Pre-season training. Bring it on!

Keep getting excited Drum and making those bold predictions. I love it. No offence Alex but I would much rather this than hearing about drill 1 they did this....

That is the key. Bold predictions.

Brodie Smith
Luke Brown
Ian Callinan

I don't see Callinan or Brown even playing more 10 games next year. Callinan won't make it as an AFL midfielders, he is too slow and ATM he's banking on an injury to Porps for a spot.

Brown is a kid, unless Doughty, Reilly, Jaensch, Johnstone, Johncock, Symes and Tambling get inured - he will be playing at Norwood.

And Smith will step up if we can find a midfield spot for him.

Bold predication my arse. Unrealistic predictions more like it. and it happened last preseason. How many times did we hear about Broady Martin as the next coming based on some bold predication.

Don't like my reports, don't read them. Simple. But making bold predication gives this board more ammunition to pump a undeserving player up.

Could you see Callinan and Porps in the both side?

Sando has said that Porps really impressed him, and I am sure he would love Callinan's grit. Porps to play up the ground a bit more and Callinan FP/Small Forwad role.

I reckon Porps and Knighta might be fighting for the same spot.

The other player in the mix is Pets.
You'd hope so, I expect one role to be freed up with Dangerfield moving into the midfield (well at least I hope he moves into the midfield). Gunston is also gone as well although I guess he wasn't a lock in the 22. Porplyiza is more of a marking forward (good on the ground as well) where Callinan could provide some strong defensive pressure so I hope they both can fit in the same forward line together.

Really struggling to see what our best 22 will look like with some of the new guys like Brown, Johnston, Lynch, McIntyre etc coming into the side, others coming back from injury/poor season like Tambling, Mackay, Porplyzia, Callinan etc, others who will continue to improve/push for a spot in Martin, Smith, Wright, Petrenko etc along with guys looking to move into a difference position in Dangerfield, Otten etc. We have maybe 10-15 guys I'd have as a lock into the side but a lot of spots which could be taken by quite a number of guys, felt the same way last year I guess, hope the depth is a little stronger this year then it appeared to be last year.

Thanks for the training reports guys, enjoyed them both. Out of interest, how are we using Walker and Tippett in the forward line? Like have we appointed one as a CHF and the other as a FF or both playing out of the square?

Thanks again for the update guys, much appreciated. :thumbsu:

Alex, thanks for your training reports. Really appreciate the effort that Adelaide posters go to putting these up.

Having said that it's an Internet forum mate, it's all about opinions and personally, I love hearing Drummond sprout them off. Especially about the progress of individual players. If it pumps them up too much for u don't read them or post your opinion. Lay off telling others not to post their views tho, it's boring. We have enough real mods we don't need you acting like a self appointed deputy.

Thanks drumm. Love your work and keep it up as it is appreciated.

I enjoy ALL the training reports that you guys/gals put out. I feel though Alex that if Drummond (or anyone else) wishes to remark that player X was a standout at training, it is up to the people reading his report to put it into perspective. If persons on this board think that player X is gonna get a game based on one training session, then thats their own stupidity and not Drummonds fault. Keep ALL the reports comin... :thumbsu:

Kurt Tippett: The way the ball moves out of the midfield and with limited ease, he could kick 80 plus next year without breaking a sweat.

An interesting prediction based on practice drills against Luke Thompson.

Last year Sellar was allover Tippett in the pre-season (before he was injured) including the internal trial. I agree Alex, it's ridiculous making predictions based on training drills

I enjoy ALL the training reports that you guys/gals put out. I feel though Alex that if Drummond (or anyone else) wishes to remark that player X was a standout at training, it is up to the people reading his report to put it into perspective. If persons on this board think that player X is gonna get a game based on one training session, then thats their own stupidity and not Drummonds fault. Keep ALL the reports comin... :thumbsu:

Exactly!

Thanks again Drummond for your report.

Mate, exactly what I was gonna say. I think that if you are gonna take the opinions of others as gospel, then it is you, the reader, who is being silly. Sometimes you just have to observe neutrally if you can't experience something yourself. I love these reports. They are all informative and its always good to hear another's opinion, but I won't form my own around it.

Alex I really like to hear about the drills etc and how you believe we will play each player. I do like every fact you put in there. It's awesome. Thankyou.

Drummond, I really appreciate it every time you make it out of bed to go to training :). I like to see your opinions on players and your statement of facts. Seing as I am my own person, I shall appreciate that you think callinan, smith, and brown will do well, but I will wait to see what actually happens. :thumbsu:

Appreciate all info on tips and tex. Can't wait to see how they go.

Thanks everyone who writes reports, I hungrily await every one. :)

I will probably be able to get down there after chrissy and will try my hand at a report.

Warning you ahead of time Alex that I probably will post my opinion but I will also write facts.

THANKYOU EVERYONE MUCH APPRECIATED:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I thought David MacKay was their, I thought I noticed him in the handball drills where they had to run to the different point he kicked it. I think he's just cut his hair or doesn't have the blonde streaks anymore.

Didn't see Jaensch, Knights, Dangerfield, Johncock and I think they may be at the AFLPA conference. Richard Tambling was walking laps with Dean Bailey but didn't train today. Went inside at about 10:30

See, I don't know how you can make this statement?

At the moment, their is not even 50% game like defensive pressure being applied. It's just all training drills and anyone can look good doing them. I'm not saying they didn't look good but I just find it hard to see how you could suggest they have stepped up without that applied pressure.

Nope. Disagree. I think we will run with a 3 key forward system and they will be Tippett, Walker and Porplizia with Knights on the half forward line.

Jason Porplizia looks at fit as ever, moving freely and that shoulder isn't a worry. He's landed on numerous times without a worry. During forward entry drills, the players will always kick it to Porplizia. From my perspective, he is their number 1 go to man.

Today was the first day I've had to question his 'want'. He didn't want to be there today and it was the first time I've allowed myself to actually believe he won't make it. He didn't look interested, he didn't have any desire and it looks like he had given up and was just going through the motions.

I hope I'm wrong and I hope today was just a one off but after being at the back of most running drills (across the whole preseason) and not having or appear to be getting any emotional support from Mark Bickley - I Just don't know.

I hope he is just physically spend and the Christmas break will freshen him up. I know a few of them are really hanging out for it.

I agree with you. Standing back, I have no idea who is who, especially with the newbies.

Good report Drummond. :thumbsu:
None of them went to the Carols either. Jaensch mentioned on Twitter he didn't go because he has crook guts though.

Loved both reports:thumbsu:

Alex, sensational report, but I must admit if I could go I would rather kick back, relax and watch a few players I love rather than write an exceptionally detailed piece like you have:thumbsu:

You have a great talent mate but you cant expect others to write like that.

Not good to hear about Mckernan though...

Thanks to both Drummond and Alex for what I see as excellent training reports written from different view-points. Drumm's is a very personalized one concentrating on the individual, and its his report so naturally he gives his opinion.

Please keep it up Drumm as I really enjoy your reports which come from a totally different aspect to Alex. That's the beauty of variety. :thumbsu:

I don't give a flying fk whether your predictions eventually prove to be correct or not. Firstly you have the guts to call it as you see it at the time, and as has happened in the past those opinions and predictions will change as the pre-season goes along. The masses, of which I'm one, thoroughly enjoy what you do!! :thumbsu: :)

And Alex, you come from a totally different perspective which is also great. Nobody wants 2 reports which are effectively one because they say the same thing. Rather than Drumm's report contradicting yours, it supplements it.

I thoroughly enjoyed your report too, which was very comprehensive and detailed, as it tells us the direction Sando is taking this group and the steps he is putting in place to achieve it.

All the above is just the long way of saying "Well done" to the both of you, and encouraging you to keep on writing your reports, and exactly in the same manner as you do currently. Thoroughly enjoyed reading both of them. :thumbsu: :)

Drum

Thanks for the report and sharing your insights and views on some of the playing group

Alex

Mate I too enjoy your reports however please take this feedback with all good intensions but you need to learn that everything isn't black or white or there isn't always a right or wrong answer. With this in mind it is ok to have varying opinions and views however you do seem to want to dismiss, argue and debate anyone who has a different view then you on a football matter or on a player.

Its only my thoughts, of course dont stop putting your views forward but being a little more acceptive of other people's views would not be a bad thing

Thank you to you both for the reports :thumbsu:

Loved both reports:thumbsu:

Alex, sensational report, but I must admit if I could go I would rather kick back, relax and watch a few players I love rather than write an exceptionally detailed piece like you have:thumbsu:

You have a great talent mate but you cant expect others to write like that.

Not good to hear about Mckernan though...

Didn't do any training reports last year but I used to do them in years gone by.

My style was more along that of Drumm's, although I used to give a quick sketch of what they were doing.

I'm hoping to get down there myself after Xmas and if I do any reports they will mainly be about what stood out to me, what really caught my eye, good or bad.

That's how it'll be if it happens. :)

Three guys who I think will really step up this season:

Brodie Smith
Luke Brown
Ian Callinan

Smith no longer looks like a guy days removed from the draft; he looks physically ready to go. People forget how good this guy was going until he hit the rookie walk about halfway through the season. He’s not yet at his peak physical condition, that’ll take another year or two, but he looks a lot stronger, just generally bigger and has more of a presence. I love what he offers, great size for a midfielder/wingman, good pace, great reach, really takes the game on.

Great training report Drummond !! .................i agree people keep overlooking Smith ...he'll be a ripper and for those old enough is very much in the John Cahill mould of player.
Definately a midfielder that can get the inside ball out of scrimmages but also break the lines and has a super long kick that doesn't float.

Also agree re Luke Brown who reminds me so much of a young Tyson Edwards who also started in a BP then progressed up field.
Excellent balance, vision and seems to have time ......always good signs. Got caught out for strength in U18 a few times but he'll get stronger quickly and really knows how to use his body in contests

Whats your thoughts on Jenkins and some of the new talls?

Back on topic: it will be interesting to see how Henderson fares under Sanderson .....is he competitive enough physically or do you need a certain number of outside players?

WW - it's great to see my old sparring partner around again!! :thumbsu: :D

It's a good question you pose there. Henderson started his career well, but he was starting to look a bit wimpy and very outside as the season went on.

Can't answer your question yet, until we really understand how Sando sees the composition of a team. He seems to always have an exact precise picture in his head of what he wants.

WW - it's great to see my old sparring partner around again!! :thumbsu: :D

It's a good question you pose there. Henderson started his career well, but he was starting to look a bit wimpy and very outside as the season went on.

Can't answer your question yet, until we really understand how Sando sees the composition of a team. He seems to always have an exact precise picture in his head of what he wants.

I think we'll see a revived Hendo this year. He copped a couple of big hits early last year and I think this severely dented his confidence.

He'll never be much of an inside player, but he has all the tools to be a devastating winger. Elite work-rate, pace, agility, leap, has good skills and can kick a long goal. Put him on one wing, Mackay on the other and we'll have one of the wing combinations in the comp.

I have to admit I quite often forget about B. Smith. I think it must be his no fuss attitude. Have seen pics of him and definitely doesnt look like a teenager any more. Makes you realise what just 1 year in the system can do. Makes me even more exited about Crouch for 2013.

Warm up: as usual, these were taken by Matthew Bode as I think he is the interim strength and conditioning coach until a full time appointment is made, or they give him the job.

Bode has already been appointed as our full time fitness coach. Nick Poulos is our strength and conditioning coach, but I think he's still in Dubai finishing up his previous contract at Aspire Academy and should be over here shortly.