Preview Prelim - Coll vs Sydney - Changes and Prematch discussion

I agree about Fas but I hope he has a decent game tomorrow. Dale Thomas is a key, if he fires like he always does against the Swans we will be a very good chance. He usually is the difference.

Very eager to see how Beams, Elliot and Sinclair play in a big final like tomorrow, it could be the making of the two young blokes.

The Fas has had three poor finals games so far, needs to lift otherwise if we get past the swans could see him out of the team for GF.
He was the sub in last years GF and think he was good against Hawthorn. Crucial to our structure though and that says alot for a 20 y.o. If we win and he plays poorly, there is no way he'll be dropped. Provides X-factor we'll so desperately need in any final.

Not that it counts for that much but he got 49 supercoach score, didn't kick a goal, 15 disposals at 60% efficiency. Didak was sub 12 disposals at 83% efficiency. Until he shows something, would still prefer Didak or Elliott.

I need to get this off my chest - if we win this week, we will win the flag. No stats, logic or facts to back me up, just a gut feeling.

P.S. To all the timid fans: don't bitch about this post sounding arrogant or I will start a thread about it and "embarrass" you more. :p
Like. Like. Go with the gut.

I need to get this off my chest - if we win this week, we will win the flag. No stats, logic or facts to back me up, just a gut feeling.

P.S. To all the timid fans: don't bitch about this post sounding arrogant or I will start a thread about it and "embarrass" you more. :p
I like your confidence mate , wouldn't call it arrogant , I wouldn't call myself timid but more of a pessimist who doesn't like putting the moz on our team.

Don't worry mate, if moz counts then the Hawks supporters have it covered. You don't even need to go to their board to see this, the main board will be more than enough to convince you of this.

Fasolo was terrible vs Hawthorn and terrible v West Coast.

Guys first time im going Sydney for a footy match and im pumped! couldnt find cheap flights, so im driving up early tomorrow morning with the missus

In terms of the match, I have a feeling we will start immensely (Prelim 2010) and shock the Swans of their rocker. Dids out doesn't really faze me. He isn't a hardnut at the contests, and I feel we will need more of those sorts of players if we were to win. (Elliot/Sinclair)

Go Pies!

Fasolo was terrible vs Hawthorn and terrible v West Coast.

He has certainly been down but I will back him in to turn it around. Just seems to have a knack of finding important goals and will be the successor to Didak in the future.

Guys first time im going Sydney for a footy match and im pumped! couldnt find cheap flights, so im driving up early tomorrow morning with the missus

In terms of the match, I have a feeling we will start immensely (Prelim 2010) and shock the Swans of their rocker. Dids out doesn't really faze me. He isn't a hardnut at the contests, and I feel we will need more of those sorts of players if we were to win. (Elliot/Sinclair)

Go Pies!

Hope you have a great time mate but why aren't you going up with some mates?

all the cockos on the Footy Show give Pies no hope. Except the fossil.

Bring it on !

Side by Side.

Got in here to say the same thing. They talked about the affect of the 6 day break coupled with jmac's funeral. Logical points were made.

F$)k logic!

Got in here to say the same thing. They talked about the affect of the 6 day break coupled with jmac's funeral. Logical points were made.

F$)k logic!
I find it funny how everyone goes on about how 21 of 24 prelims have been won by the side with the week off, etc, and then they throw away our 11-win streak over Sydney and say "history and stats mean nothing..." :rolleyes:

We are the better team. We just are. Sydney's midfield is well balanced and they have good contributors over the ground but we have many more match winners in our side. If we are switched on, we will win.

Good on all the blokes making the trip up to sydney for the game, wish i could do it as well, hopefully next year.

Go the pies. If we win this, we are a 40% chance to win the premiership.. so exciting

Can't believe some people think Dids being out is a good thing. He's a massive loss. The one thing that had started to happen in the past few weeks was that we were starting to take games on thanks to the reinclusion of Dids, Johnno and Krak to replace some of the inexperienced guys. Dids may not win games single handedly but the way he instinctively takes the game on inspires his team mates. The difference between him and someone like Sinclair or Elliott is massive because understandably, with their inexperience they will play "safe" footy. We will have to make do with that but the last thing we need now is more "safe" footy!

True but Dids might be back next week if it all goes well and Sinkers is an ok in against the swans. He can run all game and lay a few tackles.

I find it funny how everyone goes on about how 21 of 24 prelims have been won by the side with the week off, etc, and then they throw away our 11-win streak over Sydney and say "history and stats mean nothing..." :rolleyes:

Which team would you favor? The "well rested" side or the one that has found a way to win every game against them since Jesus was born?

My concern is the affect of jmac's funeral on the group. The club did everything right there, showing a glimpse of what bonds them. I hope the boys can lift. Understand 100% if they don't.

Which team would you favor? The "well rested" side or the one that has found a way to win every game against them since Jesus was born?

My concern is the affect of jmac's funeral on the group. The club did everything right there, showing a glimpse of what bonds them. I hope the boys can lift. Understand 100% if they don't.
I think it's line-ball, 50-50 tbh. Unfortunately I think the 6-day break might be the deciding factor. We can just see the media spinning their anti-Collingwood crap with those stats.

We did it without swanny, we can do it without Dids

Havent felt it much this year, but for some reason now i have genuine belief.

Every game I go to (which is every Melbourne game), I watch the boys when they run out on the field, and try to get a feel for when they're 'up' or not.

When they ran out against West Coast, it was literally the FIRST time this year I saw them 'switched on' and made mention of it out loud.

We then went on to play our best game of the year from an intensity point of view.

I genuinely believe these guys wanted the year over with a few weeks back, but now that they've got the whiff of a Grand Final in the air, the mindset of the entire squad has done a 180. I reckon they might be back in 2010 mode now...

Preview Prelim - Coll vs Sydney - Changes and Prematch discussion