Autopsy Practice Match, 2022: Carlton v St.Kilda

Only had a stinker because he wasn’t up to match speed (duh first praccy match)

He willed us nearly across the line in the last. Just kept driving us forward.

I thought you said that was why Dunny sucked? He needs to clean up his disposal which is his strength. He's still slow and a one way runner and that will keep him out of the midfield rotations until it's corrected. He somehow always looks like a smoker going for a walk up a steep hill. He's one of the most talented players on our list. Being average shouldn't be his accepted ceiling. It doesn't take long to end up another Billings where everyone thinks that you've underachieved. He's one guy I think all our hopes are needing to be pinned to. If he and others don't come on it could be another era of Richo style middling.

He hasn't played footy for a fair while. Maybe hold your horses on writing him off. Will be a gun for us when he gets a clear run at it, hopefully that's now.

He didn't even miss half a season. We make excuses for our players, he's not there yet and needs to work hard to meet his potential. For Hunter it's only effort that will hold him back.

He's coming back from an horrific facial injury where he couldn't even eat for a few weeks. Seems a fairly reasonable excuse that he might be getting his groove back still, but sure he had some poor plays in a practice match he must be a bust.

Clark isn’t getting any love here but I thought he was actually pretty promising. I think if it’s the first decent hit out of the year and you don’t play like Chris Judd you cop it
He's hopefully building...I hope for our sake it clicks for him (and us) sooner rather than later. He has all the potential to be an A grader, or even elite... but he has to realise it. I'm hoping it's going to be his break out year. A midfield of Clark providing flair, Crouch and Steele doing their thing, and Jones going kamikaze plus Marshall and D-Mac playing angry isn't too bad of a thing.

You are having a crack at Clark for a practice game and likening him to Dunstan?

Hopefully this helps jog your memory about why he is a special talent

Only had a stinker because he wasn’t up to match speed (duh first praccy match)

He willed us nearly across the line in the last. Just kept driving us forward.
I think he is just a slow starter too. He always seems to be more involved in last quarters than first.

If he can clean up his disposal a bit, he will be a good addition to the midfield this season.

I think he is just a slow starter too. He always seems to be more involved in last quarters than first.

If he can clean up his disposal a bit, he will be a good addition to the midfield this season.
He got caught a couple of times and it resulted in turnovers. But if we can’t get the ball in the hands of Hill Billings Sinclair. It has to be in Clarks.

Also it was clearly a match speed adjustment. The whole game was sloppy, another instance was after we levelled the scores in the last, we are about to win the centre clearance. Handball comes out to the wing and goes through I think Dmacs hands.

Ball goes up the other end.

Was just thinking that. Watch cerra to me that’s the only difference between them two. Cerra just a little cleaner with his kicks but Clarke can do some freaky stuff

You are having a crack at Clark for a practice game and likening him to Dunstan?

I know what he can do, I just want him to do it more regularly. I compared him to Billings who is wasting his talent, Hunter is 22 now, his kid days are gone and it's now time to make hay. Dunstan got canned for slamming the ball forward at all cost by you from memory, that was the reference.

Anyone watch the VFL game afterwards.
Have Read Batch's review just wondering how players like Leo, Bytel, Highmore went?

I think Batch was in holiday mode still, hardly mentioned anyone.

Was just thinking that. Watch cerra to me that’s the only difference between them two. Cerra just a little cleaner with his kicks but Clarke can do some freaky stuff

Clark has more skill than Cerra, Cerra more plain Jane but more advanced.

Everyone knows what he can do which is why we all have such high hopes. It’s not his ability we’re questioning. It’s his effort and fitness, which for him being in his 5th year should be AFL standard. He’s not a young player anymore.

I hope he becomes the elite player we know he can be. But he needs to start producing consistent performances starting this season.

It was inconsistency and injury. He'd look like he was about to be Nick Riewoldt then get injured or go missing for 4 weeks and end up in the VFL. They lost patience in the end.
Wood is a stand out as a Athlete , if he can stay on the park and get consistency he will be a very good player but he has never been able too.
Having Wood , Battle , Gresham and Paton in round one will shake up the 22 we had last season.

Where does Wood play in the forward line and will that force Sharman out.
A lot to shake out - Hannerbery might surprise us and play in round one and if he does who is he replacing.

If we have all our players available who is going to miss out.

Webster - Howard - Wilkie
Sinclair - Battle - Hill
Billings - Steele - Hannerbery
Higgins - Marshall - Butler
Gresham - King - Membery

Ryder / Crouch / Jones

McKenzie - Paton - Wood - Ross - Clark - Sharman - Byrne - Highmore - Bytel

I said glide...not stumble and trip over two left feet made entirely of thumbs.
Speaking of JD, when I was looking for the praccie match replay, this classic game came up instead.
Needless to say this was a better watch.

Jayson Daniels' last possession (in the last minute) was elite. Not a kick, of course, but won't see many better handpasses than that to Winmar to Lockett.
Bloody matchwinner JD was. So good we recruited him twice.

Have to laugh at the commentary, fawning over Silvagni saying what an incredible contest it was. 10 goals 7, and 1 out of bounds to Plugger. Yeah, great contest.

Wood is a stand out as a Athlete , if he can stay on the park and get consistency he will be a very good player but he has never been able too.
Having Wood , Battle , Gresham and Paton in round one will shake up the 22 we had last season.

Where does Wood play in the forward line and will that force Sharman out.
A lot to shake out - Hannerbery might surprise us and play in round one and if he does who is he replacing.

If we have all our players available who is going to miss out.

Webster - Howard - Wilkie
Sinclair - Battle - Hill
Billings - Steele - Hannerbery
Higgins - Marshall - Butler
Gresham - King - Membery

Ryder / Crouch / Jones

McKenzie - Paton - Wood - Ross - Clark - Sharman - Byrne - Highmore - Bytel
What has Hannerbery done to be given a game ? not even training with main group

Will be filthy if he is picked before a young bloke who has done a full pre season

He is done washed up finished

What has Hannerbery done to be given a game ? not even training with main group

Will be filthy if he is picked before a young bloke who has done a full pre season

He is done washed up finished
C'mon mate, he's a great communicator with all the boys!

Everyone knows what he can do which is why we all have such high hopes. It’s not his ability we’re questioning. It’s his effort and fitness, which for him being in his 5th year should be AFL standard. He’s not a young player anymore.

I hope he becomes the elite player we know he can be. But he needs to start producing consistent performances starting this season.
Last year he never got going missing half the season through injury - concussion and broken jaw would stuff anyone up.
This year if he is played as a midfielder he will show us how good he is but atm where have they got him playing because he is not a wingman.
And why did they have Ross taking more midfield time than Clark.

Steele and Crouch are automatic picks in the middle and Jones and Gresham so how is Clark going to get much time in there especially when you have a guy like Ross getting midfield time.

Autopsy Practice Match, 2022: Carlton v St.Kilda