Preview Prelim - Coll vs Sydney - Changes and Prematch discussion

Didak allegedly has a calf strain.

Dawes looked good enough at training today, I reckon they'll roll the dice with him.

But Dids didn't train, and if Dawes does play, there's no way they'll run the risk with both.

Imagine Dawes being no good, subbed off, Didak on then does his calf - no way they'll run that risk.

So, Didak out, someone in.

Sinclair, for pace and tackling pressure, Marty for a tagging role? Paine, as cover for Dawes?

Given Jolly can ruck pretty much all day, I'd discount Paine and his 6-8 possessions.

Tagging isn't our go usually, though Jennedy did get 40 touches against us last time and that was without Jude Bolton around.

We seem at our best with that fearsome pace and pressure on the ball carrier, so Sinclair for me.

PS just to share something from training re Dawes today. They were practicing their torps. He picked up the ball on the fifty, took half a step whilst chatting to a mate, kicked the most casual, gentle half arsed barrell you'll ever see, straight through the the dead centre of the goals two thirds post high.

Love this guy, just wish he'd just relax a little on game day, let his talent shine.
He just needs a few breaks to go his way to get that level of confidence and calmness in his mind.

They looked a tight bunch at training.

Go you Pies!

PS just to share something from training re Dawes today. They were practicing their torps. He picked up the ball on the fifty, took half a step whilst chatting to a mate, kicked the most casual, gentle half arsed barrell you'll ever see, straight through the the dead centre of the goals two thirds post high.

Love this guy, just wish he'd just relax a little on game day, let his talent shine.
He just needs a few breaks to go his way to get that level of confidence and calmness in his mind.

They looked a tight bunch at training.

Go you Pies!

Lovely! When it clicks for Dawes and that man-mountain starts having fun on the field, just watchout!

Didak not training, I think could be mind games and put some uncertainty into Sydney's mind as they prepare for the game. For all we know they could have taken Didak to a local park somewhere and given him a fitness test.

If he is actually struggling a lot with his calf then it's pretty simple for me he makes way for Sinclair. The way Sydney like to play, you don't need to have the most skillful players in the side, it's all about the contested footy imo. You have to be hard and go in hard and Sinclair does that and Didak is opposite to that. If we can add the grunt and effort from Sinclair then Didak's absence won't be noticed.

As much as it pains me to say this about my favorite player of all time, I think Dids is finished. That is 2 calf's and 2 abductor injuries he has had in the last 18 months. Hopefully he is OK and he plays and if not hopefully he is good for the GF if we make it.

Does anyone know why Thomas didn't train?

Seedsman played really well against the Swans. Not sure why he's been discounted. The kid's a pretty nice kick, if Dids isn't good to go, he's the one I'd pick...

I've now watched the replay of last Saturday twice now and it just looks like things have started to click for nearly the first time this season.

Nobody was to know what impact JMac's passing would have had on the group but to me the guys looked to have galvanized and playing for each other and it was frighteningly good. West Coast were in red hot form but if we had made the most of our opportunties we would have destroyed them.

Losing a best mate let alone in the middle of a finals season is such a shocking tragedy however the club has managed this incredibly well IMO by encouraging the players to grieve and heal as a team. They have gone through such a roller coaster of emotion and heart ache as a team and when they crossed that line last Saturday they played for each other as a team.

This week will again be difficult but I honestly believe now that this side has what it takes to not just win this Friday night but to go into a grand final with every chance of winning it against a side that has made mince meat of us all season.

Side by side

^ Couldn't agree more Bloben. It was clear to me in the 3rd quarter that the side has turned the corner. I can't prove this through statistics even though their tackling figures were very solid, more like an in-tune supporter witnessing something click on a subliminal level.

Yeah, i feel very positive about the Pies this week, but I'm also nervous about this game.

This weekend is just as unpredictable as the previous because the effect that JMac's funeral ceremony will have on the young guys is unknown.

I agree our club has managed this immaculately.

agreed Yidaki. On the positive side though, Didak went quiet after half time and that's when we really exploded. I think its more about a guy like Thomas, Sidebottom, Beams, Blair or Swan hitting the scoreboard and rotating between the forward line to cover. I think at this stage Didak is more a bonus than anything else. I don't think he is a game-breaker anymore. If he had that many possessions 2 years ago in the opening half, we would've been in the lead by 4 goals. Would love him out there though.

Didak not training, I think could be mind games and put some uncertainty into Sydney's mind as they prepare for the game. For all we know they could have taken Didak to a local park somewhere and given him a fitness test.

If he is actually struggling a lot with his calf then it's pretty simple for me he makes way for Sinclair. The way Sydney like to play, you don't need to have the most skillful players in the side, it's all about the contested footy imo. You have to be hard and go in hard and Sinclair does that and Didak is opposite to that. If we can add the grunt and effort from Sinclair then Didak's absence won't be noticed.

As much as it pains me to say this about my favorite player of all time, I think Dids is finished. That is 2 calf's and 2 abductor injuries he has had in the last 18 months. Hopefully he is OK and he plays and if not hopefully he is good for the GF if we make it.

Does anyone know why Thomas didn't train?
Sorry didn't see the comments on training her, posted new thread but Thomas was there and trained well.

agreed Yidaki. On the positive side though, Didak went quiet after half time and that's when we really exploded. I think its more about a guy like Thomas, Sidebottom, Beams, Blair or Swan hitting the scoreboard and rotating between the forward line to cover. I think at this stage Didak is more a bonus than anything else. I don't think he is a game-breaker anymore. If he had that many possessions 2 years ago in the opening half, we would've been in the lead by 4 goals. Would love him out there though.

Good points Dave.

^ Couldn't agree more Bloben. It was clear to me in the 3rd quarter that the side has turned the corner. I can't prove this through statistics even though their tackling figures were very solid, more like an in-tune supporter witnessing something click on a subliminal level.

Yeah, i feel very positive about the Pies this week, but I'm also nervous about this game.

This weekend is just as unpredictable as the previous because the effect that JMac's funeral ceremony will have on the young guys is unknown.

I agree our club has managed this immaculately.

I've been hoping all year that we were managing players in a way that would allow them to peak. I gave up hope as I thought it would have started to come together in about round 21 but didn't . But the last three weeks I think we have been building; even though we lost to Hawthorn. The game last week there were a few errors and our ball use could have been better but the intensity was there. Best it's been all season.

If the players have been managed well I see no reason why we couldn't continue to build. It's not the time of year to get fitter and the single session this week is evidence that the fitness work has been done and the players are being let loose; so to speak.

If the fitness work has been done then even with less days we can run out the last two games well I reckon. If we go all out and win this week we'll have an extra day on our opponent. I would really love to see the intensity maintained this week, raised even, and the ball use/decision making improve, especially going inside 50. There is still a glimmer of hope.

Apparently the 22 from last week were all wearing one training top whilst the squad members were wearing a different one.

Added to the 'squad' was Sinclair, this has me thinking the straight swap will be Didak/Sinclair. Though he doesn't have Didak's ability, Sinclair will thrive on the contested stuff, so a good change considering the circumstances.

B: Shaw - Brown - Toovey​
HB: Johnson - Reid - O'Brien​
C: Sidebottom - Beams - Wellingham​
HF: D. Thomas - Cloke - Goldsack​
F: Krakouer - Dawes - Tarrant​
FL: Jolly - Pendlebury - Swan​
INT: Blair - Fasolo - Clarke​
SUB: Sinclair​

I've now watched the replay of last Saturday twice now and it just looks like things have started to click for nearly the first time this season.

Nobody was to know what impact JMac's passing would have had on the group but to me the guys looked to have galvanized and playing for each other and it was frighteningly good. West Coast were in red hot form but if we had made the most of our opportunties we would have destroyed them.

Losing a best mate let alone in the middle of a finals season is such a shocking tragedy however the club has managed this incredibly well IMO by encouraging the players to grieve and heal as a team. They have gone through such a roller coaster of emotion and heart ache as a team and when they crossed that line last Saturday they played for each other as a team.

This week will again be difficult but I honestly believe now that this side has what it takes to not just win this Friday night but to go into a grand final with every chance of winning it against a side that has made mince meat of us all season.

Side by side

Don't be surprised if we see the 'COME DOWN' after 2 emotional weeks.

Nope. No Tarrant against them last time.

Amazing we'll be gaining almost 7 senior starting 22 players from the last time we played them.

I AM EXCITE!
Tarrant played forward.

But yeah, I saw that during the week and couldn't believe how undermanned we were. We still had Seedsman, Clarke and Sinclair in that team.

Given that we are playing Sydney, a side known for their love of "Shut down,contested footy" Sinclair would be a monty for replacing Dids.
His tackling and more importantly his pace, would be a very handy inclusion.
P.s: If Dawes doesn't pull up, bring Paine in and make Goldy ruck for the 5 or so mins a qtr to allow Jolly to have a rest.

The fact that Dids was surprised to be subbed tells me they're just being ultra precautionary and I would expect him to line up
I think this says it all about Didak, he'll play;

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/collin...ource=AFLlivebroadcast.com&utm_medium=twitter

‘‘We will give him [Didak] every opportunity to prove his fitness and it was felt that, at this stage, a closely monitored session indoors at the Westpac Centre was the best thing for him,’’ director of football Geoff Walsh said.
‘‘So far, Alan has completed everything the physios, doctors and fitness staff have asked him to do and he remains in consideration for the preliminary final,’’ he said.

Basically we are saying that there's no need to push Dids more than we have to, I still reckon he'll either be the sub or the player earmarked to be subbed out.

Preview Prelim - Coll vs Sydney - Changes and Prematch discussion