Training Pre season training

Not imminent, more like done. Met his parents today, seem like a fantastic down to earth family with good banter. Proper genuine people, he has fit in really well with the group and who knows what a full time environment will do for him. We don't realise how tough it is for these kids who don't make it. The juggle between Uni, working, footy training twice a week then game day whilst expecting to develop at the same rate as full time footballers must be hard.

I haven't been on here much of late but I'll write up something soon if enough people are interested in my ramblings.

I think he plays in 2025 but he's not a Battle replacement.

He's more of a tall flanker and distributor and will probably play a Bonner type role despite his height.

There is a chance as he develops he could eventually hold down a key position
Reading the training report on fox footy it sounds like he was playing a Battle role today. Will be an interesting one to watch this year.

Ari has the ability to be one of the best players in his draft. He averaged 26 touches game. Only Bonner, Crouch and Jones averaged more touches. Ari was the only one to play more than 10 games. Not may first year players become the focal point for most of the play to go through. There were a couple of games where the players were obviously feeding every rebound ball through him.

Yeah, but having a good AFL career isn’t about being in a race to see who debuts first. We presume that he was only offered a 1 year contract?
Kid is a near 200cm tall project key forward, 20 years old, missed his first pre season and 6 months of his career with a torn meniscus. Has shown more than enough at VFL level, despite having to spend most his time learning a new position. I don’t know what people’s expectations are of someone in his position, considering he won’t hit his ceiling (an extremely high ceiling) until 24-26 years old. There should be no timeline for a tall to debut, as long as they are continuing to improve on an AFL standard trajectory.

I just can’t believe two posters on here are calling him delist material and another a bust. Same with Hall I feel like I’m taking crazy pills. No more bigfooty and defending the honour of our young emerging players for me today haha
The thing with Keeler is he hasn't shown he can dominate VFL yet. Compare him to Sharman who goes back there and is clearly a class above.

I'm not writing off Keeler it's more just a law of averages thing, we've seen heaps of guys tear it up on the track but not make it and right now he is up against it. It's probably more likely that Boyd debuts if I'm honest.

Would love for Keeler to make it as he is an X factor type and you can never have enough good goal kickers, but he needs to prove he's a cut above VFL first.

Here's an inside look at St Kilda's end of year open training session!

A big thank you to Stu Art Video Productions for getting down to training and capture this footage for those of us who could not attend.

Max has really filled out. Looks properly solid.

The thing with Keeler is he hasn't shown he can dominate VFL yet. Compare him to Sharman who goes back there and is clearly a class above.

I'm not writing off Keeler it's more just a law of averages thing, we've seen heaps of guys tear it up on the track but not make it and right now he is up against it. It's probably more likely that Boyd debuts if I'm honest.

Would love for Keeler to make it as he is an X factor type and you can never have enough good goal kickers, but he needs to prove he's a cut above VFL first.
That’s not the point though

The point is that we observe Keeler being significantly improved from last season - none of the hype is based off his VFL form from last season

The question is how much has he improved, and does this improvement translate to matchday performance

All we can do for now is observe training and look forward to the practice matches

Max has really filled out. Looks properly solid.
I know it’s only training drills but looks to be leading and moving around a lot more as well.
I wonder if new players and coaches come in from other clubs and give their previous clubs opinions of our players which give them something to work on their weaknesses.

Yeah I agree with some of the sentiments you’re saying, hopefully he progresses to a few more dominant 4 or 5 goal performances and gets a few games at the top level.

Im just conscious to temper expectations on a 20 yo development tall, bearing in mind Sharman is 4 years older than Keeler and at his age wasn’t even in the AFL, and his first 18months weren’t really all that impressive at all.
Sharman is the same age as Max King, so he should be a level above VFL, and I hope Keeler will be in 4 years time aswell.
I also don’t think the Boyd signing impacts Keeler at all as he ain’t a true ruckman.
Hopefully we get a better look at how players are going with match sim in the new year! Looking forward to seeing not just Keeler but also all of our young prospects.

I don't really agree. I think dominating and being a class above are two different things. I don't think Coops dominates necessarily as a forward.

I completely agree that Coops is a class above the VFL an I'd argue that Keeler has shown he is a class above the VFL. Keels also played about half the year in defence.

Well the post was somewhat tongue in cheek. But to be honest, I think some of the training posts are part of the over-hype we occassionally see pre-season. And I'll dob myself in on that level. I went to a few training sessions in 23 and 24 and posted reports. The problem is, in the warm weather, under little pressure, practicing well schooled drills - players really do look they are flying and in the best shape they have ever been in. The problem with watching a team train is you don't see any other team train. And guess what, they all look like they are flying.

I recall watch Byrnes in particular just carve up a couple of sessions last year.I think I posted on here that this would be his break out year. It wasn't, he was the same player in match time as he was the previous year.

Training is a bubble
Agree, and as someone who attends and posts occasionally, I do that as well. Much of that is running and muscles 🤫. Although I don’t mind a bit of a reality check where needed, but it’s not always taken that well. A bit like the overall team performance 🤌

I know it’s only training drills but looks to be leading and moving around a lot more as well.
I wonder if new players and coaches come in from other clubs and give their previous clubs opinions of our players which give them something to work on their weaknesses.
good question

View attachment 2185959

Ain’t tall… but he’s an absolute BRICK.
My tip is he plays round one.

We wanted Soldo to play tandem with Marshall. We've also jumped on Boyd after about three training sessions so obviously love what we've seen.

I know some disagree but I reckon Ross wants to use Marshall up forward more. I wonder how Boyd goes forward and back? He looks a bit like Briggs from GWS.

In my opinion, Garcia, Arie, Keeler, Hall are the guys at sandy I rate the highest. The first 3 a little bit ahead of Hall. Not saying I don’t rate anyone else, but I would delist most at sandy if push came to shove before the first 3.
A lot of opinions in footy and yours may be that you would cull players I like first. I’m not going to write a public list but I can find 9 I would definitely cut first over Garcia Arie and Keeler and maybe Hall.
Soft.

Nothing worse in the opinions business than claiming something and then not backing it up.

Training Pre season training