Preview QF1 Geelong v Collingwood Sat Sept 3 2022, 435pm @ MCG

I don't think we need kolo.

Parfitt or Atkins to tag Nick D.
Can't let him run free he's kicking can hurt.
Doubt it - ND plays HB - Close has the ability to run both ways and defensively is a beauty for a half forward. His rundowns as opposition teams head into their on forward half are beautiful to watch. He is also deceptively strong ... must have massive guns under those long sleeves ... the hoops just hide it a lot ...

The named team screams Parfitt late change for Duncan to me

Not duncan i reckon hes right.

Kolo with two recent concussions i reckon is the one.

Unless cuthrie isnt right to go.

Thats what we listed him as.
The club has been upfront before that listing players as “managed” allows them some flexibility for team selection. Hence sometimes players who are actually omitted are listed as managed.

To be fair, maybe he was just managed and then left out this week. But I doubt it - I suspect he was omitted.

My Team Selection

B: Bews : De Koning : Kolo
HB: Henry : Stewart : Tuohy
C: Smith : Guthrie : Duncan
HF: Close : Cameron : Miers
F: Stengle : Hawkins : Rohan
Foll: Stanley : Dangerfield : Selwood
Int: Blicavs : Atkins : Holmes : Zuthrie

Med Sub: Parfitt
Emg: Menegola : Ceglar : O'Connor : Esava

9 Mids incl sub : 7 Backs : 6 Forwards.
Team keeps Specialist Forwards Backs and Mids in place
Important to maintain team synergy of player groups that work together
Zuthrie allows for defensive bench rotations and Henry to go Forward
We are not forced to call an early sub if a minor knock strikes

Parfitt named sub as there is 8 mids in the 22
Parfitt can come on fresh if required.
Menegola and MOC very unlucky
Very tempted to name Ceglar as Sub:
Team needs extra tall Forward to stop double teaming Hawkins.
nailed it

Not a hope in hell Seeds. There will be ebbs and flows.

I do expect the Pies will come out frantic to try to throw us off our game, then we will click in to gear.
In regards to Collingwoods pressure, it's actually such and interesting thing to think about. They have had alot of high pressure games against some really average sides. Doesnt this mean that they somehow found themselves in a position where they were desperate to win a game against a bad side?

You can get a high rating and a high average playing in a number of high pressure games, but maybe it's just more to do with the fact that it's constantly two one-armed men having a fight in the mud? And that game against Melbourne, we all know that Melbourne bottled that. That game against Sydney, they were just picked apart.

Meanwhile we pretty much just demolished those same sides. There was no pressure needed.

Against more skilled sides like Melbourne, Port, Richmond, WB and Carlton (when they were top 4), we upped the pressure in the right moments and won those games too.

I think the narrative is that everyone expects them to come out frantically - like they did in 2019.

Everyone expects us to be this slow steady methodical team from yesteryear that is expected to absorb the pressure or wilt under it.

Not sure it will play out like this at all. With Blitz and Atkins in the middle, we have elite pressure near the ball at all times and we have a wrecking ball in Danger right there next to them. And we have some incredibly high pressure small forwards who harrass and tackle all the way up the field.

I would not be surprised one bit if we turn up ready to pressure them and see how they can take it. It's pretty much how took out Melbourne this year - just took them on at the source, and then let our clean interceptors pick off their kicks and then go direct down the middle to our very dangerous forwards.

No excuses. Best team we've listed all season.

Parfitt very unlucky but they have been prepping Danger & Selwood all season for a big run in September - expect extra midfield minutes from them which pushes Parfitt to the bench / sub role.

Our other midfielders have more flexibility in terms of roles they can play in the team with the ability to fill gaps in the forward/backline or ruck (Blicavs).
Atkins, Guthrie, Duncan etc.

Parfitt will make a great sub. Although, wouldn't be surprised if Guthrie is a late out and replaced in the team with Parfitt. Then MOC or Menegola SUB.

If we assume Parfitt isn't a late in, it is a left field decision. My thoughts:

-They want to keep all forwards in as I expected. So both Rohan and Miers, with their two different skill sets, are backed in.

-They value Zuthrie (who I thought may be the unlucky one) because besides playing well, he has had more continuity (more durable?) and releases Duncan/Touhy to the wing/HFF more. He probably allows the Henry switch forward if we need it, too.

-Blicavs and Atkins midfield minutes have put the squeeze on Parfitt. With the heavy rotation focus through midfield I expected they would keep all of them. But perhaps the very low games and minutes per game of Danger/Sel compared to previous seasons means they are ready to give them closer to full games.

-Atkins has had reduced responsibilities to recharge him and now we expect a role similar to the Port game.

-Focus on skill: strong ball user in Zuthrie makes the cut ahead of a bloke whose weakness is probably ball use?
Zuthrie also is a version of Stewart. If they try and put a defensive forward tag on Stewart, then Zuthrie will take his role and and his ball use is really quite good. THere as a game where this happened recently where Stewart was quiet (maybe his first game back?) and Zuthrie was just intercepting and rebounding like a machine. Having him in the team, gives us so many options going when taking it up the field. He's also shown that he's brave and more than willing to go for an intercept when the ball is coming towards our D50. Finally, it's showing respect to Collingwoods forwards to have an extra defensive player.

Exactly my point. Praise grows based off someone elses praise which is based off someone elses dodgy memory. Not anything actually real.

atkins has been living off that exceptional qtr against port for quite a while now. Meanwhile parfitts been putting in better actual games. But our memories only remember a couple of snapshots and then fill in the blanks. We are all overestimating what atkins is contributing because of this bias in how our memory works and how we react to others evaluation.
So even the MC is overestimating Atkins are they? And you're the only one who knows the truth? Lol...

Late change incoming.

There are still guys in that named team with ??? on them.

Just because Parf isn't named doesn't mean he isn't expected to play internally.

We are the only club in the AFL where I simply don't trust selection until the side runs out on the park.

The best thing about being the team that consistently changes it's lineup an hour before the game is that it forces other teams to waste their time planning for changes. Holding back Duncan, having Guthrie have a minor injury is a good thing - as they are prime movers in our squad. Teams have to really consider 'what if' regarding them playing or being ommitted. Even having certain emergencies listed means that Collingwood now have to think about midfield swaps.

And suddenly, after constant changes - when you don't make a change, that's when they will be really surprised.

But all of them have played together along with menegola for the past 4 years.
Yep. That was the only reason I can think of given he has been in good form. But I remain confused (unless Atkins has taken his role with that group?). I am just searching for the reason

Doubt it - ND plays HB - Close has the ability to run both ways and defensively is a beauty for a half forward. His rundowns as opposition teams head into their on forward half are beautiful to watch. He is also deceptively strong ... must have massive guns under those long sleeves ... the hoops just hide it a lot ...

See how the swans handled him .
Bearly got a touch .

He'll get to much of it on close ..

I've always worried about lack of pace for Geelong teams over last several years. Totally different this year. Holmes, Stengle, Close, Miers. Then we have Blicavs, Smith and Cameron who can cover a lot of ground as well.

My worry with Geelong is always ball winning ability. There is a threshold for how many flankers you can have in the side. Bews, Tuohy, Close, Miers, Stengle, Rohan, Zuthrie, Kolo. That's 8 players plus 6 KPP/Ruck that you are not backing to get 20 touches. Spreading the load very thin on the rest when finals are always so contested.

See how the swans handled him .
Bearly got a touch .

He'll get to much of it on close ..
Geelong are not going to change structure that dramatically. Our forward structure allows for and shows just how strong they are defensively. A player like Close can mow down plenty, so can Rohan, so can Stengle. Pressure acts this year compared to any other have helped us score the way we do on turnover.

To directly focus on one player takes away from what we have been great at this year and I do not want us going back into our shell like recent finals (qualifying especially). It doesn't work.

My worry with Geelong is always ball winning ability. There is a threshold for how many flankers you can have in the side. Bews, Tuohy, Close, Miers, Stengle, Rohan, Zuthrie, Kolo. That's 8 players plus 6 KPP/Ruck that you are not backing to get 20 touches. Spreading the load very thin on the rest when finals are always so contested.
We don't need them all to get 20.

The stats over the past few months shows we barely get one over 25. It's the way we play now and the reason we are winning.

Geelong are not going to change structure that dramatically. Our forward structure allows for and shows just how strong they are defensively. A player like Close can mow down plenty, so can Rohan, so can Stengle. Pressure acts this year compared to any other have helped us score the way we do on turnover.

To directly focus on one player takes away from what we have been great at this year and I do not want us going back into our shell like recent finals (qualifying especially). It doesn't work.

Worked for tigers letting Neale run free.

Saying some work gotta go into Nick.
Surely it's not that hard.

See how this plays out .

I'm pretty happy with that team. Seems like a commitment to the 'new' style of Geelong this year. Menegola and Parfitt are a little symbolic of the old way... a bit slow, methodical, imprecise with skills, etc. It feels like the coaches want a fast, skilled, high-pressure team that is offensively relentless. It may not work, but considering we've fallen short in recent years trying to absorb pressure, I'm encouraged by the determination to press forward and take the game on.

Exactly my point. Praise grows based off someone elses praise which is based off someone elses dodgy memory. Not anything actually real.

atkins has been living off that exceptional qtr against port for quite a while now. Meanwhile parfitts been putting in better actual games. But our memories only remember a couple of snapshots and then fill in the blanks. We are all overestimating what atkins is contributing because of this bias in how our memory works and how we react to others evaluation.
Seeds me old mate...we're usually on the same page, but on this, I'm thinking a little differently.

IN the last several games I've watched Atkins and seen his value. Interesting thing I have noticed- often he's the first link in the chain that leads to a score. I don't know how "score involvement" stats work, but in the last few games he's been first in line for about 3-4 goals a game. Plus his ability to stop another side's run out of the middle is exceptional. I really rate him.

I'm pretty happy with that team. Seems like a commitment to the 'new' style of Geelong this year. Menegola and Parfitt are a little symbolic of the old way... a bit slow, methodical, imprecise with skills, etc. It feels like the coaches want a fast, skilled, high-pressure team that is offensively relentless. It may not work, but considering we've fallen short in recent years trying to absorb pressure, I'm encouraged by the determination to press forward and take the game on.
I'd give Parfitt the job of go with Taylor Adams at the bounce and stoppages ,agree Menegola is looking a bit pedestrian in this side.

Collingwood are pretty poor at contested footy but their pressure is elite - Duncan is an infinitely better user of the pill than Parfitt - seems like a case of picking for who you are playing doesn't it?
Very well balanced team , expect Parfitt will be the medi sub. :thumbsu:
True that.
But Duncan has a way of getting caught holding the ball these days. Interesting times ahead.