Autopsy Rd 7 vs North. Terrible loss, poor skills, never in it.

Who played well in Round 7?

In regards to the poll, I suspect some may mistakenly believe a minimum number of votes need to be distributed? Some players have received votes that, well, had absolute shockers.

I know we've become accustomed to poor-to-mediocre performances in recent years, but the bar needs to be higher.

Not hugely unhappy. Still think the clubs on the way up. Will say my biggest issues with today were what Metalcrusher identified with the stoppage work and setup - poop and another coaching aspect. We saw it vs gold Coast where the extra tall forward seems to make Charlie and Harry play lost. When we have 1 less tall Harry is on the move. With the extra he gets stuck behind and Charlie just looked lost. I don't think that structure works at all. Copping Harry in the ruck as the chop out would be monumentally better than the current strategy.
Agree 100%...with the forward comments

Can understand the result, having some experienced senior minds and bodies out to injury and poor form, but I can't excuse the effort, especially in that first quarter

Positives

Willo getting through the game
Walsh getting over 20
Weitering's season

What I am more interested in is how we respond next week
Spot on arrow about next week. I expect a response. Don't expect a win but just effort. Today effort was non existent.

A club where we are at and the way results are, this lack of effort could become a constant if we aren't careful. I don't think it will but the next 2-3 weeks are critical for effort

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Everyone here is shattered is obvious but why were frustrated I think is that we CAN play a good brand we’ve shown it but combine the fact we lost 4 senior players and went in very young ala port Adelaide game a few years ago it was probably coming however the lack of effort was inexcusable.

Very disappointing day. We were the youngest we have been but the effort can't be condoned. Very disappointed in some of the "senior players" especially

Efforts of Cripps Walsh & Fisher were good. That's about it. Congrats to Stocker on his debut and Willo got through

Hope Jones is okay. Awful to see.

Important that we bounce back next week. That effort can't be tolerated :mad:

Did Willo get through? Had a hard knock on the head late.

Went to the game and took the kids. We were off the pace after the first minute and could not win a clearance - tag Cripps hard and we have no other options

In hindsight selection looks weak with harder all round players like Setterfield being needed. He’ll be the first picked next week.

Too many smaller bodies playing scared and not enough senior leaders shaking the tree.

Mods open the next preview thread. I need catharsis, I want to drop players, like I have some control. That'll show them.

The cupboard is bare though. There's very little in the reserves at all, right now.

I can't blame the young players at all. There should be a senior player or two that should have the placed spotlight on them.

We had to get rid of those players. Well really most of them wanted out and we just allowed it to happen. It wont be until we get many of those 14 players from today with under 50 games up another 30 or so that we will see a good team

We didn’t have to get rid of them. That was the narrative sold to us by the club, and perpetuated by most on here.

The next result is (very roughly speaking) Gibbs and Touhy for Marchbank, LOB, Kennedy and DeKoning.

Jones surprise development as a backman has made the Marchbank trade redundant, Setterfield’s arrival has made Kennedy redundant, LOB has shown few glimpses and will more than likely end up a decent role player and no more, and TDK is a complete unknown.

We may have actually benefitted from 4-5 more years of Gibbs and Touhy, and been far more smarter in banking draft picks and non completely messing our rookie selections. We took the hardest possible road, and it might have been completely unnecessary.

1557036882886.jpeg

... and on today’s performance, we definitely have a lot to learn - both our players and our coaches. However, I continue to believe that they will learn, and I’m determined to construct this as a horrible leg of a very long journey, one which we are already well through, which we simply must stick to, and which we will complete if we stay the course as a club - administrators, coaches, players, members, and supporters alike.

Amidst all the emotion of an awful loss, I’m likely to generate more heat than light by posting prematurely, so I’ll take a break (from posting, at least) and return if / when I have something constructive to contribute. Perhaps some other posters could consider a similar strategy?

Spot on arrow about next week. I expect a response. Don't expect a win but just effort. Today effort was non existent.

A club where we are at and the way results are, this lack of effort could become a constant if we aren't careful. I don't think it will but the next 2-3 weeks are critical for effort

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
I am more interested in our organisation.. effort is one thing but we simply have to be more organised. Smart football is where we are missing, we have a lot of players who wish to play “cute”.... plowman, Murphy.. etc

Bolton can try, but he can’t teach them them to kick straight or have footy IQ. Not his fault players just slept on the field.
Not agreeing or disagreeing with the Bolton diatribe, but if it isn't the coaches job to teach players skills and footy IQ, then who do you think is responsible for this? As another poster said, I am still on board, today hurts a lot, and i'm looking forward to when this actually does turn around.

Well went along with the kids this arvo.

Packed as with supporters of both teams hoping to secure a win against another lowly team. Pleased to report about 1/3 crowd went home very happy indeed!!

Bit stunned really - not with losing so much as our outs were severe and fielded such a young team today. I Just expected more fight from the boys, along with better skills and decision making after our past few weeks were much improved in these areas. Credit to Norf - were switched on from the get go and provided great pressure.

Keen to hear what the boys on the Carlton Show reckon this week and of course will listen to Bolts presser with much interest.

Hope Jones is ok - was sickening to see.
Well done on game 1 Stocker - sorry ‘twas one to forget.

Likewise Ed in your 150th - but great goal in the last with the help of ya bro.

Autopsy Rd 7 vs North. Terrible loss, poor skills, never in it.