Preview Rnd 21 Carlton v Essendon Sat August 18th 1.45PM @ MCG - Team - Post #369

I guess Thornton is the emergency plan if the weather does not pan out the way that it is 99.99% going to (cold and wet).

To be honest the size difference in our back half does not really concern me. They have to win possession of the ball for it to matter. After the Carlton's power of three play they wont get a sniff.

The way your team balance has been by waiting for him to play a good game? OK then.

Agreed. He played himself into a new long-term contract and has done bugger all for them since.

I guess Thornton is the emergency plan if the weather does not pan out the way that it is 99.99% going to (cold and wet).

To be honest the size difference in our back half does not really concern me. They have to win possession of the ball for it to matter. After the Carlton's power of three play they wont get a sniff.

The other bonus is that if our mids pressure their entries inside 50, then once the ball spills we'll hopefully have advantage of having the more mobile backline. ..

Last night I sat thinking about why I hate the scum do much more than any other team in the comp. As I settled down to relax and watch a bit of telly I started to flick through the channels and came across the footy show, a program I haven't watched in a few years. Apart from thinking how much of a paradox the show's title was, I also had a crystallization of my hatred in the form of one Matthew Lloyd. It took me watching a minute of this flog, sniper to realize that he is what represents the scum in my eyes.
To me it's almost an illogical hatred but it makes sense because I realized that I only started feeling this way about the scum since his career started. I didn't even dislike them this much when they won in 93. He has left an indelible stain.
I know he's not on the park anymore, but I hope our boys run out and just picture his mug on everyone of their players. Motivation enough.
Blues by 50.

I hear he followed Carlton as a kid

How many Bombers would make Carton's best 22?

Prior to our last game, Watson was the only possibility - even he couldn't get a game for the Blues in the eyes of some.

Keen to hear if there is any room for Jobe, Hurley, Stanton, Ryder, Crameri or even a kid like Carlisle in the Carlton side.

Prior to our last game, Watson was the only possibility - even he couldn't get a game for the Blues in the eyes of some.

Keen to hear if there is any room for Jobe, Hurley, Stanton, Ryder, Crameri or even a kid like Carlisle in the Carlton side.

Jobe would always get a game for any side.

Pretty sure we'd have room for the other boys also, but you know how it goes.
You win tomorrow and Monfries will be better than Murphy.

theres always room. every club needs water carriers and ball boys

Finally have our best 4 out on the park, 5,3,30 & 6 for the first time since godknows when.

Like the look of that side, even though we aren't dripping with experience, there's some solid blokes out there, Levi, Bell, Robinson and Dugian have added a harder edge to the side.

Still bucketing down over here in you know where, so picking a smaller side looks the smarter option, as long as we can use the pill, reckon we are a big show.

Great thing about these games is it doesn't matter where either side is on the ladder, they're always 50/50, we hate them and they hate us.

Baggers by 2 points.

All of them. But I'd have Judd as sub.

I think all the guys you mentioned would get a go, except Carlisle, I'd take Walker over Carlisle any day;)

Revenge of the Carrazzo !!!!!

Hird says Lonergan ready for potential Blues backlash

ESSENDON coach James Hird says if Carlton players choose to target Sam Lonergan at the MCG tomorrow, good luck to them.

The Blues were believed to be fuming after Lonergan's Round 4 tackle on Andrew Carrazzo broke the midfielder's shoulder blade.
The incident later sparked Twitter threats to Lonergan.

"It's up to them whether they want to put fireworks on the table," Hird said.
"We want to go out and play the game and play some really good football.
"We think we've got some good hard footballers and if they want to take on Sam Lonergan, then good luck to them.

Hird says Lonergan ready for potential Blues backlash

348892-sam-lonergan.jpg

If the players were fuming they should've remonstrated with Lonergan straight away and fired up for the rest of the game, neither of which happened.
Let's hope they play with the required intensity tomorrow.

You know they will.
Huge game for Ratten and a huge game for the players that were embarrassed last time around.
Essendon may just have to field The Weapon after quarter time. :)

Have little doubt this will be a very fierce contest.

Really liking that they have a heap on ins. They might be good players but after two tough games in a row and a heap of guys likely lacking match fittness, I would be backing our boys to win if we were in front or it was close at three quarter time.
Our lack of height up against their talls in defence is a worry and both teams will kick long, especially if it is wet so this will be interesting. I recon there could be a late change or two. Thornton is our only tall emergancy so we could see him coming in to play defence or us relying on Waite going back if their talls get on top. Not how I would have gone but if it works then that's good.
Hurt them fairly, on the scoreboard and physically within the rules and apply loads of pressure and they will crumble. Must beat them in the midfield.

Yup. Stanton & Jobe ate us for breakfast in Round 4. Carrots to Jobe & start Ed on Stanton (not convinced about the latter though).
Do u think around the other way may work better? I have no doubt about carrots ability to shut jobe out, but worry about curnow on the outside. Carrots can definitely go outside with stanton (has done in the past) and curnow has the bigger body for jobe.

One thing in our favour is our fitness.. with wet-conditions in Melbourne continuing the ground will be heavy and Essendon at present can't run out games and now bringing in some underdone players (zaharakis surely will be the sub??). Judd is fresh and plays the wet beautifully as does Mclean, Scotland, Carrots and Murphy! This is a game whereby if our midfield keeps grinding and Eddie and Garlett can be damaging we'll win.