahon/mcdonald/atley from playing on the bomber key forwards. It just looked completely disorganised.

I went to the open day training session back in the pre-season and Cameron Ling was barking orders at Thompson to organise the defence. Lingy was brought in to work with our leaders, he would be super disappointed in them. Not trying to blame Thompson but you get what I'm saying about our leaders. Noone tried to get the game back on our terms.

Also while Spitta leads by example he not the most vocal player either. Just not sure who can step up to fill this void.

What I want to see next week:

One on one football. When we have the ball, beat your man and make space. When we don't have it, be inside their shorts.

Some f***ing aggression. That level of 'effort' is unacceptable from an U'10s team who just found out that their beloved pets have been shipped of to Vladivostok, let alone 22 professional footballers.

NO UNDERDONE PLAYERS. There is a list of 42 players to choose from. Grima and Mullett especially are not AFL fit. Pick the players that are.

A system that doesn't involve kicking long to Lindsay Thomas 1v3. Any chance we could try and use the weapons that we have to their full effect?

Zondorfishpokenip. Every year we start shit because we are changing the way we play. This year seems to be following the same pattern if we are, as you imply, implementing team wide defensive structural changes under the guidance of Twodoors. I'm pissed about the fact that the showing on Friday was crap and I am tired of wasting half a season in adapting to a new set up. It shouldn't be this hard and it shouldn't take 12 ******* weeks to get right.

The coaching group and the playing group have the next two weeks to sort that shit out or they have lost me. I know that this will shock them to the core and they will pin this post to the whiteboard but they are experienced enough and mature enough as a playing group and coaching group to sort it out before our season is over. And the ultimate responsibility in getting this right lies with the head coach. We have had the shocker now lets see how they all respond.
To me they look like a team that has been over coached and has lost confidence in the way it plays. Guys like Ziebell and Cunnington have never been so tentative about their footy.

FWIW it has looked to me like we are flooding back a lot more than we have previously (perhaps that just a result of our sh_tness), and I can only surmise that there has been a change in the setups around the stoppages as well given how horribly out of sorts we have been in that department.

Whether or not this has anything to do with Tudor I have no idea, but I am with you when you say you are sick of waiting 10 rounds every year till we sort our shit out.

Primed for round 1 my a$$.

To me they look like a team that has been over coached and has lost confidence in the way it plays. Guys like Ziebell and Cunnington have never been so tentative about their footy.

FWIW it has looked to me like we are flooding back a lot more than we have previously (perhaps that just a result of our sh_tness), and I can only surmise that there has been a change in the setups around the stoppages as well given how horribly out of sorts we have been in that department.

Whether or not this has anything to do with Tudor I have no idea, but I am with you when you say you are sick of waiting 10 rounds every year till we sort our shit out.

Primed for round 1 my a$$.

No spontaneity about our play.

Weirdest moment of the night for me.......what was going on there??

Agree, I was there with a North supporter and an * supporter and we all couldn't believe that the players just jogged back to the square. It was so low energy it was scary.

I heard someone on radio say that the performance was meek, perfect word to describe it, there was a play in the last quarter near us, where there were 4 block laid on Ziebel to keep him away from the ball. Not one player supported him.

There are only two possibilities in my opinion

1. The players have still not normalised from the preseason train loads.
2. The players are not responding to Brads message due to ...... apathy, complexity or stupidity

Either way the coach needs to fix it fast.

we shouldnt be putting all our eggs in goldys basket anyway, the WC game down Tassie showed what happens when we are firing and soley reliant on goldy.

need a forward tall who can ruck to chop goldy out, that isnt Drew and whether that be Currie or Daw who knows but someone has to step up, and dont give me the old, "goldy plays better as sole ruckman" routine, if he cant play a ruck role with support we trade him.

The entire team played like they'd just heard of a death in the family. Each in another, private head space. Almost total disconnection.
Or they ran out on the ground thinking, 'not this stupid ****ing gameplan again'.

Hi folks.

I come in peace with a genuine query.

What is Jack Ziebell's roll within the team. I watched him more closely than I'd usually watch a player as I had some punter's club money riding on him getting more touches than Cunnington (punter's club won't be happy). I was under the impression he was a bonafide clearance player, however he seemed to be playing a much more defensive role during the game, often trying to block Watson or Myers from getting a run at the ball. I saw this a few times, it wasn't just a one off.

How is Ziebell's fitness? Again, from watching him closely, I saw he really didn't spread well from a contest. I had never really assumed he was a great endurance athlete, but from Friday's performance, he is either quite low on fitness or he just got lazy.

Interested to hear replies. Ziebell is a player I always thought could become North's best midfielder, but Friday didn't fill me with confidence.

Hi folks.

I come in peace with a genuine query.

What is Jack Ziebell's roll within the team. I watched him more closely than I'd usually watch a player as I had some punter's club money riding on him getting more touches than Cunnington (punter's club won't be happy). I was under the impression he was a bonafide clearance player, however he seemed to be playing a much more defensive role during the game, often trying to block Watson or Myers from getting a run at the ball. I saw this a few times, it wasn't just a one off.

How is Ziebell's fitness? Again, from watching him closely, I saw he really didn't spread well from a contest. I had never really assumed he was a great endurance athlete, but from Friday's performance, he is either quite low on fitness or he just got lazy.

Interested to hear replies. Ziebell is a player I always thought could become North's best midfielder, but Friday didn't fill me with confidence.

Born in the wrong era, would've won multiple Brownlows in the 70's and 80's playing on suburban mudheaps, will come good this year, but the top 8

clubs have worked him out, problem with us is the coach is so far out of his depth but we are locked into a contract which we can't afford to pay out,

Brayshaw should fall on his sword.

There are a lot of reasons for our putrid performance on Friday night . But who is to blame ? Players or coaching staff ??? Sure the coaching staff made some horrible calls using Bastinac & Ziebell as run with players on Goddard & Watson was absolutely ridiculous these guys are ball winners not taggers that's not to excuse their poor performances as bad as that was playing McDonald on Chapman in his first game was asking a hell of a lot from a young man especially when our midfield wasn't getting a sniff of the pill was another poor call from coaching staff .

Then there was the move of flooding the midfield with our forwards when we were getting smashed in the clearances ( should've reverted to the tried & tested method of going man on man and beat you're opponent ) and this was by far the most frustrating part of the night . This is where the players need to be held responsible , because even with basically every player on the ground in Essendons half they still seemed to find 20 metres of space to take uncontested marks and even on the rare occasion they turned it over they still ran harder to create spares which effectively ruins the chance our tall forwards taking marks in forward attacking areas . On the occasion when we were able to break through their defensive structure we didn't want to run or work hard enough to find space & when they did they just butchered it going forward . Is that a directive from the coaching staff as part our new game plan ? To hold the ball up and hit up a team mate in space , not that it would've worked on Friday because we were to f****** lazy to run .

I don't like to single out players especially when as team on Friday we were disgusting but there are players in our team who soldiers And every good team has soldiers but then there are players who can influence games & im a fan but Shaun Atley does not do anywhere near enough not by a long shot . For a guy who has produced some brilliant football he also produces extremely poor football many occasions on Friday he had the chance to take the game on but just went back over the mark & kicked to a 50/50 . Once with only Chapman between him and 40 m of space and didn't take him on . His 2nd efforts are few & far between and panics way too much when being tacKled just gets rid of the ball out of his area usually to an opposition player .

Anyway I won't go on any longer , just needed to get it off my chest as I'm still f****** livid over Friday and will be until Sunday when we have a chance of redemption .

Makes it easier to read when you put a space between each line, not having a go at you, and another thing just wonder whether the Mods can create a Rant Board seems after each game there are lots of threads from ppl letting off steam.

I watched as Thomas kicked an awesome goal about 45 meters out from outside the boundary line and NO north player went to him to tell him well done, everyone just jogged back to there positions. Where the hell is the leadership and getting around your team mate.

just wonder whether the Mods can create a Rant Board seems after each game there are lots of threads from ppl letting off steam.

That'd make plenty of sense IF people kept their rants to that dedicated thread. They do not. As is human nature they see a subject they have a strong opinion of, be it positive or negative, and they post their rant there.

We've tried before and the joint was a shambles.

I had a really bad feeling when I got to the ground and they were playing an old win of ours and I saw the team all singing the song.

Can never sing the song before a game.

I hate losing to those pricks.

went to the game. one thing you can control is under standing which foot each player kicks with, so many times hibberd an hepell had a free run around onto there left, small thing but just seems something each player should no..
it's funny stat wise gibbo had a bad game but at the game I found he was one of only a few who pushed back hard to man up..

I hate losing to those prices.

124676-down-down-at-coles.jpg

I would sum this horrendous effort with two words :

MISSED OPPORTUNITY

- BMac, here was your chance to show the football world you have arrived. Here was your chance to cement a spot in the seniors. A former 1st round pick. But instead you failed. You missed your chance. You had as much influence on the game as a witches hat.

- D Petrie, acting skipper, leader, people keep questioning your performances under pressure. Against the good teams. You missed your chance. No inspirational goal, no great mark, no leadership. Very poor. But at least you will get a chance to play this week against an undersized and inexperienced Bulldog defence. Who knows, you might even kick 4 or 5 goals and retain your standing as a North "gun" and "great leader".

- Sam Wright - I still havent forgiven you for your game last year when you choked in the WCE game (when having a shot at goal that would have just about sealed it). But I am prepared to give you another shot. On friday night, you had 2 shots at goal in a space of a minute. You fluffed both. Instead of redeeming yourself and proving you are good enough, you made the same mistakes. You missed your chance. Why B Scott would play you in the forward line, when you get stagefright and cant handle pressure is a mystery.

- NM Coaching staff - I should have put you in the no. 1 position. How you can go into a big game with no plan to stop Watson is puzzling. Truly amateurish. Here's a tip. Watson is a Brownlow medallist. You only get one of those, if you are a very very good player. Watson had 25 possessions up to half time. If he wins another Brownlow this year (by less than 3 votes), he should thank B Scott for not tagging him. No plan to stop Watson. A big missed opportunity.

- And a special mention to the others who had lots to prove but blew their chance : S McMahon, J Ziebell, S Gibson (the new leader), Bastinac, to name a few.

K folks.

Round 1, disappointing as all ****, horrid performance that is worthy of us questioning what the **** is going on, but lets at least try to keep it civil and constructive. I would hate to see us turn on each other and try to score points to make us feel better individually. There is no one issue to focus on, but many from today. We are much better than what we showed, we know that. But I for one am sick as **** of paying my $600 and some each year to watch the boys sort out a new process in the second half of the year. Hope is all we as supporters really have for next week and the week after and fingers crossed we show it next week and beyond.

Play on kids. Be nice.

Have kept quiet until now (only got back home Yesterday), but your "putting a figure on it" has sparked one of my disappointments from the weekend.

As I have already stated in other threads, my whole family travelled from Tasmania for this game (I have been a member for 18 years, Mrs and both kids Tassie members since 2011), I have been to Melbourne for many games over the years and my son has been to a couple, the girls had never been to Melbourne for a game. So we chose the best early year, home game, we could (we will go to the Hobart games later in the year). So, a fully ticketed game meant buying tickets, then there's air fares, parking, accommodation, taxi's, myki cards, meals, etc. etc.

But that would all be worth while because, although we are not so stupid as to believe we couldn't lose, we were a good chance to win and as any North supporter knows even when we don't win we very rarely "turn up our toes". At the very least we expected a competetive game.

I don't have to repeat the many adjectives used in this thread, and others, to describe the sides performance on Friday, save to say I agree with most of them, but I have never been so disappointed and frustrated watching a game of footy (live or otherwise), than watching this game and I sat through the "Buddy 13" game and the "kick it to Cox" game, I've seen other poor losses, Kouta killing us single handedly at Princes Park, David King kicking OOF 50 times one Friday night at the 'G against Collingwood, but I have never been so ashamed of a North performance than this one.

We had been debating the idea of heading to Arden St. to have a look around on Saturday, but we couldn't bring ourselves to do it partly because of the disappointment and partly because my wife knows that if we had stumbled across some unsuspecting player or official (although it's not usually my style) they would have copped a pretty big serve.

I am not a fair weather supporter, I always sit to the end of games, I wouldn't threaten to burn my membership and I'll pay up again next year, I try to see the upside, even last year I was mostly positive because I could see where we were heading, I know it's only round 1, I believe we will improve, I think we will play finals, I love this club.....

But, FFS, boy's COME.....ON!!!!

Edit.

Won my work footy tipping though, yay. :rolleyes: