Random thoughts not worthy of a thread (Part I)

watched a really good doco the other night on sbs called the bomb. followed the story of the development of the nuclear bomb.
Saw that, very interesting. They've had some great docos on SBS recently. The one last night about the two US athletes who did the raised fist salute on the podium at the 1968 Olympics was a ripper. There was also a really good one the other night about the Berlin Olympics.

The Aussie guy (Peter Norman) on the podium also was part of protest.

Down here in Tassie we have an area called Eggs and Bacon Bay in the Huon region.

PETA is lobbying to have its name changed to Apple and Cherry Bay to promote healthy eating and to support the Vegan community.

For starters, Eggs and Bacon is actually scientifically proven as one of the healthiest breakfasts you can have.
I'm skeptical about this claim.

If you're going 'scientifically proven' and care about your health, implied by this comment, you might want to look again some of the health science around vegan diet. :p

And secondly, why the **** are we pandering to Vegans again?

Friend of mine commented that the Iconic Wineglass bay would also need to be renamed as it promotes drinking alcohol.
First of all, who's "we", how much pandering have "we" being doing, and what do you mean by "again"? Sorry mate, but it seems like a lot of anti-vegan bluster. Take it from me, as someone who wasn't a vegan and is now, I do a lot more 'pandering' as a vegan than I ever had to do previously. Indeed, I didn't previously have to 'pander' to those who choose a vegan diet in any way, shape or form.

A vegan colleague has highlighted, however, a growing anti-vegan sentiment arising which I confess bemuses me. What do you care what I eat?

As for the iconic Wineglass Bay, in my role here as 'vegan', I hereby declare that that name can stay, as long as the wine is vegan. ;) Fortunately a good many top winemakers have 'pandered' to vegans and stopped using bones, seafood and milk in the winemaking process for a quite few years now. The wine quality remains the same, so really no wine drinker, and certainly not the animals, loses out. So really, it's a win-win-win. What shape wineglass and what wine are we talking? I cite studies showing the French live longer with a glass of red every day.

meanwhile in Syria 4 million people have been displaced through war
But but but... vegan feelings!
Interesting. I read it as but, but, but DarkPhoenix's feelings. :D

It isn't about 'vegan sensibilities' mate. It's about the billions of animals farmed for human consumption whose right to life and to live without suffering is as valid as our own. Look beyond the superficial.

I'm skeptical about this claim.

Study conducted by the UoA published in the International Journal of Obesity being one of the most recent. Eating a higher fat lower carb based breakfast reduces weight gain, reduces fat deposits, increases glucose tolerance and reduces signs of metabolic syndrome.

Number of studies based around egg diets and high fat low carbohydrate diets in various nutritional journals (abstracts readable at Google Scholar) show that Eggs have also been found to provide "good" cholesterol and recent studies have shown that they're not heart cloggers like dated research from the 70s would have us believe. The heart foundation is actually recommending eggs be eaten due to their high protein low trans fat content.

Its possible to care about animals while also thinking the request is ridiculous - I majored in Zoology, believe me I care about animals otherwise I wouldn't have spent years studying them.

It's just ridiculous that we have become so PC that we would even consider changing the name of something that in fact doesn't even reference the food Eggs and Bacon but instead references a flower that grows in the area.

In regard to the pandering comments, yeah probably a bit over the top, but it really annoyed me on the day hearing something so ridiculous, so I apologise for those comments. I have no issue with what diet people choose to consume (as long as its not human flesh) but I have a major issue with certain groups and the way they attempt to push their message (PETA being one, Have far more time for animal rights groups like RSPCA), It is the same with certain feminine rights groups, I am completely behind the rights of women however I disagree with the way that certain groups try and get their message across, often doing more harm for the group than good.

I suppose it boils down to a vocal minority ruining it for the majority.

DarkPhoenix = Vincent Vega
Kimbo = Jules Winnfield

The Hempire strikes back!

RyBuwNEXUR7OD4GVVqX5R_kwN1R7eXbd154aIhHgqSF1HrN1_2mZ7FBlJjI5FeFpe2qAcLxO_VxyHtaT7RVsqvoSyhpWHWcTsInCzLvrh-0qpQ=w500-h260-nc

This has been a complete frikken master stroke by the club in 2015 to rest everyone in round 23 last year.

Waite, Higgins & Co get an extra week and its still 20 days until finals due to the BYE the club orchestrated !!!

Bravo NMFC !!!!

Sort of on topic: I'm one of those truly awful people who would be vegetarian if I didn't enjoy the taste of meat so much. I feel slightly uncomfortable eating something that was once alive with the knowledge that its entire purpose was to be raised to be slaughtered and I can't eat something if I see it slaughtered and butchered or if it looks like it did during it's life when it's served, if that makes sense.

So yeah, it's entirely selfish and I could imagine being a vegetarian in the future, but I'm not there yet.

I'm pretty sure that the finished product would have been Soylent Brown but marketing didn't like it so they went with Green. Lovely with a nice bottle of Chianti and some fava beans.