Autopsy Practice Match, 2022: Carlton v St.Kilda

I know what he can do, I just want him to do it more regularly. I compared him to Billings who is wasting his talent, Hunter is 22 now, his kid days are gone and it's now time to make hay. Dunstan got canned for slamming the ball forward at all cost by you from memory, that was the reference.
He was tracking fine until he face was smashed into pieces last year.

He hasn't exactly had the opportunity yet to properly return from that horrific incident.

What has Hannerbery done to be given a game ? not even training with main group

Will be filthy if he is picked before a young bloke who has done a full pre season

He is done washed up finished
Hanners is good when he plays, he just never plays.

I thought you said that was why Dunny sucked? He needs to clean up his disposal which is his strength. He's still slow and a one way runner and that will keep him out of the midfield rotations until it's corrected. He somehow always looks like a smoker going for a walk up a steep hill. He's one of the most talented players on our list. Being average shouldn't be his accepted ceiling. It doesn't take long to end up another Billings where everyone thinks that you've underachieved. He's one guy I think all our hopes are needing to be pinned to. If he and others don't come on it could be another era of Richo style middling.
Hunter Clark coming good would be a massive bonus but if he turns out as a average performer he will not be in the team long.
We currently have Jones who if he stays fit is will show he is a very good mid - the problem is getting him to play continuously and we also have Gresham who hasn't been seen in a couple years and he has always been touted as our next midfield star once he built his tank up.
I feel Clark will need to be killing it to be able to get past these guys if they come good.
I hope he steps up but it is not the end of the world because we could have a diamond hidden in the rough we didn't know we had - Bytel could explode on the scene or even Byrne but really It's Gresham , Jones , Steele , Marshall , Crouch , Hill , Sinclair , Howard , King, Membery , Higgins are the guys that need to standup for us to be top 4 this year.

Seb as a full time centre square mid says to me Ratts is coaching to try and keep his job and he’s hoping Ross finds his 2016-19 form. We all know Steele, Jones, Ross, Crouch isn’t a flag midfield but it might be a finals one depending on gameplan and that will buy Ratten time to do some more experimenting later. I don’t think we see that if Ratts has 2 or 3 years on a contract left.
Well we finished 5th two years ago, with a midfield of Steele, Gresh, Jones and Seb for the first 11 games, and then just Steele, Seb, Jones and a bit of baby Bytel and then a bit of Hanners at the end, so that would suggest a midfield of Steele, Jones, Crouch, Seb, Gresh and more of Clark and Byrnes ought to be more than enough to get us there again, if they play enough, and we do enough else right.

Unlikely to be enough to win us a flag unless both Gresh and Jones get through unscathed and play to their full potential, Seb and Crouch turn back time and Clark starts coming up with the goods consistently though, obviously.

It actually makes a fair bit of sense to see if Seb can recapture his 2017 type form. He’s not taking us anywhere playing wings and flanks, but if he got back to playing anything like his AA squad, top 10 in the coaches votes and 14 Brownlow votes best, in the middle, we would definitely be better for it. At least in the short term.

He did all that in a team that finished just one spot on the ladder lower than we finished last year, which would have been enough to put him a very clear 2nd in our B&F last year.

So maybe they’re just going to give him one last crack there to see if he can get back to that best footy. Time will tell what their thinking is.

Have now watched all of the first half.

The first quarter was obviously a fumble-athon and display of poor skills, but they kept saying in commentary that Carlton’s pressure was “elite” (and the Carlton board here’s comments about it at the time were the same) and as I said the other day, if you haven’t played against another team for 6 months, and then you face elite pressure in the first quarter of your first praccy match, you’re going to fumble and make skill errors. Which we did.

That would be a big problem if it continued, but the 2nd quarter was a vast improvement, as a scoreline of 4.7 to 0.5 would suggest.

Thought Membrey was a clear BOG for the half. Just kept bobbing up everywhere to take marks, including down back, to help stem the tide.

Having the other tall options up forward in Max, Sharman, Roma and maybe Wood will allow Skunk to push back when we need to stop another teams momentum, and he seems to be getting better and better at it, which is bloody handy.

Was waiting to see these howler kicks that Hunter Clark supposedly did, but all I saw was one that skewed off the side of the boot when he was being dragged down in a tackle while kicking, another that was going straight to his man, but which may have been cut off because it was just too ambitious (with that guy so close to Gresh) and a snap on the boundary from a pack that skewed OOF.

That one wasn’t ideal, but it was nothing to stress about. Maybe these howlers are in the 2nd half.

Don’t think Billings played any of the first 25 mins of the match.

I think the consensus is that we are gone for the year and need to start tanking for

a) the No.1 pick
b) Clarko

problem is that the no.1 will be gobbled by the Fold Coast for a player that is not a need and Clarko won't want to damage his reputation by coming to the Saints.

Oh well season over. Better luck in 2023.

No point tanking for No.1 ... Gold Coast are probably going to be gifted the first 15 picks in the next draft to try and "fix" the club.

To "fix" them, you need to blow them up and give their licence to Tassie. That said, they looked OK yesterday.

You are having a crack at Clark for a practice game and likening him to Dunstan?

Hopefully this helps jog your memory about why he is a special talent

That's got me up and about. I'd love to know what his top speed range is. He looks like he almost runs in slow motion at times, but I feel like he isn't as slow as he looks. His evasive skills are unbelievable and although he doesn't have Mav Weller's build he must be quite strong through the core and legs as he can stand up / break through some tackles

Wilkie is great but Stewart is next level freaky good. He's like a little version of McGovern, just seems to chop off every entry that comes in.
If Highmore can start consistently playing like that 1st half against Brisbane that would be like Stewart. Stewart does generate a lot of drive to and has an nice leg on him

He was tracking fine until he face was smashed into pieces last year.

He hasn't exactly had the opportunity yet to properly return from that horrific incident.

And that's why I'm slightly disappointed with his preseason. I was hoping he'd be a bull at a gate and be ready to smash the door down. It sounds like Coff had really worked his arse off. I'd love to hear that Hunter was the same.

He was mate, was just very laconically and in slow motion

Watched the 2nd half now. Not sure why there was so much criticism on Clark and Ross. Both didn't set the world on fire and played ok. Ross won at least 3-4 clearances as well. He missed a kick going into the forward line, but the forward should have lead at the ball carrier 100%.

Was a scrappy game, my main concerns are:
letting Carlton players run passed for the handball continued to happen with little pressure

Our ability to win good clearance was terrible and the way we setup, Carlton was often able to run it out from a Centre clearance

We go for the long kick to the hotspot nearly every time and don't look like we have much space ahead of the ball compared to Carlton.

I thought Long was quite encouraging, he was getting to the right spots, but I'd say he needs to back himself in more and not try and do the team thing everytime.

Was just thinking that. Watch cerra to me that’s the only difference between them two. Cerra just a little cleaner with his kicks but Clarke can do some freaky stuff
I don’t even agree with that. Cerra gets hyped because he’s not a St Kilda player. If Clark played for another team he’d be pumped up. Also this idea of his inconsistency is also over stated. His start to last year was great untill injuries. He’s also a pretty natural ball winner. I also think he’s a far more creative and damaging kick then Cerra and he’s a better hand baller. Cerra just had more opportunity in the midfield.

That's got me up and about. I'd love to know what his top speed range is. He looks like he almost runs in slow motion at times, but I feel like he isn't as slow as he looks. His evasive skills are unbelievable and although he doesn't have Mav Weller's build he must be quite strong through the core and legs as he can stand up / break through some tackles
Yep it’s a myth that he’s slow. He just looks slow. Someone doesn’t have to be sweating out of their eye balls to be fast. IIRC he’s actually had a relatively high top speed. Anyways recorded top speed is overated anyways. It doesn’t matter if he looks slow. He moves well in congestion.

Just watched the game… bit late but a few thoughts.
#positives
  • Battle looked good … hopefully is settled down back .
  • Clark showed good hands in close … I think he would be a good wingman thou.
  • McKenzie has really surprised me and looks set to play rd 1 on wing.
  • Hayes deserve a shot… will give his all and a bit of mr fix it.
  • Higgins I think is in for a big year … very busy and I think will be one of the top small forwards at the end of the year .
  • and Gresham is so important to our team.
#Negatives
  • not sure a Ross, Steele and crouch middle combination is going to scare too many.
  • Clearly I think we lack a really dynamic midfielder.
Anyways we have no injuries so better start then last year

Speaking of JD, when I was looking for the praccie match replay, this classic game came up instead.
Needless to say this was a better watch.

Jayson Daniels' last possession (in the last minute) was elite. Not a kick, of course, but won't see many better handpasses than that to Winmar to Lockett.
Bloody matchwinner JD was. So good we recruited him twice.

Have to laugh at the commentary, fawning over Silvagni saying what an incredible contest it was. 10 goals 7, and 1 out of bounds to Plugger. Yeah, great contest.

I actually didn't mind poor Jayson...sure I gave him loads when a kid, but it can't be denied that he got the absolute most out of himself. Family friends of our's knew his family well. Apparently he was a ripper at club level...dedicated, and a great bloke by all accounts.

Speaking of JD, when I was looking for the praccie match replay, this classic game came up instead.
Needless to say this was a better watch.

Jayson Daniels' last possession (in the last minute) was elite. Not a kick, of course, but won't see many better handpasses than that to Winmar to Lockett.
Bloody matchwinner JD was. So good we recruited him twice.

Have to laugh at the commentary, fawning over Silvagni saying what an incredible contest it was. 10 goals 7, and 1 out of bounds to Plugger. Yeah, great contest.

My old man was on the far wing that game. He told Craig Bradley to get ****ed when Bradley ran the ball over the boundary late in the 4th. Good times.

Autopsy Practice Match, 2022: Carlton v St.Kilda