- Aug 18, 2018
- AFL Club
- Geelong
I thought he was in?Howe out now to add to the disconnection.
They're a good team underperforming. I expect the media bake will have them out for bloodAbsolute danger game against the Pies. All their injuries they will be pushing all the "backs against the wall" and "saving their season" stuff.
That said hopefully what we serve up to the Pies is the same as what happened to us last year around the same time where they lose a couple [loss V Cats and next week loss V Hawks], get a cheap win [V Tigers in Rd 20] before it crumbles on the run in [Pies have Blues @MCG, Swans @SCG, Lions @MCG and lastly Demons @MCG].
Nice of the AFL to look after the Pies though, 7 games left in the season and 6 of those at the MCG.
Meanwhile we go MCG, GMHBA, Tasmania, GMHBA, Optus, Marvel then GMHBA.
I've put us by 5 goals into my tipping comp.They're a good team underperforming. I expect the media bake will have them out for blood
Yeah, that's what they always tell us. There'll be heaps of empty seats on Friday night.It seems like all the seat allocated tickets have sold out. GA / Standing room only. Bummer.
I thought he was in?
Clark won’t be getting dropped after his game. Bad luck for knevittTeam balance looked really good against the Hawks, barring anyone genuinely needing a week off the only change would be Knevitt having his spot back after picking a rotten time to wake up crook.
Rushing Jamie Elliot back in with zero game time in 2 months and taking a ridiculous approach giving mcstay a game after only 8 months with an ACL shows that collingwood are desperate to push for a flag and can probably see things fading off.
They will be all steam ahead Friday as top 4 is gone if they lose.
What irritates me is the Pies can use the injury excuse to explain their performance this season this year
And when we mentioned it… we got told it’s not an excuse. So same goes for collingwoodWe had our own injury concerns last year and lack of continuity from week to week
They have dropped off 1% this year.. and that’s all that it takes to go from a side winning by 1-2 goals to losingReckon if we can match them early (or better yet, get on top like last week) we'll be in the box seat for a win. Not that it won't be tight - wouldn't expect more than a 3-4 goal win, but their "close game closer" aura has been well and truly dented.
I think people get too focused on the fact that Collingwood are some magical force that win close games - even their coach pointed at that in reality it just means that you let the opposition have more of a sniff than you'd like. It's playing with fire.They have dropped off 1% this year.. and that’s all that it takes to go from a side winning by 1-2 goals to losing
Yeah, that's what they always tell us. There'll be heaps of empty seats on Friday night.
I don’t prescribe to the “collingwood fluke wins” club as you can’t win that many close games by chance. They train and prepare well in regards to scenarios when things get tight. They train and prepare well to go all out for a score and they also train well on how to lock down.I think people get too focused on the fact that Collingwood are some magical force that win close games - even their coach pointed at that in reality it just means that you let the opposition have more of a sniff than you'd like. It's playing with fire.
Lots of sloppy analysis by AFL journos - just like the Cats winning 7-0 before going on a stretch of losses - but not much analysis of a combined losing margin to Port / GWS and Melbourne of 18 points - or for those playing at home that's 3 kicks. Or for anyone interested, the difference being being 5th or a game clear in 2nd on the ladder if we turned two of those games into wins.
The confidence that Dangerfield and Stewart bring to a Centre Bounce is second to none. All Australian level players, who are hard at it, tackle to hurt and just ooze leadership would be intimidating for most midfield setups.
Interesting to see what we do with O.Henry this week. Clearly you can’t either drop or make sub, Rohan. Yet I’m not sure both can play together? Maybe they can.
The club will be reluctant to back Henry up as sub 2 weeks in a row too I would think. Touhy and Duncan are candidates to sub for management reasons but both have played well the past fortnight.
I would rather O Henry not play. He offers absolutely nothing outside of a mark and lead type forward. His liabilities far outweighs his 1-2 goalsInteresting to see what we do with O.Henry this week. Clearly you can’t either drop or make sub, Rohan. Yet I’m not sure both can play together? Maybe they can.
The club will be reluctant to back Henry up as sub 2 weeks in a row too I would think. Touhy and Duncan are candidates to sub for management reasons but both have played well the past fortnight.
I would rather O Henry not play. He offers absolutely nothing outside of a mark and lead type forward. His liabilities far outweighs his 1-2 goals
I wonder what the Win/Loss record is Geel v Coll say for the last 20 years , i reckon it would be very tight 50/50 games split with some real hammerings handed out both ways
Thats why form , or if one side has got quite a few injuries , you dont get over confident , or you can end up dissappointed
No bulldust about 5 years ago at a guess , Buckley was still coaching them , we were warm favourites , and my power went out all day Sat , its like a 3rd world country without electricity , your just waiting for it to come back on , finally came back on that evening , and the woman giving the sports wrap said in an upset Coll have beaten Geel at the MCG ( got jumped in the 1st half ) and i thought can this day get any worse
Defensive role on Harris andrews?? I doubt he did such a thing tbh.Did you miss his pass to Cameron in the last quarter on Saturday?
People have also forgotten that Henry did a very good defensive role on Sicily and Harris Andrews in our great run of form earlier in the year.