Training Pre-Season 2024

I am telling you, he could become our nick riewoldt when he gets his consistency up..has all the tools

Well, he can when we let him.

There is only so much someone can do as a third tall with <70% game time. Especially if they're sharing ruck duties.

Dew's weight gain didnt happen over night, he has "worked" for years to gain that weight.

Even in his final playing days, he was "heavy".

Its only the past couple of years, Ive got my weight totally under control and have a healthy BMI.

I would say the key issues at least for me to having a healthy BMI are:

Understanding Calories In/Calories Out
Exercise
Weighing myself every day
Really understanding food and its nutritional value
Sleeping properly and finally and most importantly
Fasting, once a week for 30 to 36 hours.
Man that’s some great advice. fasting for 30-36 hours is that a risk for ordinary people? Did you speak to Dr first etc?

also added to the list for me anyway is alcohol intake (or moderating). A few beers a few nights per week soon show up as you age!

Correct.

While I do pride myself for being healthy and fit, I also understand how some may and do put on weight.

Life be it work, family etc can get in the way, not to mention getting older.

No person however though should be getting to Dew's level of weight gain. He is the very definition of morbidly obese.

Sarah still loves him.

Dew's weight gain didnt happen over night, he has "worked" for years to gain that weight.

Its only the past couple of years, Ive got my weight totally under control and have a healthy BMI.

Exercise
yep easy
1701133111076.jpeg

Correct.

While I do pride myself for being healthy and fit, I also understand how some may and do put on weight.

Life be it work, family etc can get in the way, not to mention getting older.

No person however though should be getting to Dew's level of weight gain. He is the very definition of morbidly obese.
Unless you've had an eating disorder, you just cannot fathom the how or why. As a previously morbidly obese person, there are MANY demons (food and otherwise) that get one to this size. For these players - who were all once elite footballers, it's very likely the loss of that identity that lead them to where they are today.

Chayce Jones and Tarryn Thomas would seem destined to be Tassie players.
Jones will either be OOC or a UFA around the time they join and will likely be offered $$ we wouldn’t want to match.

I am glad we didn’t take McKerchner this year if we had the chance. It’s a ticking time bomb for Kangas….Prime candidate to be recruited back.

If I was a betting man I reckon after his first 3 year contract he will only extend for one more year (until end of 2027), allowing maximum leverage for him when Tassie enters.

Got bored last night. Thought I'd take a look at what our 2024, 2025, 2026 and 2027 list could look like from a games played, age demographic.
Took artistic license to include Hayward (free agent) and Oliver (Trade) in the 2024 offseason (could plug someone else in - hopefully), Petty in 2025 offseason (free agent) and Lukosius (2026 free agent).

Zeros indicate player no longer on list.

View attachment 1862064

View attachment 1862065
Interesting table.
Looks to me (with a quick scan) like you've got the total games incremented (in 2024 at least, didn't check the others) adding up to more than the total games available i.e. 24 games x 23 players. Can you check that?

Interesting table.
Looks to me (with a quick scan) like you've got the total games incremented (in 2024 at least, didn't check the others) adding up to more than the total games available i.e. 24 games x 23 players. Can you check that?
Its just indicative. Would be close. You cant assume who will be best 22 completely 2 to 3 years out.

To be fair to those guys, Tex and Sloane in particular, I don't think it's all that realistic to be expecting guys in their mid-30's to be running PB's. There is a limit to how fast any individual is ever going to be able to run, and you'd expect them to hit it before that age. These guys are past their physical peak.
No, they are not past their peaks in the early 30s. Runners begin to slow down after age 40. You lose about 1% a year after that time. I think burst speed may be a different matter.
I'm 81 and run a 5 k in around 30 minutes these days. 16:50 my Pb for 3 miles when I was much younger. No reason why any of our players couldn't achieve a Pb at the ages they are at.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Exercise
Well done on getting on top of it. Good discipline is hard.
Something people may not know is that weight loss is 80 % diet and 20% exercise. Exercise is, of course, important for other reasons.

Well done on getting on top of it. Good discipline is hard.
Something people may not know is that weight loss is 80 % diet and 20% exercise. Exercise is, of course, important for other reasons.

Good post.

Thank you.

Definitely so true. I would go so far to say, you can lose weight without any exercise, if your diet is on point. Exercise, is not only good overall for your health but helps in burning a few more calories to assist you.

Yes, in the early days, I thought pounding away in the gym, be it weights or cardio was the solution.

There is a reason when they say abs are made in the kitchen.

Good post.

Thank you.

Definitely so true. I would go so far to say, you can lose weight without any exercise, if your diet is on point. Exercise, is not only good overall for your health but helps in burning a few more calories to assist you.

Yes, in the early days, I thought pounding away in the gym, be it weights or cardio was the solution.

True that - but without the weights and cardio as well, you lose weight by diet but have no muscle mass at the end of it.

No, they are not past their peaks in the early 30s. Runners begin to slow down after age 40. You lose about 1% a year after that time. I think burst speed may be a different matter.
I'm 81 and run a 5 k in around 30 minutes these days. 16:50 my Pb for 3 miles when I was much younger. No reason why any of our players couldn't achieve a Pb at the ages they are at.

Hats off to you, I’m struggling to walk

That'll be too many pie floaters at the Norwood pie cart mate🥧🥧
1028649-middle.png
🥧🥧

Good post.

Thank you.

Weight management is absolutely (95%) diet. I used to fight against this fact because I love good food, but at the end of the day, it really is mostly calories in > calories out. Yes you can tweak metabolism, and some people do have legit hormonal or physiological challenges, so you should never judge...you never know what they have going on physically or mentally. But for most people, if you just measure your calories and don't go hard with crash diets, you can reach a healthy weight.

Besides, it's a good thing a 5km run doesn't burn 5000 calories, we'd be outrageously inefficient as animals if we could chew through large volumes of calories that easily.

Training Pre-Season 2024