AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yeah, because everyone's expecting a fairytale ending!You're missing the point...
Yes, it's all good now...but if he stuffs up again, the bad press will be of Biblical proportions! That will make them very unhappy...
Biblical proportions!! if he stuffs up again he'll be fired simple as that, it will be a story for a few days and thats it.
Also I think clubs should never let sponsors dictate how they run the football department which is what some other clubs have down in this situation.
So don't take the money...
Agree, anyway what person would make the conscience decision never to shop at Dick Smiths because the sponsed Richmond, who recruited Ben Cousins who took drugs. Thats the stupidest thing i have ever heard and any sponsor who pressured a club not to pick up Cousins (as has been roumored) need to take a look at themselves.
I didnt think they had a major sponsor?
You are putting your entire club's culture and credibility on the line here
what happened to AFG? Are they no longer a sponser???
Comedy gold!!!
Mate..I wish him and Richmond well..but this a bigger risk than you imagine.
1 wrong move and it will be the biggest story since Carey quit North!
Why do you think the Eagles sacked him?
Why do you think Judd left?
You are putting your entire club's culture and credibility on the line here for an aging, drug addicted guy who's played 6 games in 2 years!!
But like I said...good luck with that...
Richmond will not have a major sponsor for 2009 so there is no problem with pressure.
Judd left to come home to "cough cough" Melbourne and to take up a position as ambassador for Pratt
Yes we all know why the eagles sacked him but do you think if he stuffs up again richmond will be blamed for his downfall??
I would think richmond will look like the good guys in this no matter which way it plays out. They are giving a former champion the chance to get back to playing the game he loves when others have turned their back on him.
Why do you think the whole football community and not just tigers supporters are rapt to see cousins back? Do you think they'll all turn on richmond if it goes pear shaped?? I'd love to see cousins get back to his best, do I expect it? probably not but I'm hopeful he can, thats what this game is all about isn't it?
Eat em alive Cuzzy!
It's all beer and skittles at the moment, and rightly so, but I would imagine there will be some VERY nervous sponsors at Tigerland right now!
Ironically one of their major sponsors is a pathology and forensics lab company!
"PJA Solutions
PJA Solutions is a Melbourne based company that provides large-scale software systems to the pathology, forensics and diagnostic services market throughout Australia ."
Could come in handy!!
Also I think clubs should never let sponsors dictate how they run the football department which is what some other clubs have done in this situation.
Reckon we'll see an influx of sponsors heading to Richmond...as well as more members.
Yes, but car companies will fail because people stop buying their environmentaly obscene SUVs
Everyone knows that Cousins was a good player on the field, it's what he does off the field that is the big problem, as he has several mates over here with the same problem..not a good mix!! I hope he can stay on the straight and narrow, for HIS sake.Only time will tell, and let's hope he doesn't influence some of your young players off the field, that is a big concern, whether you like it or not.When did we become mates? And you are right you have two as one of them retired at the end of the season. I always though people in glass houses should buy curtains.
Richmond will not have a major sponsor for 2009 so there is no problem with pressure.
Yeah, leave it to the supporters to tell the footy department what to do. Regardless of how toothless, feral and generally ill-informed they may be.
At least two clubs did some VERY detailed homework on this guy and lost interest as a result. You do the math.