Autopsy Rd 3 Blues beat Giants - We're not putting that one in a time capsule

Who played well for the Blues in Round 3 versus GWS?

Is this heaven......?

Does not quite feel like heaven. :think:

But guaranteed top 4 and undefeated at rounds end is definitely heavenly.:D

OUR GREAT CHAMPION CRIPPA manhandled us to victory.

Mots has his best game yet.

Newy just brilliant.

We got a ripper in Acres.

Not sure how Herald Sun does not have JSOS listed in best however, he was great.

We had a slice of luck, but geez...... We haven't had much of that in recent memory.

TAKE THE MONEY AND RUN.

GO BLUES!!!

Is this heaven......?

OUR GREAT MAN CRIPPA manhandled us to victory.

Newy just brilliant.

Not sure how Herald Sun does not have JSOS listed in best however, he was great.

We had a slice of luck, but geez...... We haven't had much of that in recent memory.

TAKE THE MONEY AND RON.

GO BLUES!!!
I think we'll always have to put up with JSOS being underrated by many / fly under the radar.

He's not a 'sexy' type of player, he's rather unconventional actually, body of a teenager but somehow always competes admirably either in the air or at ground level, runs his absolute guts out and isn't very quick but has a super footy IQ.

I for one love him though.

Is this heaven......?

OUR GREAT CHAMPION CRIPPA manhandled us to victory.

Newy just brilliant.

TAKE THE MONEY AND RUN.

GO BLUES!!!
Had we stopped Lynch on the last minute we’d be 3-0… have not even touched on our best footy yet… and WALSH!

Yeah, first time a player has been done for dissent because the opposition didn't get a free kick
Watching/reading all this has reminded me I thought the commentators suggested Giants were appealing for a free kick for Carlton - sounded bizarre but that's the only free kick that could've possibly been given so I couldn't comprehend that they would be calling for a GWS free kick for anything and I just figured I misheard it

I ref my girls under 7 soccer games on Sunday's, the stuff you cop from the crowd is a bit of a joke. I think it escalates the older the participants are
Yeah back in the day 14-15 year old me would ref open mens basketball when it was our team's turn and the 30+ year olds saw no issue in absolutely getting right up in a kid's face

I can never keep up with these threads. So this might be mentioned already.

To Lob’s defence, he got some game time against Sydney about a month ago and has since played 2 quarters in 2 games before yesterday. I reckon that's poor management of the sub, of course you will lose touch and timing playing so little. They should rotate that better

LOB played a full reserves game last week against Geelong. That said he needs to go back and play 2s next week. Unbelievably he looked unable to run in the last quarter. Granted it was a heavy track but the Giants played in Perth on Sunday and some of their players were covering the ground better than LOB who is a supposed to be a great endurance runner.

However I share your concern on how we are managing/developing these peripheral players I’m a bit worried about how little football someone like Honey has played since the start of the year. He didn’t play at all in round 1 then got pulled at half time yesterday. I understand needing to take precautions but it doesn’t feel like a whole lot of planning is going into some of these decisions.

with all rules, there needs to be a line - with dissent, what exactly is a swear word? cricket has chalk lines and cameras to adjudicate whether they are crossed or not - the umpire as usual in afl gets the pressure heaped on him/her by having to make objective decisions with things like whether players have deliberately worked the ball out of bounds or have tackled high - it's putting the responsibility on the adjudicator which gives the player an out and draws screams of protest because a rule that was brought in recently has actually been used..........
Yeah you are bang on, the adjudication of the game can’t be left to interpretation. It needs to be more black and white. It does add a ton of pressure to the umpires who are already in a high pressure job.

You need to watch it again.
Harry had dropped the ball (in an attempt to kick it) before the tackle was laid. He had no prior opportunity (he was attempting to kick off one step). And the tackle held on after the ball was gone and dragged him down.
My first reaction was that it should have been a free to Harry for holding.
I saw it the same way as you did.

Fisher was ok in the last. Did some good things but was poor across the first three quarters.

LOB - after getting the 50 metre penalty, turned it over and we were lucky they only scored a point. Played 71 mins so looks like he was benched for roughly a third of each quarter.

Pitto 54% time on ground yesterday and 53% last week. Feel like he’ll get more time against a quality ruckman in Goldstein next week

LOB played a full reserves game last week against Geelong. That said he needs to go back and play 2s next week. Unbelievably he looked unable to run in the last quarter. Granted it was a heavy track but the Giants played in Perth on Sunday and some of their players were covering the ground better than LOB who is a supposed to be a great endurance runner.

However I share your concern on how we are managing/developing these peripheral players I’m a bit worried about how little football someone like Honey has played since the start of the year. He didn’t play at all in round 1 then got pulled at half time yesterday. I understand needing to take precautions but it doesn’t feel like a whole lot of planning is going into some of these decisions.
Ohh I didn't realise he played reserves too. Well I take that back, I guess he has been getting game time. Yeah the sub or emergency player structure makes everything more complex.

I feel we don't always reward vfl form enough as a club, will be interesting to see who is picked for North on Friday

Fisher was ok in the last. Did some good things but was poor across the first three quarters.

LOB - after getting the 50 metre penalty, turned it over and we were lucky they only scored a point. Played 71 mins so looks like he was benched for roughly a third of each quarter.

Pitto 54% time on ground yesterday and 53% last week. Feel like he’ll get more time against a quality ruckman in Goldstein next week
I wouldn't give him a pass for the last quarter, he got a couple of easy touches.
It was a bad game for him, hopefully he gets a rocket and turns it around next week

LOB - after getting the 50 metre penalty, turned it over and we were lucky they only scored a point.
Played 71 mins so looks like he was benched for roughly a third of each quarter.

For me - Fisher is only surviving in the side because of his likeable personality. He has never been a 4Qtr player and in a year where we are supposed to be taking it up to the next level, these efforts should not be tolerated. LOB has had limited opportunity to run into some form, but 7 disposals is a poor return on 70% game time.

I get Vossy is trying to build a tight-knit team but there comes a time when you have to recognize those players that continually and repeatedly taper off. Martin needs to stay out until he is playing football that demands he be picked, and not off the back of a single game. Now Fish should go out for a spell as well.

Owies gets a reprieve for his 2 goals but 4 disposals for the match is woeful.

Not quite one for the Chicken Little thread, but we have a lot of work to do and most of it is mentally.
I don't think we need to congratulate ourselves quite as much and endlessly quote 'learnings'.

Our football should do the talking, and we should now be burying teams, but even though the competition is close, the Teams like *, Norf, West Coast, Adelaide are already a threat to us.

Time to stop the pats on the back and start focusing on smashing teams (moreso on the scoreboard) over 4 Qtrs.

Owies gets a reprieve for his 2 goals but 4 disposals for the match is woeful.
nathan fillion castle GIF

At the moment I don't think we could possibly be categorised as a good team playing good football. I'm starting to doubt that we are even a good team, the first quarter was diabolical with how easily GWS strolled through the corridor and we seem to revert to allowing this every second week. That is not the sign of a good team.
I think the fact that we were able to completely stop them after quarter time points to being a good team.

We've still got a lot to learn, but we're only 3 rounds in. We want to be peaking in September, not March/April.

I think we'll always have to put up with JSOS being underrated by many / fly under the radar.

He's not a 'sexy' type of player, he's rather unconventional actually, body of a teenager but somehow always competes admirably either in the air or at ground level, runs his absolute guts out and isn't very quick but has a super footy IQ.

I for one love him though.
My wife thinks he is SEXY ;):D (Oh OK, I think he is too)

Footnote.... His also good-looking younger brother Ben played in a praccy match for East Keilor in the edfl yesterday and did very well . :thumbsu:

Oops, completely missed that it was about Coniglio and not Whitfield. And yeah, you can definitely see Coniglio, with his arms out, thrust his head forward like he's yelling something short and sharp.

I think part of the issue here is that we're not used to seeing the call when it's dissent about a decision not made, rather than someone arguing with a call against them. The "recalibration" of the rule last year was supposedly to allow for an element of instant emotion, but Coniglio fails that here by going out of his way to yell at an umpire about a call not given

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Consiglieri was shouting ‘ I could have been playing for this mob in front of 50k plus crowds every week !!’

I think the fact that we were able to completely stop them after quarter time points to being a good team.

We've still got a lot to learn, but we're only 3 rounds in. We want to be peaking in September, not March/April.

You could also argue GWS had ever chance to beat us …. and didn’t.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Autopsy Rd 3 Blues beat Giants - We're not putting that one in a time capsule