News RD 15:- Carlton v Richmond: Prematch discussion, changes.

The Herald Sun Report on the Bullants says Stevens man kicked 4 and was best on, I believe one of the reasons he got dropped was lack of accountabilty. Why reward him with an automatic recall this week? It just shows that mediocrity is acceptable. He needs to earn his spot the hard way like everyone else.

If that's true, that is incredibly disappointing. I can live with his turnovers against the Bombers - everyone has off days but his lack of accountability towards his direct opponent is unforgivable. If his opponent is kicking 4 and winning BOG honours in the seconds, keep him there till he learns some accountability. :thumbsdown:

Now Austin is going to be out for this week, it is the perfect chance for Hartlett. While the Tigers don't have many talls, we still need players to take Morton, Riewoldt and then the resting Graham/Vickery.

OUT: Austin
IN: Hartlett

Revised changes:

OUT: Bentley, Austin
IN: Scotland, Banno

I agree that it would be pointless to drop players for simply 1 match, and as such Stevo shouldn't come in. The bye makes it interesting though, and I wouldn't be surprised which way the MC go with him because of it.

I never agreed with the Scotland ommision in the first place, so obviously I include him...

Dont have much time for Stevens and would like to see him stay in the two's. But it's Richmond and Stevens loves the Tigers.

Scotland has a huge heart, but he is slow, and goes sideways much to often. He is slow.

Better effort from Fev this week.

Armfield to stay, gives you the shits at times, but his pressure is fantastic and has genuine pace, get his kicking happening and we have found a gem I think. More games into this kid the better. Would like to see Browne back as well, just not quite sure for who yet.

Bentley tried his best, thats all we can ask for, he is just a so so player is all.

In: Stevens (if fit)
Out: Bentley

Stay with Fisher, so so game but don't underestimate the value of a player who can take marks, and maintain possesion. Crap Kick, we all know it, lets get over it. 3 talls is a lot, but we are not playing a depleted Freo next week, if Irish struggles, Fisher could be worth his weight in gold.

Good win, on the road, terrible start to the game and a real bogey side for us. The endevour was great for almost 3 quarters and thats all you can ask for. Our skills are ordinary at times, but they have been all year mostly, thats not going to change anytime soon.

Its not about winning(thats a bonus) its about being competitive, if we can be that, we are always a chance to win.

It's true he does love the Tigers....whether he gets a guernsey, or is playing well enough at the mo' we'll see.

You idiot, Austin. :thumbsdown:

Fair point. Funny how players looking to cement a spot have a bit of a rep for getting rubbed out. Robbo has been a goose this season and Harts has struggled ever since he clothes-lined Howett (?).

is Robbo still susp?

and agreed on the Armfield point. He murders the ball so much I've started calling him Bundy, but he has genuine pace and over distance too, and you can't fault his pressure.

Russell is a risk every time he takes the field?

I'm sure the match committee picks a player who is a risk.

Maybe we can bring in the silky Clinton Jones if that team isn't going to take us anywhere?

Jones' flawless disposal and ability to tag would take us further than Carrazzo and Russell.

Or we can bring in McQualter who was delisted by the Saints, but is now a first 22 player.

Too many flogs who think they know better.

I wasn't happy with the selection Johnson and Bentley, but I was wrong and they did they pulled their weight in a team effort. That's more than you can say for the players we dropped who can kick, but prefer to coast and chase kicks than their man.

We drop the other coaster in Houlihan once Walker is ready to play.

Now Austin is going to be out for this week, it is the perfect chance for Hartlett. While the Tigers don't have many talls, we still need players to take Morton, Riewoldt and then the resting Graham/Vickery.

OUT: Austin
IN: Hartlett

We do have a couple of options here. Send Setanta back, and bring cloke in. Or, given that Banno was BOG for the Bullants, bring him in to play on Morton, and Jamo/Thornton take Riewoldt and the other tall they play down there.

Would like to see Armfield play on Nahas, and Carrazzo/AJ/Grigg to get a job some of the Tigers mids.

Revised changes:

OUT: Bentley, Austin
IN: Scotland, Banno

I agree that it would be pointless to drop players for simply 1 match, and as such Stevo shouldn't come in. The bye makes it interesting though, and I wouldn't be surprised which way the MC go with him because of it.

I never agreed with the Scotland ommision in the first place, so obviously I include him...

Winner. I'd like to see that.

Can't fault whatever happens this week, a lot of iffy players in the team and a lot of iffy players pushing for selection.

mitch richmond
BigFooty Member

Re: Richmond vs Carlton: Ins and Outs
Quote:
Originally Posted by IDGAF
Going forward T67 ... is there any possible benefit whatsoever in Bringing Bowden back ?

Horses for courses when we are a contender going somewhere , but not that policy when we are trying to find out who can actually play and who can`t

I could possibly understand it if next week is personal and we are treating it like our grand final to beat those cheating @rseholes ... but seriously , poor old JB`s file is pretty well stamped barring a miracle

I reckon Geelong or St Kilda would pick Joel up if we let him go cos he'd play half back or half fwd and do his role in a good team piss easy.
Reckon Sheedy would keep him though. He's only in the 2's to see if anyone else can do his job. Silvester isn't the answer.
user_offline.gif
mitch richmond View Public Profile Send a private message to mitch richmond Find More Posts by mitch richmond Add mitch richmond to Your Contacts
post_old.gif
Yesterday, 08:06 #14 1980GFVideo
BigFooty Member

Re: Richmond vs Carlton: Ins and Outs
Next week, select a team to WIN and that critereon only. Where Bowden falls into that is up to Rawlo.

After that I dont care. The only interesting thing happening at the place is the appointment of the new coach.

Especially if Fremantle beat Carlton today then we MUST derail thier season.

Watching them not make the finals is the only thing I have to look forward to in football for 2009.

Lets offer something up to the competition rather than crawling into our own little world where we praise certain quarters and players.
user_offline.gif

I'm sorry, I just had to give these gems further distribution where they would be appreciated. Am I a monster?

Re: RD 15:- Carlton v Richmond- Prematch discussion, changes.

Austin should be dropped for his brainfades, but we can't afford losing another tall defender.

Stevens to come back in if he performs well in the VFL (30+ touches and goals, anything less and no chance).

i saw in the Paper Stevens has a Elbow Injury :(
thanks Rats just what we didn't want
hope its not too bad for him not to play

This is one we should win by a fair bit. We need to lift our percentage with games like this as insurance for the rest of the season.

Changes for me:
IN:
Robinson, Yarran or maybe Browne

OUT:
Bentley, Houlihan

If Austin gets suspended then Hartlett should come in.

I like how Armfield goes about his footy but his kicking worries me.

We must bring back Scotland and Stevens this week. Drop Bentley and Austin misses a week suspended. Cloke also wouldnt be a bad idea to bring in to trouble to tigers back line. Robbo or Yarran for Gartlett or Houla would also work out to be good for us.
Eddie Fev Gartlett
Ohailpin Cloke Fisher

This is one we should win by a fair bit. We need to lift our percentage with games like this as insurance for the rest of the season.

Changes for me:
IN:
Robinson, Yarran or maybe Browne

OUT:
Bentley, Houlihan

If Austin gets suspended then Hartlett should come in.

I like how Armfield goes about his footy but his kicking worries me.

Outs: Armfield (doubt it will happen), Bentley, Houlihan,

Ins: Yarran, Scotland, ......

Robinson won't get a game. Missed 2 weeks with suspension and Ants have a bye.

would love a win against carlton. but i dont think we are fit enough to run out a game and that is where you must take control of the match if you want to win.

tiges by 342 points, no not a typo just wana see carlton get smashed:thumbsu:

It seems that way I know, but what does history tell you?
Look it matters nothing what I say here. It is although what I genuinely feel and see.

Russell, Cloke, Wiggins, Bannister and Fisher are the five players in particular that if used well would enforce impact on some games.
The hard question is which games and why?
Which games should they be selected and which games should they be left out of.
We could never again have the 5 players on the field at any one time as asking for all five to play well in the one game is highly unlikely.

It would be a matter of horses for courses.

The selection table is a still very systematic and formulaic, for mine.
Do you ever watch poker and marvel at some of the guys that know when to hold them and when to fold them?
The guys that know what cards his opponents are holding?

These are intuitive people that look beyond the obvious.
I just wish we had such people on the MC, as we would have won more games this year and would have now a confident team sitting third or fourth and gearing towards the finals.

Isn't it funny that at times this year we have marvelled at our depth and then after a loss announced we have no back up players?
There is a good reason for this but we have to look beyond the obvious.

THis has decided it for me, was unsure, but yup, definitely need Kenny Rogers on the selection committee

Why? They all need to or will need to get consistency into their games

The only way to get consistency into their game is to play them when they're in form, and full of confidence. After his performance on the weekend, he would be both of these.

A player won't get consistency if talk is raised of dropping them after a good game...

News RD 15:- Carlton v Richmond: Prematch discussion, changes.