Ratten To Be Sacked

If everyone's saying their list is a mess - and it certainly looks like a big part of the problem - then why hasn't anyone in the list management team gotten the boot as well?

I mean it could and probably should happen in the next few weeks/months but this "oh, our team sucks - first thing to fix that is sack the coach" mentality that's so prevalent in AFL is so stupidly short-sighted at times. Even if Ratten wasn't the man, any other coach is going to have the same problems if they're not bringing in the right players.

The same clubs keep making the same mistakes and continue to be irrelevant to the competition as a whole.

Just another club destined to forever be a Melbourne based also ran in a crowded marketplace that peak into the lower rungs of the eight before falling back again once they get handed a tougher draw the following year.

Home of the List Clogger was the Fox headline when discussing their trade period and now they sack the coach. Lethlean re-signed him three months ago, no pressure there? Footy Dept will be a bit light on for funds in 2023 having to pay out Ratten.

Now off for the sugar hit of a new coach - woohoo!

Adelaide who shares a state with one club has had exactly one premiership in it's existence against an irrelevant club as you put it.

So be honest here, how would you rate the crows in comparison?

From my perspective, Adelaide is an unhappy place that's hates on Victorians for getting things done while being irrelevant to the rest of Australia.

At least i can say St Kilda has been there from day dot where Aussie Rules was formed in 1860 and while not sucessful here we are in 2022 and going better then your club.

Have a nice day :)

Carlton won 39 games in the 6 years before they appointed Ratten.
They went 60-59-1 under him. 10, 13, 11, 15, 12 win seasons (not sure what the breakdown was in the last season as he was sacked midway through it).
This came after 5 seasons in 6 where they recorded 4 or fewer wins.

Not sure on what score anyone could say he was a ‘mess’ at Carlton.

This was Ratten’s gameplan at Carlton …

DC2DCFC0-3CD6-45C0-ACFB-0D4D9D4C0AB9.jpeg

The myth about him being unfairly sacked should be put to bed.
He’s been moved on from 2 clubs now and there won’t be a third …

It's crazy to me how many clubs don't realize the problem is with those making all the decisions - not the coach. Essendon, St Kilda, North, it's just the same nonsense over and over again. How many reviews can you conduct before you realize that it's management and those who are tasked with managing the club as a whole, that are the ones to blame?

The fish rots from the head down. Look at what happened to Carlton once they realized that and actually brought in someone like Cook to turn the ship around. Stop getting ex bankers or outside people with glorified resumes and actually hire people that have good business and CULTURE sense, rather than just a focus on targets, goals and profit...without any clear plan to achieve them.

It's become a joke now how often this is happening and how many 'reviews' are being conducted. I can only wonder how the players at these clubs feel, without any sense of stability or competent management. Supporters are probably at their wits end too. I'm sure we'll probably be saying the same about Brad Scott in another 2 years.

Seriously embarrassing.

Steele Marshall Sinclair and Wilkie are better any players on your list. Two recruits Owens and Windhager are potential future top liners.

Norths list will rely on two 18 year olds from this draft.

hahaha every team in the league would take LDU before Steele, and every team in the league would take Mckay before any defender St.Kilda have.

Marshall is a good ruck, agree there, but besides him and King there isn't much.

It's crazy to me how many clubs don't realize the problem is with those making all the decisions - not the coach. Essendon, St Kilda, North, it's just the same nonsense over and over again. How many reviews can you conduct before you realize that it's management and those who are tasked with managing the club as a whole, that are the ones to blame?

The fish rots from the head down. Look at what happened to Carlton once they realized that and actually brought in someone like Cook to turn the ship around. Stop getting ex bankers or outside people with glorified resumes and actually hire people that have good business and CULTURE sense, rather than just a focus on targets, goals and profit...without any clear plan to achieve them.

It's become a joke now how often this is happening and how many 'reviews' are being conducted. I can only wonder how the players at these clubs feel, without any sense of stability or competent management. Supporters are probably at their wits end too. I'm sure we'll probably be saying the same about Brad Scott in another 2 years.

Seriously embarrassing.

Coming from your club who is the best in the business i can see your point. What i believe you cannot see is the shakeup behind the doors and WHO has actually changed positions and come in. I don't see nuff nuffs like Lade hanging around for example. Your club has an awesome setup run by clever people. The club can only try to get things right and emulate the masters. :)

Terrible lists don’t win 8 out of 11 afl games in todays day and age because of a coach

There’s a lot of good players on that list

Mmm, your problem is more this:

"The club consciously targeted high-priced recruits across the 2018, 2019 and 2020 seasons and few have worked. Across that time St Kilda has drafted the fewest 18-year-olds in the AFL (nine). In comparison, Geelong and North Melbourne have had the most (17) with Port Adelaide next at 15."

JESUS clubs are becoming so ruthless.

Not as bad as several sackings in the old days.

Tony Jewell was sacked in 1981 despite a 13/9 record that season and coaching the tigers to the 1980 premiership.

David Parkin was sacked as blues coach after the 1985 season despite not missing the finals in his 5 years there and coaching back to back flags. This could have even happened a year earlier when Robert Walls was first approached by big Jack Elliott but Walls knocked back the offer because he was contracted to coach Fitzroy for one more year in 1985.

Can't help but feel for Ratten – their list really doesn't have the talent to exceed the rungs of mid-table mediocrity. If you realistically break it down:

A-graders: Steele, Sinclair
Potential A-graders: King, Marshall
B+-graders: Crouch, Gresham, Wilkie
B-graders: Ross, Hill, Howard, Higgins, Battle, Membrey, Billings
C+-graders: Butler, Clark, Coffield, Jones, McKenzie
C-graders and below: Everyone else
Young guns: Windhager, Wanganeen-Milera, Owens

I'm trying not to be too harsh with my assessment of the players above, but the list simply doesn't have the talent to compete, and I don't think the young guys coming through will take them to contender-level, as there's just not enough high quality talent coming through.

It's an indictment on their list strategy over the last few years – they tried to rush their rebuild by overpaying drastically for players who were never going to be anything more than B-graders, and they doomed themselves for fighting for the bottom-half of the eight at best.

It's a list management issue at St Kilda, not a coaching one. Thankfully, they seemed to give up on their strategy of past offseasons during this year's trade period, but I still would've liked to see them make a proper effort to cull some of the ageing players so that they could bottom out and rebuild properly.

That all being said, I don't know what's going on behind the scenes. Maybe bottoming-out just isn't financially viable for them, and they're stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Good post and agree that it is a list management issue.

However...

it's not just list management.

I mentioned assistance coaches earlier and I've now had time to compare the Saints to one of the top teams (in this case the Premier). I don't know the exact titles for the Cats assistants but ball movement was excellent this year and I would assume some of these guys listed had something to do with it.

Cats Coaches

Now take a look at the Saints coaching staff: Coaches

Who is responsible for ball movement? Ratten? As a senior coach he obviously determines game plan, movement etc... but he should not be responsible for day to day coaching of it.

There may be issues with Ratten but it looks to me like he needs help.

======================
This does have me thinking though...bloody Cats are cheating the soft cap having so many coaches on the books. Not only do the rort the salary cap with off the books payments for players but looks like it now extends to the coaching staff.

I'm joking.

edit: I just took a look at the Swans and Tigers coaching staff and numbers are also low compared to the Cats. Hellooooo...

Mmm, your problem is more this:

"The club consciously targeted high-priced recruits across the 2018, 2019 and 2020 seasons and few have worked. Across that time St Kilda has drafted the fewest 18-year-olds in the AFL (nine). In comparison, Geelong and North Melbourne have had the most (17) with Port Adelaide next at 15."

Ratten who i believe was chief behind the Hill trade cost us Serong and our second pick. Shit like that that made me have a much lower opinion of him. List management is equally to blame. If we turf the lot of them before the draft rolls around, no loss there either.

List is average, but Ratten is clearly a spud wtf are you crumpets on about

Carlton fans knew it all along. We got teased because Ryder went turbo mode and got us a covid final win against an average Dogs team

The whole club needs to be reshaped, but Ratten had no answers as a coach, poor list or not

It’s hilarious that people post on a website complaining about football. Then complain about people reporting about football.
The assumption is that people that get paid to do it should be better at it than us flogs on BigFooty. And also that someone thats got a wardrobe department at their disposal should be able to find a shirt that fits.

Ratten To Be Sacked